APPROVED

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF April 30, 2024

Hybrid Meeting/In Council Chambers - 12th Floor City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Kelly Modén called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson Kelly Modén adjourned the meeting at 11:13 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers
Vice-Chair Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ken Malbrough – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Absent
Commissioner Farah Mahzari – Present in Chambers

STAFF:

Corrine Neuffer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers
Heidi Vonblum, Director, Planning Department – Present in Chambers
Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers
Tony Khaili, Chief Deputy City Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers
Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Public Comment - Cesar Javier, Trevor Hanson, John Alvarado, Roman Chadwell, and Denise Friedman

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

None

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

- March 7, 2024
- March 28, 2024

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MALBROUGH TO APPROVE:

- MINUTES OF MARCH 7, AS PRESENTED
- MINUTES OF MARCH 28, WITH THE CORRECTION OF CHAIR MODÉN, ADJOURNED THE MEETING, NOT COMMISSIONER HOFMAN

Second by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed with a vote of 5-0-1, with Commissioners Malbrough Miyahara, Modén, Mahzari, and Boomhower yes and Commissioner Otsuji absent.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved – Motion by Commissioner Malbrough, Second by Commissioner Miyahara; approved by all.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Renee Mezo, Development Services Department – None Heidi Vonblum, City Planning Department – None

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

1: 2024 UPDATE TO THE SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE (2024 LAND DEVELOPMENT CODE UPDATE) AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM

Staff: Liz Saidkhanian

City Council District: citywide

Plan Area: All

Speakers in favor and opposition of the project:

Kathleen Neil, Marcela Escobar-Eck, Craig Benedetto, Evan Strawn, Danna Givot, Paul Krueger, David Moty, and Geoff Hueter.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO APPROVE:

- RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVAL OF THE PROPOSED 2024 UPDATE TO THE SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM
- RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVAL OF STAFF'S AMENDMENTS IN THE
 MEMO DATED 4/29/2024 PRESENTED BY STAFF AND RECOMMENDED TO THE CITY
 COUNCIL APPROVAL OF THE CITY ATTORNEY'S RECOMMENDED LANGUAGE ON
 ITEM 48 (LANGUAGE TO BE ADDED TO SECTION 112.0103(D): SUBSECTION (1)
 ALTHOUGH AN APPLICATION FOR A PUBLIC RIGHT-OF-WAY VACATION OR PUBLIC
 SERVICE EASEMENT VACATION IS NOT REQUIRED TO BE CONSOLIDATED FOR
 PROCESSING WITH ANY OTHER APPROVAL ASSOCIATED WITH THE DEVELOPMENT,
 THE WHOLE OF THE ACTION AND THE DEVELOPMENT'S POTENTIAL
 ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACTS SHALL BE ANALYZED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE
 CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY ACT.)

Second by Commissioner Mahzari. The motion passed with a vote of 5-0-1, with Commissioners Malbrough Miyahara, Modén, Mahzari, and Boomhower yes and Commissioner Otsuji absent.

A break was taken from 10:10 AM to 10:15 AM

ITEM 2: GENERAL PLAN ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ELEMENT

Staff: Paola Boylan

City Council District: Citywide

Plan Area: All

<u>Speakers in favor and opposition of the project:</u>
Sally Small, Cesar Javier, David Moty, Evan Strawn, and Geoffrey Hueter.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MALBROUGH TO APPROVE:

- RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL ADOPT THE ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ELEMENT.
- WITH THE ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION TO THE CITY COUNCIL TO FUND AND PRIORITIZE THE STUDY B. 8 AND B. 9

Second by Commissioner Miyahara. The motion passed with a vote of 5-0-1, with Commissioners Malbrough Miyahara, Modén, Mahzari, and Boomhower yes and Commissioner Otsuji absent.

ADJOURNED @ 11:14 a.m. by Chairperson Modén