OLD TOWN COMMUNITY PLANNING COMMITTEE NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING

Wednesday April 9, 2008 at 3:30 p.m.
Whaley House Courtroom
Corner of San Diego Avenue and Harney Street
Chairman- Jeanne Ferrell 619/995-0787

- 1) Call To Order and Roll Call:
- 2) Approval of Minutes of Previous Meeting:

Secretary Geoff Mogilner

3) Treasurer's Report:

Vickie Durham, Treasurer

4) Announcements: Board, BID Chamber, North Bay P.A.C., BOOT, HOTCF, City Planning, City Council District, Mayor's Office, County Board of Supervisors, County Parks, State Parks, Cal Trans, State Legislature, U.S. Congress

5) Action Items:

a. Proposal for the Trolley Triangle. Robert Feher

Old Mission Properties proposal for development of the Trolley Triangle

b. Proposal to accept the new by-laws Fred Grand

c. Election of Old Town Community Planning Vickie Durham

Officers.

d. Proposal to begin updating Community Plan Dan Monroe

6) Informational Items:

- 7) Subcommittee Reports Informational Items:
 - a) Signage Enforcement Report:
 - b) CPC Meeting Update:
 - c) Chairman's Comment:

Appointment of Bruce Coons as Consultant to the City of San Diego Historical Resources Board.

Appointment of Resident to the Old Town Community Parking
Committee Jeanne Ferrell

8) Next Regular Meeting: May 14, 2008 Whaley House Courtroom

Old Town San Diego Community Planning Group

Jeanne Ferrell, Chairperson 2448-C San Diego Avenue San Diego, California, 92110 Wednesday Mar 12 th 2008

BLECTION MEETING

The MEETING was called to order at 3:30 PM by Jeanne Ferrell in the Whaley House courtroom.

Members Present: Chuck Ambers-3:40; Luis Barrios-3:25; Bruce Coons-3:25; Tom Doyle-3:25; Vickie Durham-3:30; Joanne Einhorn-3:25; Jeanne Ferrell-3:15; Fred Grand-3:25; Geoffrey Mogilner-3:30; Christine Robinson-3:20; Fred Schwartz-3:25; Richard Stegner-3:25; David Thornton-3:35.

Members Absent: Members Excused:

Seats Vacant: Olive Chivers; Frank Busic;

Guests: Corey Braun - Presidio Park Council 446-5311 cbraun@sandiego.gov; Marie Pedren - Gizoni - Resident mepg41@aol; David Swarens - SOHO 619 232-4475 info@loscalinforios.com; Becky Grant - Plaza del Pasado 619 665-3089 bgrantta@plazadelpasado.com; W. William Harvey - Resident 619 297-1636 wmharvey@alumimit.edu; James W. Hamburg - neighbor 619 298-8510; Angie Olivargz - resident; Lance Wellwood - Plaza del Pasado 970 903-5363 lwellwoo@dncinc.com; Lisa Long - Plaza del Pasado 619 321-7965 bukwrm@cox.net; Sean Shiraishi - Plaza del Pasado 619 997-6123 sean-shiraishi@hotma il.com; Sherrill Atasay - Plaza del Pasado 619 277-4265 satasay@plazadelpasado.com; Jan Fontecha - Plaza del Pasado 619 267-2521 jfontech@dncinc.com; Enrirque Lopez - Plaza del Pasado 619 297-3100 elopez@dncinc.com; Gloria A Barajas - Old Town 619 297-7078; Elias Barajas - Old Town 619 297-7078; Lisetta D'Orazio - Plaza del Pasado 619 297-3100 idorazio@dncinc.com; Alicia Ojeda - Plaza del Pasado 619 297-3100 aojeda@dncinc.com

Approval of Minutes:

Joanne Einhorn made and Luis Barrios seconded a "Motion to approve the February 13, 2008 minutes with one correction: Delete the Announcement "The Old Town web site is open for submissions through March." Motion 12Mar08#1 at 3:39 p.m. The motion was approved with 10 for, 0 against, and 2 abstaining, and 1 absent.

Treasurer's Report:

Treasurer Vicky Durham announced that the beginning February balance was \$96.22 and February donations were \$14 producing a March beginning balance of \$110.22.

Announcements:

Plaza del Pasado will be the Title Sponsor and the Old Town Chamber of Commerce a Sponsor of Cinco de Mayo 2008. At the North Bay PAC meeting Christine Robinson requested that the Airport Authority present their development plans to the OTSDCPG. Dan Monroe is the new City Planner assigned to the Old Town Community Planning Group. The California Highway Patrol may not be moving into the old CALTRANS office building. Joanne Einhorn announced that she will be retiring from CALTRANS in April 2008 and will resign her seat on this committee at that time. Corey Braun, City Planner announced for the Presidio Park Council that the PPC is an official advisory committee to the San Diego Parks Department, that the PPC meets at 4:30 p.m., the third Wednesday of alternating months, and is inviting visitors to their meetings and applications for membership. He may be contacted at *cbraun@sandiego.gov*.

Action Items:

Annual Elections: Vicky Durham presented the 8 candidates for Member of the Board. Each introduced themselves. William Harvey was nominated from the floor to run for the Board, he was written into the

ballots, and he introduced himself.

The candidates on the ballot were: David Swarens - Organization; Fred Grand - Property Owner; Fred Schwartz - Property Owner; Jeanne Ferrell - Merchant; Lance Wellwood - Business; Luis Barrios - Business; Marie Pedrin-Gizoni - Resident; Sean Shiraishi - Business; W.William Harvey - Resident.

Twenty eight qualified applications were submitted. Twenty eight ballots were distributed to qualifying

Twenty eight qualified applications were submitted. Twenty eight ballots were distributed to qualifying Members. The Secretary went over the voting instructions on each ballot. Twenty seven ballots voted. The Election Committee of Chuck Ambers, Christine Robinson, and Richard Stegner counted the votes and announced the results:

For the five terms ending March 2011 the elected are Jeanne Ferrell, Lance Wellwood, Fred Grand, Fred Schwartz, and Marie Pedrin-Gizoni. For the one term ending March 2010 Sean Shiraishi was elected.

The next highest vote getter was David Swarens who will be offered Joanne Einhorn's seat, term ending March 2009, upon her resignation from the Board.

The April 9th meeting is planned for 3:15 p.m. to allow additional time for election of the Officers by the new Board.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted Geoffrey Mogilner, Secretary