CITY OF SAN DIEGO HISTORICAL RESOURCES BOARD MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF APRIL 28, 2022 VIRTUAL HEARING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING

Chairperson David McCullough called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m. Chairperson David McCullough adjourned the meeting at 2:14 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson David McCullough – absent
Vice-Chairperson Tim Hutter – present – left at 1:43pm
2nd Vice-Chairperson Courtney Ann Coyle – present
Boardmember Bruce Abrams – present
Boardmember Kristi Byers – present
Boardmember Dr. Li-Rong Lilly Cheng – absent
Boardmember Carla Farley – present
Boardmember Michael Taylor – present
Boardmember Mathew Winter - present
Boardmember Ann Woods – present

City Staff

Lindsey Sebastian, City Attorney – present
Raynard Abalos, Development Services Department – present
Elizabeth Shearer-Nguyen, Development Services Department – present
Kelley Stanco, Planning Department - absent
Suzanne Segur, Development Services Department – present
Shannon Anthony, Development Services Department – present
Alvin Lin, Development Services Department – present
Sheila Santos, Recorder – present
Rocio Mejia, Recorder - present

Note: All attendees are participating virtual.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FOR MARCH 24, 2022

MOTION BY BOARDMEMBER WINTER TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR MARCH 24, 2022. Seconded by Boardmember Coyle. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-3 with Boardmembers Hutter, Coyle, Abrams, Winter, Woods, and Chair McCullough voting yea, Boardmembers Byers, Farley, and Taylor abstaining and Boardmember Cheng absent.

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None

BOARDMEMBERS COMMENT

None

EX PARTE COMMUNICATIONS

None

FAILURE TO VISIT DESIGNATION SITES (INCLUDING INTERIORS/PROPOSED FOR DESIGNATION/INVOCATION OF WAIVER

NONE

STAFF REPORT

Raynard Abalos, Deputy Director of the Development Services Department, welcomed all the new boardmembers and thanked them for their future service. Also, a huge thank you to the existing boardmembers. Raynard mentioned Suzanne Segur will address some questions that were raised last month regarding the new appointments. Raynard provided some updates in our technological efforts being made in the Development Services Department. The Mills Act Requests and Individual Nomination Process, we are still working on the electronic submittal versions. He anticipates the electronic submittal review and review process will be completed in a few months.

Suzanne Segur, Senior Planner of the Development Services Department mentioned the designation of the Vulcan Steam Room and Sauna HRB# 1450 located 805 West Cedar Street was appealed and a date has not been set for a City Council hearing. Suzanne announced new boardmembers have been appointed to the seats of former boardmembers Pitman, Bowen, Stankowski and Cordileone. Suzanne welcome the new boardmembers. She mentions next month at the May HRB hearing which is also preservation month she will thank boardmembers Pitman, Bowen, Stankowski and Cordileone for graciously volunteering their time and talent to the Historical Resources Board and subcommittees. Suzanne introduced the new boardmembers Bruce Abrams, Christy Byers, Dr. Lily Cheng, Carla Farley, and Michael Taylor. She also announced the reappointments of Chair McCullough and boardmember Hutter.

Chida Warren-Darby, Director of Appointments for the Mayor's Office, clarified the appointments process. She welcome new boardmembers. She mentioned the new Boards and Commissions website, onboard.sandiego.gov, where all the boards and commissions are listed with individuals that are serving. The website includes their appointment dates, term duration and term end date. Chida mentions the HRB

municipal code states the board shall consist of 11 members appointed by the Mayor. Members serve twoyear terms without compensation and shall serve until successor is appointed.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

Item 1 - 611 ISLAND AVENUE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT – (HRB #159 – THE KLAUBER-WANGENHEIM BUILDING) was pulled from the Consent Agenda and was continue to May 26, 2022 hearing.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

ITEM-03 The Center/The Gayzette/Albert Bell Building and ITEM-04 CERTIFIED LOCAL GOVERNMENT ANNUAL REPORT 2020-2021 were pulled from the Consent Agenda. ITEM-04 CERTIFIED LOCAL GOVERNMENT ANNUAL REPORT 2020-2021 was heard as the first discussion item.

CONSENT AGENDA:

ITEM-02 JASPER WRITER SPEC HOUSE #1

City Council District: 2 Plan Area: Peninsula

Staff: Shannon Anthony

No public testimony in support of the designation.

No public testimony in opposition of the designation.

No speaker slips in favor received on this item.

No speaker slips received in opposition on this item.

BOARD ACTION:

MOTION BY BOARDMEMBER HUTTER APPROVING THE STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO DESIGNATE THE JASPER WRITER SPEC HOUSE #1 LOCATED AT 3611 HYACINTH DRIVE AS A HISTORICAL RESOURCE WITH A PERIOD OF SIGNIFICANCE OF 1929 UNDER HRB CRITERION C. THE DESIGNATION EXCLUDES THE TWO PARTIALLY ENCLOSED PORCHES LOCATED ON THE NORTH AND WEST ELEVATIONS CONSTRUCTED OUTSIDE THE PERIOD OF SIGNIFICANCE. Seconded by Boardmember WINTER. The motion passed by a vote of 9-0-0 with Boardmembers Hutter, Coyle, Abrams, Byers, Farley, Taylor, Winter, Woods, and Chair McCullough voting yea, Boardmember Cheng absent.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-03 The Center/The Gayzette/Albert Bell Building

City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Uptown

Staff: Alvin Lin

Public testimony in support received from Bruce Coons and Scott A. Moomjian.

No public testimony in opposition of the designation.

Speaker slip in favor received on this item from Charles Kaminski.

No speaker slips received in opposition on this item.

BOARD ACTION:

MOTION BY BOARDMEMBER ABRAMS APPROVING STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO DESIGNATE THE LGBTQ COMMUNITY/ALBERT BELL BUILDING LOCATED AT 3780-3786 5TH AVENUE AS A HISTORICAL RESOURCE WITH A PERIOD OF SIGNIFICANCE OF 1982-1994 UNDER HRB CRITERION A AND CRITERION B. THE DESIGNATION EXCLUDES THE 1911 BUILDING SECTION AND THE 1971 ADDITION AND WITH THE INCLUSION OF THE COURTYARD THAT IS IN BETWEEN THE TWO DESIGNATED STRUCTURES AS A BOUNDARY. Seconded by Boardmember Coyle. The motion passed by a vote of 8-0-0 with Boardmembers Coyle, Abrams, Byers, Farley, Taylor, Winter, Woods, and Chair McCullough voting yea, Broadmember Hutter recusing and Boardmember Cheng absent.

ITEM-04 CERTIFIED LOCAL GOVERNMENT ANNUAL REPORT 2020-2021

Staff: Suzanne Segur

No speaker slips in favor received on this item.

No speaker slips received in opposition on this item.

BOARD ACTION:

MOTION BY BOARDMEMBER COYLE TO APPROVE THE ANNUAL REPORT AS REVISED AND FORWARD AS APPROPRIATE. Seconded by Boardmember Winter. The motion passed by a vote of 9-0-0 with Boardmembers Hutter, Coyle, Abrams, Byers, Farley, Taylor, Winter, Woods, and Chair McCullough voting yea, Boardmember Cheng absent.