Old Town San Diego Community Planning Group

Christine Robinson, Chairperson 4115 Twiggs Street San Diego, California, 92110 Tuesday Mar 10th 2010

# ELECTION MEETING MINUTES

The MEETING was called to order at 3:30 PM by Chair Christine Robinson in the Whaley House courtroom. Before attendance was taken one members, Fred Grand term ending 3/11 resigned from the Board.

**Members Present:** Thurston Coe: Bruce Coons: Tom Doyle: Geoffrey Mogilner: Marie Pedrin-Gizoni: Lorna Rice: Christine Robinson: Fred Schwartz: Richard Stegner: David Swarens: David Thornton **Absent**: 0

Vacant Seats: Four: one ending 3/10, two ending 3/11, and one ending 3/12

Guests: Bill & Jan Colome - Ye Olde Soap Shoppe 619 543-1300; Vickie Durham - Guest; Tom Burk - Guest 619 379-1114 ettburk@mac.com; Diane Lowery - Lowerys Hot Glass 619 297-3473 dianelowery@cox.net; Chuck Ross - Fiesta de Reyes 619 246-8010 chuck@fiestadereyes.com; William Holzhauer - Hacienda de las Rosas Winery 619 840-5579 haciendawine@aol.com; Lacy Waddell - Lacey's Cot & Design Committee 619 325-4592 lacey@studiolacey.com; Bob Barros - VMG Old Town Guide 619 656-4721 rob@vslmedia.com; Melissa Devine - City of San Diego CPCI 619 235-5201 mdevine@sandiego.gov; Andre Brown - San Diego House 619 929-8039; Scott Chipman - PBPG 619 990-7480 schipman@sandrr.com; K Lippitt - NCPC 760 522-4512; Jovi Vergara - Courtyard by Marriott O.T. 619 725-4221 jvergara@sunstonehotels.com; Bruce Johnson - The Alamo Mexican Cafe 619 296-1112 alamomexicancafeinc@gmail.com; Brian Pepin -Councilman Kevin Faulconer 619-236-7025 bpepin@sandiego.gov; Gabriel Gitierrez - Supervisor Ron Roberts 619 531-5544 gabriel.gitierrez@sdcounty.ca.gov; Thomas Ledford - Supervisor Ron Roberts 619 531-5544 thomas.ledford@sdcounty.ca.gov; Fred Grand - Haciendia Hotel 858 481-2476 fgrand@phgcorp.com; Kirsten Clemans - Assembly Member Saldaña 619 645-3090 kirsten.clemons@asm.ca.gov

# Public Comment:

Fred Grand announced that he had resigned before this meeting.

# Modification of Agenda:

None.

# **Approval of Minutes:**

Fred Schwartz moved and Richard Stegner seconded a Motion, **10Mar2010#1** to approve as written the 10 February 2010 Minutes. At 3:40 p.m. the motion was approved with 8 votes for, 3 vote abstain, and 4 seats vacant.

#### Action Item 6b, Medical Marijuana Stores:

There were presentations for and against this subject. After discussion Richard Stegner moved and Tom Doyle seconded a Motion, **10Mar2010#2**, The OTSDCPG endorses the recommendations of the Medical Marijuana Task Force with the specific understanding that:1) tourist & entertainment, 2) historic nature of Old Town, and 3) recreation areas of San Diego be taken into consideration when determining from which locations dispensaries should be excluded. At 4:00 p.m. the motion was approved with 11 votes for, and 4 seats vacant.

# Action Item 6a, Annual Election:

The Nominating Committee had handed out, collected, and verified with the Secretary the Applications for General Membership to all those attendant wishing to vote in the election. The Secretary explained the rules for this election.

There were 5 seats vacant with terms ending March 2013 There was 1 seat vacant with term ending March 2012 There were 2 seats vacant with terms ending March 2011

Nominations from the floor were requested and Bruce Johnson was nominated. His name was added to each ballot. The Chair gave each nominee an opportunity to discuss their qualifications. Then each application was exchanged for a ballot. Twenty four ballots were issued. After voting the ballots were collected and tallied.

The 5 highest vote getters were Bruce Coons-23, Diane Lowery-21, Bruce Johnson-21, David Thorton-20, & Lorna Rice-19 each winning a seat ending March 2013

The next 2 highest vote getters were Tom Doyle and Chuck Ross tied at 17 votes each. A coin was tossed for the 2 year term. Tom Doyle won the toss and the term ending in March 2012. Chuck Ross won a term ending in 2011.

The next highest vote getter was Gary Lambe with 16 votes over Marco Puente with 6 votes. Gary Lambe won the remaining term ending in March 2011.

The results of the election were announced by Fred Grand for the Nominating Committee.

# Action Item 6c, By-Laws Review:

A working draft OTSDCPG Bylaws dated October 14, 2009 was presented to the committee for discussion. A copy of this draft marked 10 Mar 2010 with purple ball-point ink is incorporated into these minutes. The following changes were discussed and incorporated into this draft:

- 1) Article 1, Section 3. The community planning area boundaries for the OTSDCPG are the boundaries of the Old Town San Diego community as shown on the <u>Community Plan Map</u>
- 2) Article III, Section 3, ••• may retain some members who have already served for nine (9) consecutive years to continue on the planning group without a break in service with a 2/3 vote of the <u>committee</u>.

After discussion Tom Doyle moved and Thurston Coe seconded a motion **10Mar2010#3**, To approve the By-Laws as Modified. At 5:28 pm the motion was voted on and approved with 11 votes for and 4 seats vacant.

#### **Announcements:**

The new Heritage Park Web site is now on the internet.

# Acceptance of Election Results:

Richard Stegner moved and David Swarens seconded a motion, **10Mar2010#4** to accept the Election Results. The motion was voted on at 5:40 pm and approved with 11 votes for and 4 seats vacant.

The meeting adjourned at 5:44 pm.

Respectfully submitted Geoffrey Mogilner, Secretary