MISSION BEACH PRECISE PLANNING BOARD Tuesday, April 18, 2017 @ 7 PM Belmont Park Coaster Terrace – Community Room Minutes of Meeting

Board Members Present:

Carole Havlat	Dennis Lynch	Brian McCarthy	John Ready
Will Schussel	Gernot Trolf	Jenine Whittecar	Debbie Watkins

Absent: Mike Meyer; Mary Saska

OPENING FUNCTIONS

Meeting was called to order by Acting Chair Debbie Watkins at 7:03 PM.

• Approval of Minutes for March, 2017

Copies of the draft March 21, 2017 Minutes of Meeting were distributed and reviewed. There being no corrections, the Minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

• **Revisions to Agenda** Copies of the April 18, 2017 Agenda were distributed and reviewed. There were no changes.

• Acting Chair's Report

Acting Chair Debbie Watkins gave the following update:

Elementary School Development Project Update: The Land Use Plan Amendment & Local Coastal Program Amendment for the Mission Beach Residence Project, which changes the use of the land from School to Residential, will be heard by the Coastal Commission at its May 10th-12th Meeting in San Diego at the **San Diego Board of Supervisors Chambers**, 1600 Pacific Hwy. San Diego, CA 92101. The exact day will be revealed when the Coastal Commission Agenda is posted on the internet after April 21st.

• Acting Secretary's Report

Acting Secretary Debbie Watkins informed Board Members that absences from Fiscal Year ending March 2017 are wiped clean and a new slate starts for Fiscal Year 2018 beginning April 2017 through March 2018.

PUBLIC COMMENT (limited to 3 minutes per speaker regarding Mission Beach matters NOT listed on the Agenda)

- Bonnie Gabriel introduced herself as a long-time Mission Beach property owner and expressed interest in filling a vacant seat on the Board. She commented she has attended several Board Meetings.
- Gary Wonacott of the MBTC commented that a second trash pickup in the summer months was not included in the Mayor's 2018 Budget; that MBTC members will attend the City Council Environmental Services 2018 Budget Hearing on May 4, 2017 to try to get funding; and the MBTC will try to raise money.

- Klaus Mendenhall of the MBTC commented that he encourages community members to attend the Environmental Services Budget Hearing and that the MBTC will send out an e-mail blast to its members.
- Dawn Riley of beautiful.mb announced that the next beach cleanup will take place on April 30th at Bonita Cove. She commented that Belmont Park donated a golf cart that will be raffled off to raise money.

REPORTS FROM GOVERNMENT OFFICALS

• Anthony George, Senior Representative to Mayor Kevin Faulconer was not able to attend the meeting but asked Acting Chair Watkins to read his report concerning: STVR's; FY'18 Budget; Street Light Payments; Homeless Intake Center; and Ballot Proposals, which she did.

BUILDING PLAN REVIEWS None

BOARD COMMUNICATIONS

Action Items:

• Form Ad-Hoc Subcommittee Re: STVR's to develop proposed regulations for Mission Beach working in coalition with other Coastal Community Planning Groups to develop proposed regulations to present to the City Council and Coastal Commission for consideration

Acting Chair Watkins reported that the Chairs of the Ocean Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla and Mission Beach Planning Groups are working together as a "coastal coalition" to craft a Short Term Vacation Rental ("STVR") ordinance for the coastal communities to present to the City Council for consideration. Each Planning group will form an ad-hoc subcommittee to gather information to quantify the number of STVR's in their community.

Acting Chair Watkins asked for volunteers from the community and Board Members to help her on the ad-hoc subcommittee. Community Member Bob Semonsen volunteered; Board Members Will Schussel, Gernot Trolf and John Ready volunteered.

After discussion, the following motion was duly made:

Motion 1 was made and seconded TO FORM AN AD-HOC STVR SUBCOMMITTEE consisting of the following Board Members: Debbie Watkins, Gernot Trolf, Will Schussel, John Ready, and Bob Semonsen (Community Member).

VOTEFor: 7Against: 0Abstain: 0Motion passed.

• 2017 Board Election of Officers

Chair and Secretary: Debbie Watkins was nominated. No other nominees.

Motion 2 was made by Jenine Whittecar and seconded by Gernot Trolf to RE-ELECT					
DEBBIE WATKINS as Chair and Secretary for FY April 2017 – March 2018.					
VOTE	For: 7	Against: 0	Abstain: 0		
Motion passes.	Debbie Watk	tins re-elected Chair and Secre	tary.		

Vice Chair: Gernot Trolf was nominated. No other nominees.

Motion 3 was made by Jenine Whittecar and seconded by Will Schussel to RE-ELECT
GERNOT TROLF as Vice Chair for FY April 2017 – March 2018.VOTEFor: 7Against: 0Abstain: 0Motion passes.Gernot Trolf re-elected Vice Chair.

Acting Chair Watkins asked the Board to consider filling vacancies for Area Representatives on the Board with eligible nominees at the May 16th Board Meeting. All Board Members agreed.

There being no further business, Chair Watkins noted Agenda Items must be submitted to the Chair in writing **10 days PRIOR** to the scheduled Board meeting. The **next meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 16, 2017 at 7 PM in the Belmont Park Community Room.**

ADJOURNMENT

Motion 4 was made by John Ready and seconded TO ADJOURN the meeting.VOTEFor: 7Against: 0Abstain: 0Motion passed.

Submitted by: Debbie Watkins, Acting Secretary