

P.O. Box 16391, San Diego CA 92176

Regular Meeting Minutes April 9, 2014

Parliamentary Items:

A regular meeting of the Kensington-Talmadge Planning Group was called to order by senior continuously serving board member David Moty at 6:31 pm.

Members present at the start of the meeting: Mike Anderson, Frank Doft, Ken Horsley, Daniele Laman, Fred Lindahl, Darlene Love, David Moty, Keith Roudebush, Ann Pease, Elvia Sandoval, Don Taylor. Sean Harrison arrived at 6:37 pm and Deborah Sharpe arrived at 6:38 pm. Kelly Waggonner was absent.

Also present were Daniel Hazard from Congresswoman Susan Davis' office, and Ralph Dimaracut from Councilmember Marti Emerald's office as well as approximately 25 members of the public.

David Moty asked if there were any objections or modifications to the agenda. Hearing none, the agenda was deemed approved.

The minutes were approved by a 6-0-5 vote: Frank Doft, Ken Horsley, Fred Lindahl, David Moty, Keith Roudebush, and Don Taylor voted yea. Mike Anderson, Daniele Laman, Darlene Love, Ann Pease, and Elvia Sandoval abstained.

Fred Lindahl, as treasurer for the previous year reported the treasury contained \$240.39.

Community Forum:

Daniel Hazard reported on the activities of Congresswoman Susan Davis. Ralph Dimaracut addressed street light outages in Kensington and Talmadge and passed out a phone number at the City to directly report outages.

Non-Agenda Public Comment:

Don Taylor informed the public that the Kensington Maintenance Assessment Districts will be heard at the Public Safety and Livable Neighborhoods Committee of the City Council on April 16, at 2pm.

Officer Elections:

David Moty was elected chair by 13-0 unanimous vote. Sean Harrison was elected Vice Chair by a 13-0 unanimous vote. No member of the board volunteered to run for Secretary and the item was held until later. Fred Lindahl was elected treasurer by a 13-0 unanimous vote.

Board Vacancy:

Chair David Moty reported that a vacancy existed on the board stemming from only six candidates running for seven positions at the March elections. David Moty moved, and Don Taylor seconded a motion declaring that a vacancy existed on the board. The motion was passed unanimously.

Chair David Moty nominated Tom Weigand to serve on the board and fill the vacancy declared by the board. The nomination of Tom Weigand was approved unanimously. Tom Weigand was appointed and took his place on the board.

Officer Elections:

Chair David Moty then recalled the issue of the election of the Secretary. Tom Weigand volunteered to run for the position of Secretary. Tom Weigand's election as Secretary was approved unanimously.

Subcommittee Items:

Wireless Communications Facility at 4134 Adams Avenue (the Starbucks Building): The Project Review subcommittee had by a 6-0 vote approved plans for a Wireless Communications Facility at 4134 Adams Avenue with the understanding that minor changes would be made between their approval and its presentation to the board. Caitlyn Kes from DePratti Associates presented the Sprint Communications plan for the building which involved removing a parapet and cupola from atop the building and relocating the antennas inside tapering "pillars" attached to the side of the building on the southern and eastern facades. Allard Jansen, owner of the building expressed his support for the design and his thanks to the committee for their work in helping to achieve it. Scott Quinn, representing Cricket Communications, also spoke at the meeting. He stated that Cricket's lease for antennas located behind the parapet and inside the cupola is in effect until 2016, with no requirement or plans to move the antennas in the meantime. Discussion ensued as to the advisability of approving the Sprint plan which appeared to have broad committee support, while the indeterminate fate of the Cricket antennas might cause the parapet and the cupola to remain for an unknown period.

Deborah Sharpe moved and Keith Roudebush seconded to continue the item for another 30 days while Cricket, Sprint, and the building owner worked to resolve these new issues. The motion was approved unanimously.

Formation of Subcommittees for the New Year:

David Moty made and Keith Roudebush seconded a motion creating the following subcommittees with their respective chairs: Project Review, Fred Lindahl; Transportation, Sean Harrison; CIP & Planning, David Moty; and Communications, Frank Doft. Membership would be –

Project Review: Board members Ken Horsley, Daniele Laman, Fred Lindahl, Ann Pease, Deborah Sharpe, Kelly Waggonner, and public member Guy Hanford.

Transportation: Board members Mike Anderson, Sean Harrison, Ken Horsley, Elvia Sandoval, Don Taylor, Tom Weigand, and public members Ann Burnett-Troisi, Joan Fitzsimon, and Alison Moss.

CIP & Planning: Board members Daniele Laman, Darlene Love, David Moty, Keith Roudebush, Elvia Sandoval, Don Taylor, and public members Bill Bamberger, Jan Bart, Joan Fitzsimon, Don Rosencrantz, Betty Woolley.

Communications: Board members Frank Doft, Ann Pease, and Tom Weigand, and public members Jeanie Camp and John Garrison.

Subcommittees meeting on the 4th Wednesdays would be CIP & Planning at 5:30 pm and Project Review at 6:30 pm. Subcommittees meeting on Mondays before the 4th Wednesdays would be Communications at 6:00 pm and Transportation at 6:30 pm. The motion was passed unanimously.

David Moty nominated Fred Lindahl to be the planning group's 45 year liaison to the Historical Resources Division of the City. The nomination was approved unanimously.

David Moty presented and requested approval of the Annual Chair's Report to the City for the KTPG. Frank Doft moved and Fred Lindahl seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Liaison Reports

Community Planners Committee: David Moty reported on the possible role the planning groups will play in the approval of Alcohol Beverage Control licenses.

TMAD Liaison: Fred Lindahl reported on the development of future plans for the Talmadge Maintenance Assessment District.

Historic Resources 45 year review: Ann Pease promised to transfer information to Fred Lindahl. Adjournment - The meeting was adjourned at 8:01 pm.