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NEW WIRELESS PHONE LAW BEGINS JULY 1
(San Diego) On July 1, 2008 the new wireless phone laws will take effect in California. There
are two laws which address the use of wireless phones while driving. The first law prohibits all
drivers from using a handheid wireless phone while operating a motor vehicle (California
Vehicle Code section 23123). Section 23123 allows motorists 18 and over to use a hands-free
device but Section 23124 says that drivers under the age of 18 may not use a cell phone or
hands-free device while operating a motor vehicle.

The San Diego Police Department will allow a 30-day grace period; thus we will begin Issuing
citations on these violations beginning August 1, 2008.

Additional details about the new laws include:

« Drivers can make emergency calls to emergency service agencies even if they do not
have a2 hands-free device ’ "

s« A minimum fine for the first offense (in San Diego County) is $97 and a second offense
is $211

+ Other law enforcement agencies in our county may or may not exercise a grace period

» These laws apply to anyone driving in the state of California; passengers are not affected
« The speaker function of your wireless phone is acceptable to use as a hands-free device
« Push+o-talk type phones are not acceptable to use under these laws

« ltis acceptable to dial a cell phone but it is not recommended that drivers dial while
driving

« If you are cited for either of these laws, ih}j: violation will appear on your driving record
and remain there for 36 months but a point will not be added to your record
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