Old Town San Diego Community Planning Group

David Thornton, Chairperson 2115 Kurtz Street San Diego, California, 92110 Wednesday March 14th 2012

MINUTES v.1

The MEETING was called to order at 3:40 pm by Chair David Thornton in the Whaley House Courtroom at 2476 San Diego Ave.

Members Present: Chuck Ambers: David Bevilaqua; Thurston Coe; Bruce Coons: Marie Pedrin-Gizoni: Fred Grand: Bruce Johnson: Geoffrey Mogilner: Fred Schwartz; David Swarens: David Thornton;

Members Absent: Diane Lowery; Lorna Rice: Richard Stegner;

Seats Vacant: Gary Lamble

Guests: Patricia Fillet - Resident 760 429-4770 pfillet@salk.edu: Ann Dahlkamp - Resident 291-4340 annskip3@gmail.com; Kathleen Lippett - SAY San Diego (Social Advocats for Youth) (858) 974-3603 klippit@saysandiego.org; Dino Manriquez - Visitor, 760 504-2775, dino@dmagp.com; Tait Galloway - City of San Diego PSP 533-4550 tgalloway@sandiego.gov; Jan Clampett - Council 619 235-5282 IClampett@sandiego.gov

Public Comment:

Kathleen Lippett announced the "Alcohol Policy and Land Use" program to be held April 3d, 2012 at Mission Bay High School. It will be about how to control Alcohol Licenses through land use. TonyAtkins, Assemblymember 76th District has introduced AB 2082 regarding Public Lands: State Lands Commission: violations.

Approval of Minutes of February 8, 2011:

David Swarens moved and Fred Grand seconded motion **14Mar2012**#1, to approve the Minutes of February 8, 2012. The motion was approved at 3:53 p.m. with 10 votes for, 3 votes absent, one abstention, and one seat vacant.

Treasurer's Report:

None

Action Items:

a) Old Town Community Planning Group Election:

Fred Grand, Chair of the Election subcommittee explained the election procedure; introduced the candidates, explained the number of open seats, discussed their expiration dates and residential requirements. He then conducted a candidate forum where each candidate spoke. He then distributed 13 ballots. The marked ballots were collected and counted by Fred Grand and Tait Galloway. The Chair of the Election subcommittee announced the results:

Receiving 13 votes each were Bevilaqua-resident, Coe, Gizoni-resident

Receiving 12 votes each were Fillet-resident and Mogilner

Receiving 11 votes each were Swarens

The Chair of the Election subcommittee recommended awarding the seats as follows:

The 5 seats with terms ending March 2015 to David Bevilaqua-resident, Thurston Coe, Marie Pedrin-Gizoni-resident, Geoffrey Mogilner, and Patricia Fillet-resident. The one seat with term ending March 2014 to David Swarens.

Chairperson Thornton reviewed the proceedings and restated the seatings of the Election subcommittee thereby making the election official.

New Business, Signs for Bento Wich restaurant; the former Rancho La Lena restaurant.

Dino Manriquez presented an illustration, attached of the identification sign, with Franklin Gothic type for which he is requesting approval. David Swarens moved and Thurston Coe seconded motion **14Mar2012#2** to approve the Bento-Wich identification sign. The motion was approved at 4:23 p.m. with 10 votes for, 4 votes absent, and one seat vacant.

Information Items: Old Town Community Plan update Advisory meeting

The next meeting will be Tuesday, April 17, 2012, 3-5 p.m., CALTRANS District 11 Building for a continuation of the discussion of the major goals and objectives listed on page 17 of the adopted Community Plan.

Announcements:

Ian Clampett of Councilmember Faulconer's office announced new improvements to the City's Website. He also informed us that prompted by the CALTRANS announcement to re-plan the I5-I8 interchange in 2013, the Peninsula Community Planning Board is drafting a letter to SANDAG regarding their regional circulation concerns. He invited the Old Town Community Planning Group to join their regional circulation concerns with the Peninsula letter to SANDAG.

The meeting adjourned at 4:39 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Geoffrey Mogilner, Secretary