# Community Planners Committee

City Planning & Community Investment ● City of San Diego 202 C Street, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor ● San Diego, CA 92101 CommunityPlannersCommittee@sandiego.gov ● (619) 235-5200

### CPC FINAL MINUTES FOR THE MEETING OF MAY 24, 2011

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Christopher Moore, Carmel Valley Bill Keller, Centre City Jim Varnadore, City Heights Brooke Peterson, Clairemont Mesa Doug Case, College Area Laura Riebau, Eastern Area David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge Joe La Cava, La Jolla Drew Corley, Linda Vista Pat O'Donohoe, Mira Mesa Tracy Reed, Miramar Ranch North Dan Smith, Navajo Jim Baross, Normal Heights
Melanie Nickel, North Bay
Vicki Granowitz, North Park
Mel Ingalls, Otay Mesa
John Kowalski, Rancho Bernardo
Matthew Paredes, San Ysidro
Guy Preuss, Skyline/Paradise Hills
Reynaldo Pisano, Southeastern San Diego
Scott Hasson, Tierrasanta
Dennis Ridz, Torrey Pines
Janay Kruger, University
Leo Wilson, Uptown

**<u>VOTING ELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS</u>**: Ruchelle Alvarez, Greater Golden Hill, and Marla Bell Mission Valley.

**Guests:** Joyce Summers, Russ Connelly, Lee Campbell, plus others.

<u>City Staff/Representatives</u>: Mary Wright, Sherri Lightner, Nika Bukalova and Nicholas O'Donnell.

<u>NOTE</u>: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC Representatives, guest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chair Leo Wilson called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and proceeded with roll call.

#### 2. NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT:

Jim Baross, Normal Heights, offered to attend planning group meetings to present bicycling information.

Joyce Summers updated CPC on CCDC activities.

#### 3. MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Jim Varnadore, City Heights, moved to approve the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

## 4. <u>APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF APRIL 26, 2011</u>:

David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge, asked for the minutes to add the "utility boxes and" to Item 8 in between the word "address" and "the". Motion passed unanimously.

# 5. **CPC OFFICERS ELECTION:** Action Item

Laura Reibau, Eastern Area, chaired this item as a member of the Elections subcommittee.

Chair: Joe LaCava, Leo Wilson

Vice Chair: Joe LaCava, Jon Becker, Dennis Ridz and Landry Watson

Secretary: Jim Baross and Doug Case

The following officers were elected:

Chair: Leo Wilson Vice Chair: Joe LaCava Secretary: Doug Case

# **6. CITY OF SAN DIEGO COMPREHENSIVE WATER POLICY**: Possible Action Item

Councilmember Sherri Lightner gave a presentation on the Comprehensive Water Policy for a Sustainable Water Supply. Joe LaCava, La Jolla, made a motion that CPC supports the preparation of a Comprehensive Policy for a sustainable water supply. Dennis Ridz, Torrey Pines, seconded the motion. The motion passed by a vote of 22-1-1. 1 against Mira Mesa. 1 abstention: Uptown.

# 7. LU&H PRIORITIES AND UPCOMING AGENDA ITEMS: Information Item

Councilmember Sherri Lightner discussed priorities of the Land Use and Housing Committee as well as upcoming agenda items.

#### 8. REPORTS TO CPC:

- Staff Report:
  - The City Planning & Community Investment Department had the annual Community Orientation Workshop (COW) on May 14, 2011, there were 33 people in attendance.
  - The Development Services Department City Planning & Community Investment Department had an CEQA training April 28, 2011, there were 13in attendance.
  - Kelly Broughton, Development Services Director, would like to attend the next CPC meeting to address the City Planning Community Investment and Development Services Departments merger.
- Subcommittee Reports:
  - o None
- Chair Report:
  - o None
- Upcoming Agenda Items
  - o Community Benefit Assessment (CCDC)
  - o Community Parking Districts (July)
  - o Street Lighting Plan
  - o Affordable Housing Parking Study
  - o Boundaries Polices (June)
  - o Affordable Housing Trust Fund (June)
  - Parking Meter
  - o SANDAG 2050 Transportation Plan (June)

CPC Minutes of May 24, 2011 Page 3 of 3

It was moved and seconded to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned by Leo Wilson at  $8:21~\mathrm{pm}$ .