Community Planners Committee

Planning Department • City of San Diego 9485 Aero Drive • San Diego, CA 92123 SDPlanninggroups@sandiego.gov • (619) 235-5200

CPC DRAFT MINUTES FOR MEETING OF JULY 07, 2020

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ester Berry, Carmel Mtn. Rnch (CMRSS)
Russ Connelly, City Heights (CH)
Jose Reynoso, College Area (COL)
Bob Link, Downtown (DWNTN)
Kathy Vandenheuvel, Golden Hill (GH)
Deborah Sharpe, Ken/Tal (KT)
Diane Kane, La Jolla (LJ)
Howard Wayne, Linda Vista, (LV)
Jeff Stevens, Mira Mesa (MM)
Lorayne Burley, Miramar Ranch North (MRN)
Michele Addington, Mission Valley (MV)
Tim Taylor, North Park (NP)

Andrea Schlageter, Ocean Beach (OB)

Ann Dahlkamp, Old Town (OT)
Jason Legros, Pacific Beach (PB)
Korla Eaquinta, Peninsula (PEN)
Vicki Touchstone, Rancho Bernardo (RB)
Randy Steffler, Rancho Penasquitos (RP)
Marc Lindshield, San Pasqual/Lake Hodges
(SP/LH)
Wally Wulfeck, Scripps Ranch (SR)
Myron Taylor, Southeastern (SE)
Brad Remy, Torrey Pines (TP)
Chris Nielsen, University (UN)

<u>VOTING INELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS:</u> Barrio Logan, Del Mar Mesa, Downtown, Keamy Mesa, Navajo, Normal Heights, Otay Mesa Nestor, Peninsula, San Ysidro, Torrey Hills, Uptown.

<u>Guests:</u>, Debra Sharpe, Heidi Vonblum, Brian Schoenfisch, David Moty, Tom Mullaney, Sandra Wetzel-Smith, Tom Silva, Michael Stonehouse, Deanna Spehn

<u>City Staff/Representatives:</u> Tony Kempton

NOTE: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC Representatives, quest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.

1. CALL TO ORDER/INTRODUCTIONS:

Chair Wally Wulfeck called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. Roll Call: CMRSS, CH, COL DWNTN, GH, KT, LJ, LV, MM, MRN, MV, NP, OT, OB, PEN, PB, RB, RP, SP/LH, SR, SE, TP, UN.

NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT: 2 minutes per issue. None

3. MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Approved without modification.

4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF JUNE 30, 2020.

Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, KT, MM, MRN, MV, NP, OT, OB, PB, RB, RP, SP/LH, SR, SE, TP, UN. Nays: 0, Abstain: DWNTN, GH, LJ, LV. Minutes approved 18-0-4.

5. SENATE BILLS SB902, SB995, SB1085, SB1120 and SB1385. (Action Item).

Discussion and possible action on California Senate Bills affecting zoning, housing, and land use.

Board Comment:

- Members felt neither SB474 nor SB1299 were particularly egregious and should be supported.
- The members felt SB902 deals a slow death to local government authority over land use.
- Members opposed SB902 and another bill, SB1279, as well as SB1085 because
 they encouraged density in single-family areas and SDB1279 took away local
 control over land decisions and that it also would allow 4-plex du's on singlefamily lots and up to 100 du's in commercial areas.
- SB995 was discussed for its CEQA implications, SB1085 was discussed for
 its increase in density without increases in affordable units. SB1120 was
 discussed that it might not be as objectionable as other bills. Discussion
 continued about the need to maintain local control of planning decisions
 since every city and community are different.

Motion:

Move to support SB 474, 1299 separately as neither was particularly egregious (CH), second (LJ). GH requested that the two considered bills for approval be separated. Move to support SB474 Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, DWNTN, GH, KT, LV, MM, MRN, MV, NP, PB, RB, RP. SP/LH SR, SE, UN. Nays: 0. Abstain: LJ, OB, OT and TP. Motion passed 18-0-4.

Motion:

Move to support SB1299 (CH) second (LJ). Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, DWNTN, KT, LV, MM, MRN, MV, PB, RB, RP. SP/LH, UN. Nays: 0. Abstain: GH, LJ, NP, OB, OT, SR, SE and TP. Motion passed 14-0-8.

Motion:

Move to oppose SB 902, 1279, 1085 (LV), second (CH). Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, GH, KT, LJ, LV, MM, MRN, MV, OT, PB, RB, RP, SP/LH, SR, SE, TP, UN. Nays: 0,

Abstain: DWNTN, NP, OB. Motion passed 19-0-3.

Motion:

Move to oppose any bill usurping local land use authority (CH), second RB). Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, DWNTN, GH, KT, LV, MM, MRN, MV, OB, OT, PB, RB, RP, SP/LH, SR, SE, TP, UN. Nays: 0, Abstain: LV, NP. Motion passed 20-0-2.

Motion:

Move to oppose any bill proposing ministerial processing, bypassing CEQA and CPG review (CH), second (RB) with friendly amendment (KT) Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, DWNTN, KT, LJ, LV, MM, MRN, MV, OT, PB, RB, RP, SP/LH, SR, SE, TP, UN. Nays: 0, Abstain: GH, MV, TP. Motion passed 19-0-3.

Motion:

Revise Complete Communities regarding following: Exclude the bonus FAR in RM-1-1 zones, reduce the FAR in Coastal Zones to 2.0, double the off-site affordable housing requirement, that the DIF be determined by floor area not unit, remove the one mile site limit for the affordable housing requirement and that the affordable housing be in the same community as the project. (OB), second (LJ). Ayes: CMRSS, CH, COL, DWNTN, KT, LJ, LV, MM, LV, MM, MRN, OT, PB, RB, RP, SP/LH, SR, SE, UN. Nays: 0. Abstaining: GH, MV, TP. Motion passed 19-0-3.

CPC nominations for Infrastructure Subcommittee: Kathy Vandenheuvel, Chris Nielsen, Tom Mullaney, Debra Sharpe, Wally Wulfeck appointed by unanimous vote. The chair set the date of Wednesday July 15th at 6:00 PM for the meeting

7. REPORTS TO CPC:

- Staff Report None
- Subcommittee Reports None
- Chair's Report None
- CPC Member Comments None

ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING: AUGUST 25, 2020: The meeting was adjourned by Chair Wally Wulfeck at 00:000 PM.