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It is that time of year again, 

when we re-dedicate ourselves 

to good habits, like exercising 

regularly.  If you are 

considering joining a health 

club, this newsletter provides 

you the information you need to 

know your rights under 

California’s consumer 

protection laws. 

HEALTH STUDIO SERVICES 

LAW: 

 
California has a Health Studio 

Services Law which regulates any 

business that enters into contracts 

with members of the public 

offering the use by an individual of 

facilities for exercising, body 

building or other physical skills.  

Thus, it regulates the traditional 

health clubs as well as specialty 

exercise clubs like boxing or 

martial arts clubs.   

 

No health club contract can require 

payment by the customer of more 

than $4,400 (not including initial 

membership fees, interest, or 

finance charges).  

 

 

CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS: 
 

The main provision of the law is 

that all contracts entered into by 

health clubs with their customers 

must be in writing and a copy of 

the contract must be provided to the 

customer at the time he/she signs it.  

The contract must also contain the 

following provisions: 

 

 The period of time the 

customer is to make 

payments cannot be longer 

than the period of time the 

customer has use of the 

facilities. 

 The length of the term of 

the contract (set forth in 

large type). The term 

cannot be longer than 3 

years. 

  A notice that the 

customer/his estate may 

cancel the contract if he is 

unable to receive the 

services due to death or 

disability or if the 

customer moves further 

than 25 miles from the 

club and is unable to 

transfer the contract to a 

comparable club. 

 

FIVE DAY RIGHT TO RESCIND: 

 
A customer of a health club 

purchasing services  totaling less 

than $1500,  has five business days 

after signing the contract to cancel 

the agreement and receive a pro 

rata  refund within 10 days of the 

health club receiving the notice. 

The club must refund the amount of 

the contract minus the initial 

membership fee and charges for the 

period the club was available for 

use before the cancellation. 

 

If the contract is for more than 

$1500 but less than $2000, the 

customer has a 20 day right to 

rescind the contract.  If the contract 

is for more between $2,001 and 

$2,500, the rescission period is 30 

days.  If the contract exceeds 

$2,501, the customer has 45 

business days to rescind the 

contract.   

 

The amount of the contract is 

determined by including all fees, 

including initial membership fees, 

but does not include interest or 

finance charges. 

 

 The contract must inform the 

customer in boldface type of the 
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right to rescind and the person and 

address that the rescission is to be 

sent to. 

 

If a health club fails to provide a 

customer with this notice or 

provides an incorrect notice, the 

right to rescind continues until the 

health club complies with the 

requirement to correctly notify the 

consumer in writing of the right to 

rescind. 

 

CONTRACTS FOR FUTURE 

CLUB: 
 

If the customer enters into a 

contract to join a club that is not yet 

open, the contract must provide that 

the services will begin within 6 

months after the contract date.  If 

the health club fails to open on 

time, the customer may cancel and 

receive a refund. 

 

The health club must put any 

money it receives for a future 

health club in a trust account and 

cannot withdraw that money until 

five business days after the club has 

opened, except to make refunds to 

anyone who cancels his/her 

contract. 

 

A customer of a future health club 

has the same right to rescind in 5 

business days and must be given a 

full refund of all money paid. 

 

You should take the following 

additional steps to check out a 

health club before joining: 

 

 Visit the club several 

times to observe how 

crowded it is during the 

times you may want to use 

it. 

 Find out if there have been 

consumer complaints filed 

with the San Diego Better 

Business Bureau at 

www.sandiego.bbb.org  

 Speak to others who use 

the club to determine if 

they are satisfied with the 

service. 

 Research how long the 

club has been in business 

and how long it has been 

under the current 

ownership.  The BBB may 

be able to provide this 

information. 

 Search for the business 

name on line and see if 

there are any webpages 

available for people who 

have done business with 

the club to describe their 

satisfaction with the 

business. 

 Make sure the contract 

you sign complies with the 

above requirements. 

 Ask about the age of any 

equipment and how often 

equipment is replaced. 

 Ask about the training and 

credentials of any 

instructors and verify that 

the information you have 

received is correct.   

 Make sure the premises 

are clean and there aren’t 

any obvious health 

hazards. 

 Don’t let anyone rush you 

to make a purchasing 

decision.  

 If you agree to have 

monthly charges 

automatically deducted 

from your checking 

account, be sure you 

understand all the details 

of that agreement.  Ask 

questions of the club and 

your bank if you don’t 

understand the agreement. 

 If you respond to an 

advertisement and the club 

does not honor the 

advertised offer, walk 

away.  All businesses 

must advertise truthfully. 

 

If you observe that a health club 

operator in the City of San Diego is 

violating the law, report your 

findings to the San Diego City 

Attorney’s Office at the number 

below.   

 

If you enter into a contract with a 

health club and the club fails to 

comply with the Health Studio 

Services Law, you have the right to 

sue the club for three times the 

amount of your damages, plus 

attorney’s fees.  You can file an 

action in Small Claims Court on 

your own behalf.  Attorneys cannot 

appear in Small Claims Court.  

This remedy is in addition to 

remedies available if the City 

Attorney’s Office files a case 

against the business for violating 

the law. 

 
 

San Diego  

City Attorney’s Office 

Consumer and Environmental 

Protection Unit 

(619) 533-5600 

 
Newsletter written by Assistant 

City Attorney Tricia Pummill 

   

Sources:  Civil Code sections 

1812.80-1812.98 and Business and 

Professions Code section 17500. 

 

The information provided in this 

newsletter is intended to convey 

general information and is not 

intended to be relied upon as legal 

advice.  

 

To report violations of consumer 

protection laws, call the City 

Attorney’s Hotline at (619) 533-

5600. 
 

http://www.sandiego.bbb.org/

