Community Planners Committee (CPC) Subcommittee Large Retail Development Ordinance Summary of Meetings

The CPC Subcommittee on Large Retail Development met on two consecutive evenings, September 13th and 14th of 2004. The purpose of these meetings was to review the staff recommended Large Retail Development Ordinance and to formulate a recommendation for CPC consideration at their meeting on September 28th, 2004.

Staff presented the components of the draft ordinance in a matrix by comparing proposed regulations against current regulations. The actual draft ordinance was also distributed and available for review. Generally, staff's recommendation included the following requirements:

- 1. A 150,000 square-feet building size limit for large retail establishments in the CC (Commercial--Community) zones, IL-2-1 (Industrial--Light), IL-3-1 (Industrial--Light), and planned districts;
- 2. A requirement for discretionary review (Site Development Permit-Process 4) for large retail buildings 100,000 square feet or greater in the CC zones and planned districts;
- 3. Additional design regulations for all large retail buildings over 50,000 square feet relating to: pedestrian paths, building articulation, building setbacks, and landscaping; and
- 4. Building square-footage bonuses for large retail building developments that incorporate: a public plaza, structured parking or subterranean parking, liner buildings, mixed-use development, or sustainable building measures.

The committee members discussed the proposed requirements and heard testimony from interested parties (Alan Ziegaus representing Wal-Mart, John Ziebarth representing himself, Art Castanares and Alex Benjamin representing the Joint Labor and Management Committee, Matt Peterson representing Costco).

Patrick Stewart made a motion, seconded by Jeff Frederick as follows:

- Approve staff's recommendation with two modifications: 1) eliminate the 150,000 square-feet building size limit and 2) establish discretionary review at 75,000 square feet instead of 100,000 square feet in the CC zones and planned districts.

Vote: 6-1 in favor of the motion.

Subcommittee members attending September 13th meeting: Lee Campbell (Tierrasanta), Jeff Frederick (Rancho Bernardo), Guy Preuss (Skyline-Paradise Hills), Abhay Sharma (La Jolla), Patrick Stewart (Torrey Pines)

Subcommittee members attending September 14th meeting: All of the above plus Carole Caffey (Golden Hill), Allan Frostrom (Kensington-Talmadge)

cac: 9/14/04