CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE SAN DIEGO CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

MINUTES

Thursday, May 7, 2015, at 1:00 p.m. Civil Service Commission Room, Civic Center Plaza 1200 Third Avenue, Suite 300 San Diego, California 92101

- A. The regular business meeting of the Civil Service Commission was called to order by President Mattheus E. Stephens at 1:09 p.m. Also present were Vice President Joseph R. Kloberdanz, and Commissioners Kathryn F. Ashworth and Edward S. Fletcher. Commisioner Maricela Amezola was absent.
- B. The staff was represented by Personnel Director Hadi Dehghani, Assistant Personnel Director Donna Wallace and Assistant to the Director Saba Berenji. Serving as legal advisor to the Commission was Senior Deputy City Attorney Stuart H. Swett.

San Diego Civil Service Commission

MINUTES

Thursday, May 7, 2015, at 1:00 p.m. Civil Service Commission Room, Civic Center Plaza 1200 Third Avenue, Suite 300 San Diego, California 92101

This agenda and the supplemental information for each agenda item, if any, can be made available in alternative formats to assist persons with disabilities. Special assistance at the meeting is also available. To request such assistance, please call the Personnel Department Services Supervisor at 236-6402. Requests should be made as early as possible prior to the meeting. Every attempt will be made to accommodate all reasonable requests.

ITEMS FOR ACTION

NOTE: The Commission will immediately go into closed session at 12:30 p.m. The regular business meeting will begin at 1:00 p.m.

INTRODUCTION

1. Roll Call.

ACTION TAKEN/PENDING

Present were President Mattheus E. Stephens, Vice-President Joseph R. Kloberdanz, and Commissioners Kathryn F. Ashworth and Edward S. Fletcher. Commissioner Maricela Amezola was absent.

NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

This portion of the agenda provides an opportunity for members of the public to address the Commission on items of interest within the jurisdiction of the Commission. (Comments relating to items on today's docket are to be taken at the time the item is heard.)

Time allotted to each speaker is determined by the Chair. Comments are limited to no more than five (5) minutes **total per subject** regardless of the number of those wishing to speak. Pursuant to the Brown Act, no discussion or action, other than a referral, shall be taken by the Commission on any issue brought forth under "Non-Agenda Public Comment."

<u>CONSENT AGENDA</u> (Items 2 and 3 can be approved with one motion.)

2.	Approval of the minutes for the regular	Approved.
	business meeting of April 2, 2015.	

3.Leave of Absence Without Pay - In Order.Approved.Items 12 through 15.Item 13 withdrawn.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY – DISCUSSION

4. Rochelle A. Burright, Senior Drafting Aide, Withdrawn. Public Utilities Department, for a one-year special leave without pay ending April 2, 2016, with her name to be placed on the eligible lists for Senior Drafting Aide and Senior Engineering Aide. Hire Date: April 14, 2014 Reason: Outside employment. Department Recommendation: Approval.

Page 4

John San Nicolas, Sanitation Driver II, Environmental Services Department, for a six-month (first extension) special leave without pay ending October 24, 2015, with his name to be place on the eligible list for Sanitation Driver II. Hire Date: October 7, 2002 Reason: Need additional time to obtain Class B Driver License. Department Recommendation: Approval.

POLICY ITEMS - DISCUSSION

- 6. Request from the Development Services Department to exempt a Program Manager position from the Classified Service.
- 7. Request from the Police Department to exempt a Program Coordinator position from the Classified Service.
- 8. Request from the Personnel Director to merge the eligible list of Utility Worker II (P10617) with the new Utility Worker II (P10757) eligible list.
- 9. Staff Report on AFSCME Local 127 Step 5 Grievance – Luis Ruvalcaba.

Approved.

Speaking for staff was Yajaira Gharst. President Stephens announced Donna Wallace's retirement in June of 2015 and congratulated Yajaira Gharst as the new Assistant Personnel Director.

Approved. Speaking for staff was Darren Keenaghan.

Approved. Speaking for staff was Darren Keenaghan.

Approved. Speaking for staff was Chris Alvarado.

Accepted and modified to include interest. Speaking for staff was Hadi Dehghani. Speaking for the employee was Rodney Fowler of AFSCME Local 127.

- Christopher J. Zang, appealing his conviction disqualification for the position of Lifeguard I.
- 11. Kylie M. Vogel, appealing her medical disqualification for the position of Lifeguard I.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY - IN ORDER

12. Roselyn D. Aquino, Paralegal, Office of the City Attorney, for a three-month special leave without pay ending August 7, 2015, with her job to be saved. Hire Date: April 9, 2009 Reason: Education. Department Recommendation: Approval.

- 13. David P. Finney, Combination Inspector I, Development Services Department, for a six-month special leave without pay ending November 7, 2015, with his name to be placed on the eligible list for Combination Inspector I. Hire Date: October 6, 2012 Reason: Education. Department Recommendation: Approval.
- 14. Tara B. Robinson, Associate Personnel Analyst, Personnel Department, for a fourmonth special leave without pay ending October 2, 2015, with her job to be saved. Hire Date: July 1, 2013 Reason: Child care. Department Recommendation: Approval.

Denied. (Commissioner Fletcher dissenting.) Speaking for staff was David Dalager. Speaking was Christopher J. Zang.

Withdrawn.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY - UNCLASSIFIED

15. Vanessa Montenegro, Senior Budget Development Analyst, Financial Management Department, for a leave of absence from the Classified Service effective March 16, 2015, with her job to be saved while temporarily filling an unclassified position.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY - TOTAL

Total Leave Requests 06 Leave requests with job saved 02 Leave requests with name on list 03 Unclassified 01

01
02
00
00
01
01
01

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:44 p.m.

Mattheus E. Stephens, President