Community Planners Committee

Planning Department ◆ City of San Diego 1010 Second Ave., Suite 1200, East Tower ◆ San Diego, CA 92101 SDPlanninggroups@sandiego.gov ◆ (619) 235-5200

CPC FINAL MINUTES FOR MEETING OF MAY 24, 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Farinsky, Carmel Valley
Keith Hartz, Clairemont Mesa
Jose Reynoso, College Area
Laura Riebau, Eastern
Kenneth Malbrough, Encanto
David Swarens, Greater Golden Hill
David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge
Cindy Greatrex, La Jolla
Cathy Kenton, Midway (North Bay)
Jeffry L. Stevens, Mira Mesa
Lorayne Burley, Miramar Ranch North

Debbie Watkins, Mission Beach
Daniel Smith, Navajo
Jim Baross, Normal Heights
Vicki Granowitz, North Park
Mel Ingalls, Otay Mesa
Sandra K. Wetzel-Smith, Scripps Ranch
Bob Crider, Serra Mesa
Guy Preuss, Skyline/Paradise Hills
Robert Leif, Southeastern
Deanna Spehn, Tierrasanta
Janay Kruger, University
Leo Wilson, Uptown

VOTING INELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS: None.

Guests: Kathleen Keehan, Kayla Race, Ramon Maldonado and others.

City Staff/Representatives: Nancy Bragado, Brian Schoenfisch and Maria Nieves.

<u>NOTE</u>: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC Representatives, guest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Vice Chair David Moty called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and proceeded with roll call.

2. NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT:

- Robert Leif, commented on the Climate Action Plan.
- Ed Harris, former council member, introduced himself and thanked CPC members for their service.

3. MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Robert Leif, Southeastern moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Vicki Granowitz. Motion passed unanimously.

4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF APRIL 26, 2016:

Minutes approved as corrected 17-0-5. 5 Abstentions: Encanto, Tierrasanta, Normal Heights, Mission Beach and Kensington Talmadge.

5. CPC OFFICER ELECTION- Action Item

Election Committee: Laura Reibau

Written ballots were provided to eligible CPC representatives to vote for CPC Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. Ballots contained names of known candidates, an area for write-in candidates, and a place for voting representatives to write their name.

The following officers were elected:

Chair: David Moty
Vice Chair: Vicki Granowitz
Secretary: Leo Wilson

6. AIR QUALITY AND COMMUNITY PLANNING: Information Item

Kathleen Keehan, Air Quality Specialist, San Diego County Air Pollution Control District gave a presentation on the relationship between air pollution and community planning, and the strategies and options planners have to provide choices for transit use, bicycling and walking.

7. CLIMATE ACTION PLAN COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATE EVALUATION CRITERIA: Information Item

Brian Schoenfisch, Principal Planner, Planning Department. Per the direction of the City Council, staff has prepared a detailed conformance evaluation to be used as a tool to ensure that community plan updates promote implementation of the goals and policies identified in the City's Climate Action Plan.

8. REPORTS TO CPC:

- Staff Report: Nancy Bragado reported the Community Orientation Workshop (COW) was held on May 21, 2016 and was very successful with 28 people in attendance. She also thanked David Moty for representing CPC.
- Subcommittee Reports: None
- Chairperson's Report: June- CPC appointments to other city committees/boards:
 Open Space Canyon Advisory Committee
 Code Monitoring Team
 Parking Advisory Board (appointment requires mayoral approval)
- CPC Member Comments: None

9. ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING, June 28, 2016

The meeting was adjourned by Chair David Moty at 9:02 PM