Old Town San Diego Community Planning Group

Christine Robinson, Chairperson 4115 Twiggs Street San Diego, California, 92110 Wednesday Apr 14th 2010



The MEETING was called to order at 3:30 PM by Chair Christine Robinson in the Whaley House courtroom. Before attendance was taken one members, Fred Grand term ending 3/11 resigned from the Board.

Members Present: Thurston Coe: Tom Doyle: Geoffrey Mogilner: Marie Pedrin-Gizoni: Christine Robinson: Chuck Ross: Fred Schwartz: David Swarens: David Thornton **Absent**: Bruce Coons: Bruce Johnson: Gary Lamble: Diane Lowery; Lorna Rice: Richard Stegner:

Guests: Melissa Devine - *City of San Diego CPCI 619 235-5201 <u>mdevine@sandiego.gov</u>; Shawn Veen -<i>Assembly Member Saldaña 619 645-3090 <u>shawn.veen@asm.ca.gov</u>; Fred Grand - <i>Haciendia Hotel 858 481-2476 fgrand@phgcorp.com*; Brian Pepin - *Councilman Kevin Faulconer 619-236-7025* <u>bpepin@sandiego.gov</u>; Kelly Crain - *Architect 858 272-6662 kelloggcrain@gmail.com*; Matt Morton - *Zócalo 858 268-1030 matt.morton@brigant.com*

Public Comment:

Tom Doyle announced that the speakers outside many of the Old Town restaurants are excessively loud and requested that this item be placed on the action agenda.

Modification of Agenda:

None.

Approval of Minutes:

Fred Schwartz moved and Tom Doyle seconded a Motion, **14Apr2010#1** to approve as written the 10 March 2010 Minutes. At 3:38 p.m. the motion was approved with 9 votes for, and 6 votes absent.

Treasurer's Report:

Christine Robinson reported that the February beginning balance was \$91.97 and \$13.00 was collected in February, nothing was collected in March, making the April beginning balance \$104.97.

Marie Pedrin-Gizoni moved and Fred Schwartz seconded Motion **14Apr2010#1.5** to accept Christine Robinson's report. The motion was approved at 3:42 p.m with 9 votes for and 6 votes absent.

Action Item 6a Election of Officers:

Nominations for Chairperson of the OTSDCPG were requested from the floor. Tom Doyle nominated Christine Robinson for Chairperson. Fred Schwartz moved and Marie Pedrin-Gizoni seconded motion **14Apr2010#3.0** to close nominations for Chairperson. The motion was approved at 3:47 p.m. with 9 votes for and 6 votes absent.

Tom Doyle moved and Fred Schwartz seconded motion **14Apr2010#3.1** that Christine Robinson be elected Chairperson of the OTSDCPG for the next year. The motion was approved at 3:50 p.m. with 9 votes for and 6 votes absent.

Nominations from the floor were requested for the Offices of Vice Chairperson, Treasurer, and Secretary. Tom Doyle moved and Chuck Ross seconded motion **14Apr2010#3.2** that David Thornton be Vice Chairperson, Lorna Rice be Treasurer, and Geoffrey Mogilner be Secretary of the OTSDCPG for the next year. The motion was approved at 3:54 p.m. with 9 votes for and 6 votes absent.

Action Item 6b Heritage Park - Conceptual Signage:

Fred Grand presented the Heritage Park Identification Sign Proposal as attached for discussion. David Swarens moved and Geoffrey Mogilner seconded motion **14Apr2010#4**, To endorse the Heritage Park sign concept consisting of hight, size, scale, lighting, and materials as in the attached drawing. At 4:21 p.m. the motion was approved with 9 votes for and 6 votes absent.

Action Item 6c, Zocalo Hostess Stand:

Crain Kellogg presented plans for a Zocalo Restaurant Hostess Stand. After discussion Geoffrey Mogilner moved and David Thornton seconded a motion **14Apr2010#5**, The OTSDCPG supports the Zocalo Restaurant general plan for a Hostess Stand, trellis and benches as presented. At 4:38 p.m. the motion was approved with 8 votes for, 1 vote against, and 5 votes absent.

Action Item 6d, Subcommittee Formations:

There was a discussion of subcommittees for the OTSDCP Update. Tom Doyle moved and Fred Schwartz seconded motion 14Apr2010#6, The Community Plan Update Committee will be the OTSDCPG Committee of the whole. At 4:48 p.m. the motion was approved with 6 votes for, 2 votes against, 6 votes absent, and 1 vote abstain.

Tom Doyle moved and David Swarens seconded motion **14Apr2010#7**, The OTSDCPG shall establish two standing ad hoc sub-committees: 1)Code enforcement sub-committee and 2)By-Laws sub-committee. And interested persons should notify the Chairperson before 12 May 2010. At 4:55 p.m. the motion was approved with 9 votes for and 6 votes absent.

The meeting adjourned at 5:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted Geoffrey Mogilner, Secretary