# SOUTHEASTERN SAN DIEGO PLANNING GROUP

### DRAFT MINUTES Monday, April 8, 2019, 6:00 p.m.

Meeting Location: Mountain View Community Center, 641 South Boundary St., San Diego CA 92113 Contact: Steve Veach (SVeach80@aol.com, 619-238-4537)

City of San Diego Southeastern San Diego Planning Group website: <u>https://www.sandiego.gov/planning/community/profiles/southeasternsd/plan</u>

#### Agendas and Minutes:

https://www.sandiego.gov/planning/community/profiles/southeasternsd/agendas

This Planning Group covers the area south of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Freeway (Highway 94), east of Interstate 5, north of the border of National City, and west of Interstate 805. It includes the communities of Sherman Heights, Logan Heights, Grant Hill, Memorial, Stockton, Mount Hope, Mountain View, Southcrest, and Shelltown.

- 1. CALL TO ORDER, ROLL CALL, AND INTRODUCTIONS: Steve Veach, Myron Taylor, Chelsea Klaseus, Reggie Womack, Louise Torio, Jaime Capella, Dale Huntington, Robert Leif, Aaron Magagna, Lamont Pargo, Kerry Wesson, Vince Noto
- 2. ADOPT THE AGENDA
- 3. MEETING MINUTES REVIEW AND APPROVAL: Meeting Minutes from 2/11/19 and 3/11/19.

PUBLIC COMMENTS (the public may speak on matters on the agenda, for a maximum of up to two minutes)

## 4. REPORTS

A. Elected Officials Staff Reports (Districts 4, 8, and 9) Council District 4 - N/ACouncil District 8 - Eddie Padilla discussed their plan for community clean ups including a cleanup at Memorial Park on Saturday, April 27, 2019. He also discussed community interest increating a parking district for Barrio Logan and Logan Heights on Imperial Avenue. He alsotalked about resurfacing projects that will be ongoing for the next year in the area.Council District <math>9 - N/A

- B. City Departments. N/A
- C. Civic San Diego. N/A
- D. Chair Report

Community Orientation Workshop (COW), May 18, 2019, 8:45 a.m. – noon, 202 C Street, San Diego (City Concourse, Silver Room, RSVP required). See link below for the electronic online version (E-COW), which takes approximately 45 minutes. Taking the COW or E-COW provides defense and indemnification (legal protection and representation) of SSDPG members pursuant to Ordinance No. O-198333 NS. All new members must either attend the COW or take the E-COW to be indemnified to serve on the SSDPG.

https://www.sandiego.gov/planning/community/resources

### E. CPC Representative Report

Myron Taylor was in attendance and said there were discussions around solutions for homelessness, CPC Elections, mixed-use zones, and SD for Safe Neighborhoods billboards. He also mentioned that there is a Brown Act workshop on July 25, 2019.

- 5. INFORMATION ITEMS: None.
- 6. CONSENT ITEMS: None.
- 7. ACTION ITEMS

A. PTS 621935, Sewer Easement Project at King Chavez Primary Academy, 415 31st Street Process 2 easement vacation to vacate two utilities easements located within vacated alley per resolution #21556, located at 415 31st Street. The site is in the RS-1-1 Promise Zone of the Southeastern San Diego Community Plan area, Council District 8. Ambrose Wong, P.E., Q.S.D., will present.

Motion to support. MSC Torio/Wesson 11-0-0

B. 3100-3200 L Street, Replace Existing Angled Parking with Head-In Parking (SN: 403-18708) The City of San Diego is proposing to convert the existing angled parking spaces on the south side of L Street to head-in parking, on L Street between 31st Street and 32nd Street. See the map with exhibits is attached showing the proposed head-in parking. (There is head-in parking on the 3200 block of L Street now.) The proposed new parking configuration would add approximately seven parking spaces and one disabled parking space. *Motion to support. MSC Womack/Capella 11-0-0* 

### C. Board Elections for SSDPG Officers

Per Article VI, "Community Planning Group and Planning Group Member Duties," page 8 of 30 of the SSDPG Bylaws, "the officers of the planning group may oversee administrative business of the planning group, such as the assembling of the draft agenda, in preparation for public discussions."

Per Article VII, "Planning Group Officers," page 17 of 30 of the SSDPG Bylaws, "officers shall consist of a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer," and "the length of an officer's term shall be two years."

Nominations will be taken at the meeting.

Per Article VI, "Community Planning Group and Planning Group Member Duties," page 14 of 30, the Projects Subcommittee is limited to "a range of two to six members of the SSDPG who are chosen by the SSDPG Chairperson." Current Projects Subcommittee members include Steve Veach, Myron Taylor, Oscar Gomez, and Louise Torio.

The Projects Subcommittee Secretary and back-up Board Secretary shall remain Louise Torio.

Motion to approve the following nominated Officers: Chair – Steve Veach Treasurer – Reggie Womack. MSC Capella/Pargo 11-0-0 Chelsea Klaseus was voted Secretary in 2018 and will remain Secretary until 2020 Myron Taylor was voted Vice Chair in 2018 and will remain Vice Chair until 2020 Projects Committee will remain until 2020. MSC Huntington/Magana 11-0-0