Approved

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF AUGUST 3, 2023

Hybrid Meeting/In Council Chambers - 12th Floor City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:06 AM. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 2:36 PM

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Present in Chambers
Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ken Malbrough – Via Virtual/Zoom, Signed off @ 10:55 AM
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Farah Mahzari - Present in Chambers

STAFF:

Lauren Hendrickson, Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers
Heidi Vonblum, Director, Planning Department, Present in Chambers
Tait Galloway, Deputy Director, Planning Department – Present in Chambers
Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Public Comment - None

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

Motion by Commissioner Boomhower to request Item # 3 T-Mobile Trout residence # 694722. Second by Commissioner Modén. Passed by a vote of 7-0-0.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Development Services Department – None Planning Department – None

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: Appeal of Staff Decision on 4/25/2023

735 NAUTILUS STREET - PROJECT NO. 693284

Staff: Xavier Del Valle City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla

<u>Speakers in favor and opposition on the project:</u> Harry Bubbins, Phil Mertz, Stosh Popsewik

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

DENY THE APPEAL AND UPHOLD THE DEVELOPMENT SERVICES
 DEPARTMENT DECISION TO APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2566456.

Second by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Malbrough, Hofman, Mahzari and Modén yea.

Break @ 10:35 am to 10:40 am
Break @ 10:45 am to10:50 am (technical issues w/Commissioner Malbrough)
10:55 am Commissioner Malbrough left the meeting.
Lunch @ 12:35 pm to 1:05 pm

ITEM 2: Continued from June 1, 2023 HOUSING ACTION PACKAGE 2.0

Staff: Jeff Ryan.

City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide

Speakers in favor and opposition on the project:

Ricardo Flores, Jimmy Chen, Miles Williams, Tony Manolotes, Amy Ataei, Maribel Calderón-Olson, Michael Scott, Carol Hackim, Eric Rosenzweig, Ron Askland, Albert Rios, Doug Grosmark, Leslie Sally, Mark Brlei, Mel Mackler, Laura Henson, Lisa Shives, Sharon Kramer, Mary Decker, Lisa Mortensen, Ken Hunrichs, Rose Hogan, Elizabeth Waldschmidt, Michael Philyaw, Christian Tuskes, Amy Reichert, Lauren Haskin, David Moty, Sam Holcomb, Lois Webster, John Shackelford, Kitty Brlei, Matthew Holcomb, Karen Ebner, Wendy Marshall, Susan Pettit, Molly Eckenrod, Bruce Coons, Tom Sims, Jarque Wynn Folten, Julie Corrales, Juan Carlos Lozano, Michael Kozma, Judy Murphy, Lisa Clark, David Swarens, Ginder Weatherford, Peter McKimmin, Kate Callen, Saad Asad, Richard Ni, Dawn Anderson, Henrietta Parnell-Turner, Bill Wilson, Jayce Tuskes, Maureen Gevirtz, Brian Fowler, John White, Helen Rowe Allen, Cindy Scott, Cameron Lindsay-Heweitt, Valerie Jenkins, Julia Efro, Lupe Flores, Nancy Cruz, Ashley Gonzalez, Arnulfo Manriquez, Hannah Gbeh, Paul J. Hartley III, Neal Luscomb, Alex Scheingross, Laura Riebau, David Goldberg, Peggy Gelley, Carle Otterstad, Mike Magers, Brandi Taylor, Scott Harris, Asma Abdi, Glenn Millar, Steve Gilbert, Emily Kamen, Jim Whalen, Brenda Menchaca, Diana Carnahan, John Brady, Lisa Breshears, Marcus Helmer, Christina Hackim Amaral, Geoffrey Hueter, Ron Anderson, Mary Ann Calhoun, Cam Martinez, Katherine Gillcrist, Mickey Fourtenbary, Anthony P. Batakis, Clint Bruce, Leslie Bruce, Deidre MacKenna, Robert Treitler, Yvonne Jones, Mark Munoz, Carol Shear, Matt Corcoran, Marc Curie, Robert Sidner, Robert A. Cigainero, Kenneth Cigainero, Meredith Ford, Robert, Ford, Dory Schretzmann, Mandy Havlik, Andrew Hollingworth, Virgini Wilson, Nicolas Wilson, Ryan Meher, Jamison Ginsberg, Robert LaRose, Camilla Beckett Veltmann, Linda Fitts, Kara Dotter, Paul Krueger, Cindy Yurkovich, Georgia Scheingross, Lisa Jungnitsch, Theresa George, Kelly Davidson, Steven Johnson, Neil Besse, Ellen Pirie, Jennifer wright, Peggy Frye, Nancy Aul, Frances Prichett, Brita Lindastrom, Marie Hunrichs, Elizabeth Chavez Carrasco, Dylan Wilson, Melanie, Cohn, Jaden Ballardo, Troy Murphree, Wendy Gonzalez, Shanelle Adams, Thomas Silva, Barry Pollard, Angie Mascena, Barry Hager, Deborah Quillin, Audrey Jakubowski, Juan Carlos Lozano, Nancy Cruz, Angeli Hoyos, Wes Morgan, Zack Farrell, Jean-Huy Tran, Sharon Gehl, Jordon Latchford, Manny Rodriguez, Kathy McClelland, Nik Hawks, Arlene Margulis, Diane Fitts, Michelle Des Jardins, Janet Hintzman, Jose da Rosa, Vicky Estrella, Terry Singleton, Steve Purugganan, Nicole Lillie, Masaki, Stosh Podeswik.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER HOFMAN TO:

RECOMMEND FORWARDING THE HOUSING ACTION PACKAGE TO THE CITY
COUNCIL WITH A RECOMMENDATION OF APPROVAL WITHOUT THE
INCLUSION OF THE MISSING MIDDLE REGULATIONS, SB 10. HOWEVER, THE
PLANNING COMMISSION WOULD RECOMMEND TO STAFF AND THE
MAYOR'S OFFICE THAT WORKSHOPS BE HELD AT FUTURE PLANNING
COMMISSION HEARINGS TO ADDRESS THE MIDDLE-INCOME GAP WHETHER
IT'S LOOKING AT SB 10, FURTHER ANALYZED. WORKSHOPS WOULD OPEN
THOSE POSSIBILITIES ON HOW WE CAN ADDRESS IT.

Second by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Boomhower, Otsuji, Miyahara, Hofman, Mahzari and Modén yea with Commissioner Malbrough absent.

ITEM 3: T-MOBILE TROUT RESIDENCE (CUP) – PROJECT NO. 694722

Staff: Nilia Safi

City Council District: 9

Plan Area: Mid-City Kensington-Talmadge

<u>Speakers in favor and opposition on the project:</u> Shelly Kilbourn, David Moty

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 2610294

Second by Commissioner Modén. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Otsuji, Miyahara, Malbrough, Hofman, Mahzari, Boomhower and Modén yea.

ITEM 4: ETHIC TRAINING

City Council District: N/A

Plan Area: N/A

<u>Speakers in favor and opposition on the project:</u> None

COMMISSION ACTION:

THE ITEM WAS MOVED TO NOVEMBER 2, 2023. NO VOTE WAS NEEDED.

ADJOURNED @ 2:36 PM