Community Planners Committee

City Planning & Community Investment • City of San Diego 202 C Street, 4th Floor • San Diego, CA 92101 CommunityPlannersCommittee@sandiego.gov • (619) 235-5200

CPC FINAL MINUTES FOR THE MEETING OF JULY 26, 2011

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Russ Connelly, City Heights Doug Case, College Area Laura Riebau, Eastern Area Deryl Williams, Encanto Ruchell Alvarez, Greater Golden Hill David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge Joe La Cava, La Jolla Drew Corley, Linda Vista Pat O'Donohoe, Mira Mesa Tracy Reed, Miramar Ranch North Debbie Watkins, Mission Beach Marla Bell, Mission Valley Dan Smith, Navajo Jim Baross, Normal Heights

Melanie Nickel, North Bay Rene Vidalis, North Park Landry Watson, Ocean Beach Otay Mesa, Mel Ingalls Suhail Khalil, Peninsula John Kowalski, Rancho Bernardo John Becker, Rancho Penasquitos Matthew Paredes, San Ysidro Tamar Silverstein, Scripps Miramar Ranch Guy Preuss, Skyline/Paradise Hills Reynaldo Pisano, Southeastern San Diego Scott Hasson, Tierrasanta Dennis Ridz, Torrey Pines Leo Wilson, Uptown

VOTING ELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS: None.

Guests: Joyce Summers, Kathleen Ferrier, plus others.

City Staff/Representatives: Robert Vacchi, Nancy Bragado, Tom Tomlinson, Dan Joyce, and Diane Maglaras.

<u>NOTE</u>: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC *Representatives, guest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.*

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chair Leo Wilson called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and proceeded with roll call.

2. NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT:

Joyce Summers updated CPC on CCDC activities

3. MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Laura Riebau, Eastern Area, moved to approve the agenda with the change that the Item 5 time be shortened to ¹/₂ hour instead of 1 hour. Motion passed unanimously.

4. <u>APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF JUNE 28, 2011</u>:

David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge, moved to approve the minutes. Motion passed unanimously.

5. <u>SANDAG 2050 REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLAN</u>: Possible Action Item CPC heard an informational presentation from Jim Baross and Kathleen Ferrier on Action Transportation in relation to the 2050 Regional Transportation Plan (RTP). CPC voted to continue the comprehensive discussion to a special meeting in August.

The special meeting, only for the SANDAG 2050 Regional Transportation Plan, will be held on August 23, 2011. CPC will review the draft plan and make recommendations.

6. <u>NEIGHBORHOOD CODE COMPLIANCE:</u> Information Item Bob Vacchi, Deputy Director, Neighborhood Compliance Division, Development Services Department, discussed the Neighborhood Code Compliance process and answered questions.

7. URBAN AGRICULTURE: Information Item

Dan Joyce, Senior Planner, Development Services Department, gave a presentation on urban agriculture and potential regulatory amendments.

Motion by Dennis Ridz, Torrey Pines, to extend the CPC meeting by 15 minutes. Seconded by Joe La Cava, La Jolla. Motion approved unanimously.

8. ORDINANCE AMENDING THE SECTION OF THE SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE RELATING TO THE CITY'S FACILITY BENEFIT ASSESSMENT (FBA) AND DEVELOPMENT IMPACT FEE (DIF) PROVISIONS: Possible Action Item

Tom Tomlinson, Program Manager, Facilities Financing, Development Services Department, gave a presentation on proposed municipal code amendments related to the City's FBA and DIF provisions.

Motion by Tracy Reed, Miramar Ranch North, to recommend the staff report as presented. Seconded by Dennis Ridz, Torrey Pines. The motion passed by a vote of 16-8-2. 8 Against: Mira Mesa, Skyline/Paradise Hills, City Heights, Peninsula, Southeastern San Diego, Encanto, Ocean Beach, Scripps Miramar Ranch. 2 Abstentions: Rancho Bernardo, Uptown.

9. <u>REPORTS TO CPC:</u>

- Staff Report:
 - o None
- Subcommittee Reports:
 - o None
- Chair Report:
 - o None
- Upcoming Agenda Items
 - Community Benefit Assessment (CCDC)
 - Community Parking Districts
 - Street Lighting Plan
 - Boundaries Polices

- Affordable Housing Trust Fund
- Parking Meter
- SANDAG 2050 Transportation Plan (August)

0

It was moved and seconded to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned by Leo Wilson at 9:15 pm.