Old Town San Diego Community Planning Group

Christine Robinson, Chairperson 4115 Twiggs Street San Diego, California, 92110 Wednesday June 9th 2010

MINUTES

The MEETING was called to order at 3:31 PM by Chair Christine Robinson in the Whaley House courtroom.

Members Present: Thurston Coe: Tom Doyle: Bruce Johnson: Gary Lamble: Diane Lowery; Geoffrey Mogilner: Marie Pedrin-Gizoni: Lorna Rice: Christine Robinson: Chuck Ross: Fred Schwartz: Richard

Stegner: David Swarens: David Thornton

Absent: Bruce Coons:

Guests: Melissa Devine - *City of San Diego CPCI 619 235-5201 <u>mdevine@sandiego.gov</u>*; Fred Grand - *Haciendia / CofC 858 481-2476 fgrand@phgcorp.com*; Deanneka Goodwin - *Rep. Susan Davis 619 280-5353 deanneka.goodwin@mail.house.gov*

Public Comment:

None.

Modification of Agenda:

None.

Approval of Minutes:

Tom Doyle moved and Fred Schwartz seconded a Motion, **9June2010#1** to approve as written the 12 May 2010 Minutes. At 3:35 p.m. the motion was approved with 13 votes for and 2 absent.

Treasurer's Report:

Lorna Rice reported that to the April beginning balance of \$104.97 April contributions were 26.00 and May contributions were \$17.00 making a June beginning balance of \$147.97.

Action Item 6a Signage on Poles at the Marketplace:

Chuck Ross presented this plan for designate with flags and banners the San Diego Avenue entrance to the Park, image attached. Diane Lowery moved and Gary Lamble seconded motion **9June2010#2** that the OTSDCPG supports this flag proposal with historically accurate materials. At 3:47 p.m. the motion was approved with 13 votes for 1 absent and 1 abstain.

Action Item 6b Old Town Parking Advisory Committee:

Chuck Ross moved and Lorna Rice seconded motion **9June2010#3** that the OTSDCPG nominate Marie Pedrin-Gizoni to the Old Town Parking Advisory Committee to replace the seated member, Msgr. Mark Campbell. At 3:50 p.m. the motion was approved with 13 votes for 1 absent and 1 abstain.

Action Item 6c Establishment of Code Enforcement Committee:

Bruce Johnson moved and David Swearns seconded motion **9June2010#4** that the OTSDCPG establishes a Code Enforcement Sub-Committee; that Lorna Rice, Tom Doyle, Geoffrey Mogilner, and Diane Lowery be appointed to it; and, that by recommendation of the Chair, Lorna Rice be its Chairperson. (At 4:02 p.m. Christine Robinson left the meeting and David Thornton took over as chair of the meeting.) At 4:09 p.m. the motion was approved with 13 votes for and 2 absent.

Action Item 6d Establishment of Bylaws Committee:

Richard Stegner moved and Lorna Rice seconded motion **9June2010#5** that the OTSDCPG establishes a Bylaws Sub-Committee; that Tom Doyle, Geoffrey Mogilner, and Gary Lamble be appointed to it; and, that by recommendation of the Chair, Tom Doyle be its Chairperson. At 4:19 p.m. the motion was approved with 13 votes for and 2 absent.

Announcements:

Chuck Ross announced that Casa de Reyes has been selected as BUSINESS OF THE YEAR, 2010. The OT Chamber of Commerce is recommending block captains to deal with issues like overflowing trash containers.

City Planning Department announced that Chair Christine Robinson was on the EIR consultant selection committee for the OT Community Plan Update. A E Con was selected as EIR consultant and has been submitted to the SD City Council for confirmation. http://www.aecom.com/vgn-ext-templating/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=d8ce638220672210VgnVCM100000089e1bacRCRD

The Meeting was adjourned at 4:31 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Geoffrey Mogilner, Secretary

