

COMMISSION ON POLICE PRACTICES

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, August 29, 2023 5:30pm

Procopio Tower 525 B St., 1st Floor Conference Room San Diego, CA 92101

Click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnI982TK_wU to view this meeting on YouTube.

Commissioners Present:

Octavio Aguilar
Bonnie Benitez
Alec Beyer
Cheryl Canson
Doug Case
Cheryl Geyerman
Dwayne Harvey
Brandon Hilpert
Darlanne Hoctor Mulmat
Clovis Honore

James Justus
Dennis Larkin
Lupe Lozano-Diaz
Mark Maddox
Nicole Murray-Ramirez
Jaylene Sanchez
Gloria Tran
Dalia Sherlyn Villa De La Cruz

Absent/Excused:

Laila Aziz (Appointee)
Dennis W. Brown (Appointee)
Christina Griffin-Jones (Appointee)
Ramon Montano Marquez (Appointee)
Yvania Rubio (Appointee)

Staff Present:

Sharmaine Moseley, Interim Executive Director Duane Bennett, CPP Outside Counsel (attended virtually) Yasmeen Obeid, Community Engagement Coordinator Alina Conde, Executive Assistant

- I. CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME: Commissioners were sworn in by the City Clerk prior to the meeting being called to order at 5:42pm. Interim Executive Director Sharmaine Moseley called the meeting to order.
- II. ROLL CALL: Executive Assistant Alina Conde conducted the roll call.
- III. WELCOME REMARKS: City of San Diego Council President Pro Tem Monica Montgomery Steppe provided welcoming remarks to the newly appointed Commissioners. (**Time 9:37**)

IV. NON- AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT:

In Person Public Comment

Andrea St. Julian (**Time 16:35**): Attorney within San Diego and principal author of Measure B commented on the responsibilities of the Commission.

Tasha Williamson (**Time 20:18**): Founder/President of Exhaling Injustice commented on a recent incident involving a San Diego Police Department officer.

Colleen Cusack (**Time 23:55**): Criminal Defense Attorney within San Diego commented on accountability for the San Diego Police Department Officers. As well as accountability for officers that are a part of SDPD but do not reside in San Diego. <u>Virtual Public Comment</u>

Kate Yavenditti (**Time 29:46**): Commented on the Commission having meetings in a place that is easily accessible for all participants and the Commission's training program.

Yusuf Miller (**Time 35:06**): Commented on transparency and accountability and made reference to the same recent incident mentioned by Ms. Williamson involving an officer of the San Diego Police Department.

Laila Aziz and Christina Griffin-Jones (**Time 37:30**): Apologized for lack of attendance at the meeting and expressed excitement to serve on the Commission. Francis Yasmeen Motiwala (**Time 39:20**): Extending resources to the Commission on behalf of Activists San Diego and Radio Station KNSJ.

V. INTRODUCTION OF OCPP STAFF & COMMISSIONERS

A. Name, Neighborhood/District, Occupation, Organizational Affiliations & Interest in CPP - The newly appointed Commissioners, staff & interns each provided a brief introduction.

VI. EDUCATIONAL TOPICS

- A. Highlights of the Ralph M. Brown Act (**Time 1:10:35**) Outside Counsel, Duane Bennett highlighted select violations against the Ralph M. Brown Act and the Open Meetings Law as it pertained to the Commission. He noted the importance of not having serial meetings. The Commission will be able to have as many closed session meetings as needed. Teleconferencing is also strictly limited due to the Ralph M. Brown Act and can only happen if there is an emergency circumstance.
 - Lori Saldana (**Time 1:17:20**): Ms. Saldana thanked the Commissioners and expressed appreciation for the upcoming work of the Commission.
- B. Brief History of CPP & Creation of OCPP (**Time 1:23:44**) Commissioner Doug Case provided a brief history of the Commission and creation of the new department that included:
 - The purpose of the Commission
 - Commission Evolution
 - Three forms of Civilian Oversight History
 - San Diego Background
 - Highlights of Measure B
 - Composition of the Commission
 - Accomplishments of the Interim Commission
 - Tasks for the Permanent Commission
- C. Overview of Interim CPP Case Review Process (**Time 1:42:18**) Commissioner Doug Case provided an overview of the case review process used by the interim

CPP that included the complaint process, allegations, team review, and teams' ability to raise issues and concerns.

In Person Public Comment

Tasha Williamson (**Time 1:55:10**): Encouraged the Commission to watch "Sounds of the Police" and to learn more about the history of policing, SB16, and more to know what the Commission is up against.

<u>Virtual Public Comment</u>

Kate Yavenditti (**Time 1:59:38**): Commented on her recommendation to have community involvement in the decision-making process for hiring the Permanent Executive Director and the Deputy Executive Director. Lori Saldana (**Time 2:02:15**): Reminded the Commission to have public comment for each item on the agenda rather than go over two or more items and then have public comment.

Andrea St. Julian (**Time 2:09:17**): Encouraged the newly appointed Commissioners to seek office.

VII. NEW BUSINESS (DISCUSSION/ACTION)

- A. Operational items
 - 1. Consideration of Selection & Election of Temporary Officers
 - 2. Consideration of Selection of Nominating Committee for Election of Officers
 - 3. Consideration of Appointment of Commissioners to Bylaws Committee
 - 4. Consideration of Temporary Bylaws for Approval
- B. Reimaging Commission Case Review & Backlog
 - 1. Investigative Consultant Proposal
- C. Future Dates for Commission Regular Business Meetings
- D. Scheduling of Upcoming Commission Training (Content, Dates, etc.)

 Motion: Commissioner Mark Maddox moved for the Commission to table the New
 Business Items and carry them over to the next meeting on September 9th.

 Commissioner Gloria Tran seconded the motion. The motion passed with a vote of
 18-0-0.

Yays: Commissioner Aguilar, Commissioner Benitez, Commissioner Beyer, Commissioner Canson, Commissioner Case, Commissioner Geyerman, Commissioner Harvey, Commissioner Hilpert, Commissioner Hoctor Mulmat, Commissioner Honore, Commissioner Justus, Commissioner Larkin, Commissioner Lozano-Diaz, Commissioner Maddox, Commissioner Murray-Ramirez, Commissioner Sanchez, Commissioner Tran, Commissioner Villa De La Cruz

Nays: None

Abstained: None

Absent/Excused: None

- VIII. PREPARATION FOR FUTURE MEETINGS: N/A
- IX. ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at 8:01pm.