

### **FUNDS COMMISSION MINUTES**

February 19, 2020 1:00 PM Civic Center Plaza, 1200 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue 4<sup>th</sup> Floor (Large Conference Room) San Diego, CA 92101

**PRESENT:** David S. Tam, Chair

John Peelle, Commissioner

Elizabeth Correia, City Treasurer

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Bret Bartolotta, Deputy City Attorney

Michael S. Laven, Canterbury Consulting Brandon Stillman, Canterbury Consulting Jeremy Shortess, Office of the City Treasurer

Andrea Peterson, Recording Secretary Marsha Lewsley, Court Reporter

### **CALL TO ORDER:**

The February 19, 2020 Funds Commission meeting was called to order by Funds Commission Chair David Tam at 1:07 PM.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Upon motion duly made by Commissioner Peelle, seconded by City Treasurer Elizabeth Correia, the November 4, 2019 Funds Commission Minutes were approved with no corrections. City Attorney, Mara Elliott and Commissioner Ives were absent.

### **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:**

- I. Report from Canterbury Consulting regarding Business and Economic Outlook Mike Laven and Brandon Stillman
- II. Report from Canterbury Consulting regarding the Performance of the following Funds
  Mike Laven and Brandon Stillman
  - a. Edwin A. Benjamin Memorial Fund
  - b. Jane Cameron La Jolla Library Fund
  - c. Phillip L. Green Memorial Fund
  - d. Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve Fund
  - e. Gladys Edna Peters Memorial Fund
  - f. Effie E. Sergeant Memorial Fund

g. Mt. Hope Cemetery Perpetuity Fund

### **ACTION ITEMS:**

III. Canterbury non-U.S. Equity Review and Fund Manager Proposal

A motion to table the vote until the next meeting passed unanimously. City Attorney, Mara Elliott and Commissioner Ives were absent.

# COMMENTS FROM COMMISSIONERS, STAFF

None.

## NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

## SCHEDULING OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:30 PM.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 1:48 PM by Funds Commission Chair, David S. Tam.

Respectfully submitted, Andrea Peterson, Recording Secretary

> DAVID S. TAM San Diego Funds Commission Chair