OLD TOWN COMMUNITY PLANNING COMMITTEE NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING

Wednesday October 11 , 2006 3:30 P.M. Whaley House Courtroom

Corner of San Diego Avenue and Harney Street Jeanne K. Ferrell, Chairman 619/543-9057 jkferrell@ixpres.com

- 1) Call To Order and Roll Call:
- 2) Approval of Minutes of Previous Meeting
- 3) Treasurer's Report:

4) Announcements: BID Chamber, North Bay P.A.C., BOOT, HOTCF, City Planning, City Council District, Mayor's Office, County Board of Supervisors, County Parks, State Parks, Cal Trans, State Legislature, U.S. Congress.

5) Action Items:

Presentation by the Mormon Battalion – New Building Concept

7) Subcommittee Reports Informational Items:

- a) Signage Enforcement Report:
- b) CPC Meeting Update:
- c) Chairman's Comment:

Next Regular Meeting: Wednesday November 8, 2006 3:30 p.m. Whaley House

Old Town San Diego Community Planning Committee

Jeanne Ferrell, Chairperson 2448-C San Diego Avenue San Diego, California, 92110 Wednesday Sep 13 th 2006

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM by Jeanne Ferrell at the Whaley House courtroom. <u>Members Present:</u> Frank Busic, Olive Chivers, Bruce Coons, Ron Davis, Vickie Durham, Jeanne Ferrell, Geoffrey Mogilner, Christine Newman, Lacey Waddell.

Members Absent:: Luis Barrios, Jack Borgos, Lorin Stewart.

Members Excused: Chuck Ambers, Fred Grand.

Seats Open: One ending 3/09

Guests: Trisha Cates - Heritage Park 619 291-9784; Hasson Atapour - Atapour Engr'g Inc. 619 294-8800; Melanie Cohn - Assembly Member Representative Lori Saldañas's Office, 619 645-3090 <melanie.cohn@asm.ca.gov>; Michael Tudury - City of S.D. Community Planning 619 533-6227 <mtudury@sandiego.gov>; James Alcorn - Architect 858 459--0805; Diana Scheffler 858 459-0805 <diana@jamesalcorn.com>; Deanneka Goodwin - Congresswoman Davis 280-5353, <deanneka.goodwin@mail.house.gov> James Lawson - Councilmember Faulconer 619 236-7057 <jmlawson@sandiego.gov>;.

<u>Approval of Minutes</u>: Olive Chivers moved and Christine Newmwn seconded a motion to adopt the minutes of 12 July 2006. The motion was approved unanimously.

<u>**Treasurer's Report:**</u> Vickie Durham reported that the corrected beginning July 12th balance was \$117.26, July donations were \$11.00, bringing the Sep 13 beginning balance to \$128.26.

Announcements:

Michael Tudury reported that the chain link fence at Presidio Dr. and Taylor St, enclosing the Ettinger Building, will be removed in about six months.

James Lawson announced for Councilmember Faulconer that the Presidio Pitch and Put properties are in fact dedicated park land.

The By Laws subcommittee, Olive Chivers and Fred Grand, announced that they would meet on the 19th to work on proposed new by Laws. Issues include: discussion of required % Board Membership of residents and businesses; Nominating Committee recommendations be made months before the annual election; and, Absenteeism definition to open a board seat.

Action Items:

Diana Scheffler presented the 2533 Congress St Project. She announced that the project had been modified: 1) Six commercial units - 2 on 2d floor, 4 on first floor 2)Congress St setback increased 3 feet. 3) Half basement for storage. 4) Parking to be 2 cars side by side. She informed us that the as modified project had been approved on May 18 by the OTSD Design Review Board. She then requested the Planning Committees endorsement.

Olive Chivers moved and Ron Davis seconded a motion that the Old Town San Diego Community Planning Committee approves Project #96551, 2533 Congress St subject to the city approvals. The motion passed with 7 votes for, 1 against, and 1 abstention.

Chair Ferrell announced that the next highest vote getter from the annual election was **Richard Stegner. Therefor he is seated to serve the remainder of the vacant term ending March 2009.**

On this same subject the committee recognized that there is no established policy for filling vacant seats on the board. Christine Newman made and Olive Seconded a **motion that the Old Town San Diego Community Planning Committee shall fill vacancies on the Board by seating the next highest vote getter from that year's annual election.** The motion was approved with 7 in favor and one opposed.

Respectfully submitted, Geoffrey Mogilner, Secretary