CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE SAN DIEGO CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

MINUTES

Thursday, May 1, 2014, at 1:00 p.m. 12th Floor Council Committee Room 202 C Street San Diego, California 92101

- A. The regular business meeting of the Civil Service Commission was called to order by President Mattheus E. Stephens at 1:08 p.m. Also present were Vice-President Joe Kloberdanz and Commissioners Kathryn F. Ashworth, Edward S. Fletcher, and Maricela Amezola.
- B. The staff was represented by Personnel Director Hadi Dehghani, Assistant Personnel Director Donna Wallace and Assistant to the Director Saba Berenji. Serving as legal advisor to the Commission was Senior Deputy City Attorney Stuart H. Swett.

San Diego Civil Service Commission

MINUTES

Thursday, May 1, 2014, at 1:00 p.m. 12th Floor Council Committee Room 202 C Street San Diego, California 92101

This agenda and the supplemental information for each agenda item, if any, can be made available in alternative formats to assist persons with disabilities. Special assistance at the meeting is also available. To request such assistance, please call the Personnel Department Services Supervisor at (619) 236-6402. Requests should be made as early as possible prior to the meeting. Every attempt will be made to accommodate all reasonable requests.

ITEMS FOR ACTION

INTRODUCTION

1. Roll Call.

ACTION TAKEN/PENDING

Present were President Mattheus E. Stephens, Vice-President Joe Kloberdanz, and Commissioners Kathryn F. Ashworth, Edward S. Fletcher, and Maricela Amezola.

NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

This portion of the agenda provides an opportunity for members of the public to address the Commission on items of interest within the jurisdiction of the Commission. (Comments relating to items on today's docket are to be taken at the time the item is heard.)

Time allotted to each speaker is determined by the Chair. Comments are limited to no more than five (5) minutes **total per subject** regardless of the number of those wishing to speak. Pursuant to the Brown Act, no discussion or action, other than a referral, shall be taken by the Commission on any issue brought forth under "Non-Agenda Public Comment."

President Mattheus E. Stephens, Vice-President Joe Kloberdanz, and Commissioners Kathryn F. Ashworth, Edward S. Fletcher, and Maricela Amezola commended Assistant to the Director Myra D. Anderson, for her 43 years of exceptional service to the City.

CONSENT AGENDA (Items 2 and 3 can be approved with one motion.)

2. Approval of the minutes for the regular business meeting of April 10, 2014.

Approved.

3. Leave of Absence Without Pay - In Order. Items 12 through 15.

Item 6 out of order. Item 15 pulled. Item 12-14 approved.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY – DISCUSSION

4. John San Nicolas, Sanitation Driver II, Environmental Services Department, for a oneyear special leave without pay ending April 24, 2015, with his job to be saved.

Hire date: October 7, 2002

Reason: Loss of Class B Driver License.

Department Recommendation: Modification to

name on eligible list.

Approved with modification to name on eligible list.

Speaking for staff was Yajaira Gharst. Speaking was John San Nicolas.

5. William P. Svec, Biologist II, Transportation and Storm Water Department, for a one-year special leave without pay ending March 31, 2015, with his name to be placed on the eligible lists for Biologist II and Biologist I.

Hire date: June 9, 2012

Reason: Outside employment.

Department Recommendation: Approval.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Yajaira Gharst. Speaking for the department was Gene Matter.

POLICY ITEMS - DISCUSSION

6. Approval of Exceptional Merit Increase for Jonnabelle L. Domingo, Executive Secretary.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Yajaira Gharst.

7. Approval of Exceptional Merit Increase for Lana Yarbro, Clerical Assistant II.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Yajaira Gharst.

8. Appointment to the Joint Apprenticeship Committee.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Anne Lamen Aban.

- 9. Request from Christopher C. Saldaña for a quorum of the Commission to hear the suspension appeal of Michael Meoli.
- 10. Shannon R. Hopson, appealing his conviction record disqualification for the position of Roofer.
- 11. Rene D. Salgado, appealing his conviction record disqualification for the position of Equipment Technician I.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Hadi Dehghani. Speaking was Christopher C. Saldaña.

Denied.

Speaking for staff was Colin Brazile. Speaking was Shannon R. Hopson.

Continued. Kathryn Ashworth abstained.
Speaking for staff was Colin Brazile.
Speaking was Rene D. Salgado.
Speaking for Local 127 was Marcos
Cardenas.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY - IN ORDER

12. Lisa M. Darling, Lifeguard II, Fire-Rescue Department, for a one-year special leave without pay ending June 23, 2015, with her job to be saved.

Hire date: June 3, 1992

Reason: Education/Child care.

Department Recommendation: Approval.

13. Harry D. Herndon, Assistant Laboratory Technician, Public Utilities Department, for a three-month special leave without pay ending June 22, 2014, with his job to be saved.

Hire date: October 23, 1991

Reason: Family care.

Department Recommendation: Approval.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY - UNCLASSIFIED

14. Matthew W. Cleary, Supervising Management Analyst, Environmental Services Department, for a leave of absence from the Classified Service effective March 31, 2014, while filling an unclassified position with his name to be placed on the appropriate eligible list.

15. Edward B. Harris, Lifeguard Sergeant, Fire-Rescue Department, for a leave of absence from the Classified Service effective April 7, 2014, while filling an unclassified position with his job to be saved.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Hadi Dehghani.

Speaking was Edward B. Harris.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY - TOTAL

Total Leave Requests	06	Family/Childcare/Maternity	01
Leave requests with job saved	03	Education/Training	01
Leave requests with name on list	01	Medical	00
Unclassified	02	Relocation	00
		Outside Employment	01
		Unclassified	02
		Other	01

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:21 p.m.

Mattheus E. Stephens, President