# Community Planners Committee

Planning, Neighborhoods & Economic Development Department • City of San Diego 1222 First Avenue, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor • San Diego, CA 92101 SDPlanninggroups@sandiego.gov • (619) 235-5200

#### **CPC FINAL MINUTES FOR MEETING OF MAY 27, 2014 (Revised)**

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Jim Varnadore, City Heights
Jose Reynoso, College Area
Laura Garrett, Downtown
Laura Riebau, Eastern
Kenneth Malbrough, Encanto
David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge

Joe La Cava, La Jolla Tom Cleary, Linda Vista

Melanie Nickel, Midway (North Bay)

Pat O'Donohoe, Mira Mesa

Michelle Abella-Shon, Miramar Ranch North

Debbie Watkins, Mission Beach Dottie Surdi, Mission Valley

Caroline McKeown, Normal Heights

Vicki Granowitz, North Park Peter Ruscitti, Ocean Beach Mel Ingalls, Otay Mesa Brian Curry, Pacific Beach Jay Shumaker, Peninsula

Lou Dell' Angela, Rancho Bernardo Thomas Clark, Rancho Penasquitos Matthew Paradas, San Vsidro

Matthew Paredes, San Ysidro

Wallace Wulfeck, Scripps Miramar Ranch

Bob Crider, Serra Mesa

John Mooney, Skyline/Paradise Hills

Robert Leif, Southeastern Justin Decsare, Tierrasanta Janay Kruger, University

## **VOTING INELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS**: Linda Vista.

<u>Guests</u>: Emily Serafy Cox, Joy Williams, John Alvarado, Rich Thesing, Georgette Gomez, Roberto Hernandez, Corinne Wilson, and others.

<u>City Staff/Representatives</u>: Marnell Gibson, Luis Schaar, Jacques Chirazi, Brian Schoenfisch, Diane Maglaras.

<u>NOTE</u>: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC Representatives, guest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chair Joe La Cava called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and proceeded with roll call.

## 2. NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT:

Emily Serafy Cox, spoke in favor of the City Propositions B & C.

#### 3. MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Jim Varnadore, City Heights, motion to amend the agenda to add Item#11 "Seating of CPC Officer's" and to move the adornment to Item #12. Seconded by Robert Leif, Southeastern. Motion passed unanimously.

## 4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF APRIL 22, 2014:

Vicki Granowitz, North Park, moved to approve revised minutes. Seconded by Justin Decsare, Tierrasanta. Motion passed 20-0-7. 7 Abstentions: Downtown, Miramar Ranch North, Linda Vista, Rancho Penasquitos, Rancho Bernardo, College and La Jolla.

#### 5. **CPC OFFICER ELECTION:** Action Item

Written ballot's was provided to eligible CPC representatives to vote for CPC Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary.

**6. FY 2015 NEIGHBORHOOD INPUT ON INFRASTRUCTURE:** Information Item Marnell Gibson, Acting Deputy Director, Public Works, and Luis Schaar, Senior Civil Engineer, provided an overview of the responses to the infrastructure needs lists that were submitted by CPC/CPG's last fall.

#### 7. CARSHARE VEHICLE PROGRAM: Information Item

Jacques Chirazi, Planning, Neighborhoods & Economic Development Department, gave an overview of the City's CarShare pilot program and plans to expand citywide.

## 8. <u>CITY PROPOSITIONS B & C:</u> Action Item

Representatives from both side of the issue provided a brief of their positions on the June 3, 2014 ballot measures. For the record Joe LaCava, CPC Chair stepped down during this action item only turning the meeting over to Vice Chair, David Moty.

Item closed with no action.

## 9. ADMINISTRATIVE GUIDELINES AD HOC COMMITTEE: Action Item

Administrative Guidelines Ad-Hoc committee will consist of the following:

Robert Leif, Southeastern Debbie Watkins Mission Beach Bob Crider, Serra Mesa Thomas Clark, Rancho Penasquitos David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge Vicki Granowitz, North Park Lou Dell' Angela, Rancho Bernardo

#### 10. REPORTS TO CPC:

- Staff Report
  - The Community Orientation Workshop (COW) was held on May 17, 2014 and was very successful. Reminder in order to meet the criteria for indemnification a COW or Electronic COW (E-COW) must be completed within 60 days of being elected.
- CPC Appointment Reports:
  - o None
- Subcommittee Reports:
  - o None.

# • Chairperson's Report:

- o Mayor Kevin Faulconer to speak at CPC at his earliest convenience.
- Planning Commission and Park and Recreation Board had a joint workshop about Park equivalency.
- o 600-24 update will be going to the smart growth and land use committee July 30, 2014.
- o Tim Golba is the new Planning Commission Chair.

## 11. SEATING OF CPC OFFICERS

The following newly elected CPC officers were seated:

Chair: Joe LaCava Vice Chair: David Moty Secretary: Jim Varnadore

# 12. ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING, June 24, 2014.

The meeting was adjourned by Chair Joe La Cava at 9.00 pm.