Community Planners Committee

Planning Department •City of San Diego 1010 Second Ave., Suite 1200, East Tower• San Diego, CA 92101 SDPlanninggroups@sandiego.gov• (619) 235-5200

CPC FINAL MINUTES FOR MEETING OF JUNE 28, 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Farinsky, Carmel Valley Russ Connelly, City Heights Jose Reynoso, College Area Pat Stark, Downtown Laura Riebau, Eastern Area David Swarens, Greater Golden Hill David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge Cindy Greatrex, La Jolla NoliZosa, Linda Vista Jeffry L. Stevens, Mira Mesa Debbie Watkins, Mission Beach Daniel Smith, Navajo Jim Baross, Normal Heights John Ambert, Ocean Beach Mel Ingalls, Otay Mesa Mike Lutz, Rancho Bernardo Jon Becker, Rancho Penasquitos Wallace Wulfeck, Scripps Ranch Bob Crider, Serra Mesa Guy Preuss, Skyline/Paradise Hills Robert Leif, Southeastern

VOTING INELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS: Ocean Beach.

Guests: John Dean and others.

City Staff/Representatives: Nancy Bragado and Maria Nieves.

<u>NOTE</u>: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC Representatives, guest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chair David Moty called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and proceeded with roll call.

2. <u>NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT</u>: Guy Preuss commented about the plan to make more bicycle lanes in Downtown.

- 3. <u>MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA</u>: Robert Leif, Southeastern moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Jose Reynoso, College Area. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. <u>APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF MAY 24, 2016</u>: Minutes approved as corrected 13-0-5. 5Abstentions: Downtown, City Heights, Rancho Penasquitos, Rancho Bernardo and Kensington Talmadge.
- 5. <u>FIREHOUSE BOND-Information Item</u> The presenter did not appear so the item was not heard.
- 6. <u>SANDAG "KEEP SAN DIEGO MOVING FORWARD" MEASURE: Information</u> <u>Item</u>

Muggs Stoll, Director of Land Use and Transportation Planning presented on SANDAG's potential November ballot measure which provides for a ½ cent sales tax to fund specific transit, highway, open space, bicycle and pedestrian projects throughout San Diego County.

7. <u>**REPORTS FROM CPC APPOINTEES TO OUTSIDE BOARDS:**</u> Information Item Guy Preuss, Code Monitoring Team reported to the CPC on the activity of this organization.

8. CPC APPOINTMENTS TO OTHER BOARDS: Action Item

David Moty, biennial appointments to the Code Monitoring Team, Open Space Canyon Advisory Committee, Parking Advisory Board.

Code Monitoring Team:

Current Member: Guy Preuss, Skyline-Paradise Hills-Confirmed: June 2013, June 2015. Appointment to be reviewed in June 2017.

Jose Reynoso, College Area, motion to appoint Dan Smith as alternate to the Code Monitoring Team. Seconded by Robert Leif, Southeastern. Motion passed unanimously.

Open Space Canyon Advisory Committee:

Current Member: Mike Lutz, Rancho Bernardo. Confirmed: June 2013. June 2015. Appointment to be reviewed in June 2017.

Current Member: John Mooney: Skyline-Paradise Hills. Confirmed: June 2013. Reconfirmation was not voted on in 2015.

Current Alternate: Robert McDowell, Serra Mesa. Confirmed: June 2013. Reconfirmation was not voted on in 2015.

Laura Riebau, Eastern Area, motion to appoint John Mooney, Skyline-Paradise Hills, to the Open Space Canyon Advisory Committee for a two year period retroactive to June 2015. Seconded by Dan Smith of Navajo. Motion passed unanimously. Abstentions: Linda Vista and Kensington Talmadge

Parking Advisory Board:

Dan Smith, Navajo, motion to appoint Noli Zosa, Linda Vista, to the Parking Advisory Board. Seconded by Laura Riebau, Eastern Area. Motion passed 17-0-2. 2 Abstentions: Normal Heights and Kensington/Talmadge.

9. SIGNAGE REGULATION & ENFORCEMENT ISSUES- Information Item

John Dean, Chair, Carmel Valley, discussed signage issues in San Diego. Topics included political signage on public property, private signage in the public right-of-way, the effectiveness of signage code enforcement, and the role CPC may wish to take on this issue.

Robert Leif, Southeastern, motion to form a committee. Seconded by Wallace Wulfeck, Scripps Ranch. Motion passed. Against: Eastern Area. Abstention:

Kensington/Talmadge. Committee consists of three members: Southeastern, Scripps Ranch and College Area with Jose Reynoso, College Area being the Chair.

10. <u>REPORTS TO CPC:</u>

- Staff Report: Nancy Bragado invited all Chairs and Vice Chairs of community planning groups to attend the upcoming P-COW (Planning Chair Operations Workshop) Thursday June 30, 2016.
- Subcommittee Reports: None
- Chairperson's Report: None
- CPC Member Comments:
 - John Ambert, Ocean Beach, spoke about a height limit issue with a Peninsula project.
 - David Swarens, Greater Golden Hill, encouraged CPG's representatives to participate at the CPC meetings.
 - Wallace Wulfeck, Scripps Ranch, questioned to what extent the City interface with the Public Utilities Commission does.

11. ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING, July, 26, 2016

The meeting was adjourned by Chair David Moty at 8:57 PM