

Minutes for Meeting of Thursday, June 9, 2022

## Item 1: Call to Order

The Commission Chair called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

#### Item 2: Roll Call

<u>Present</u> – Commission Chair Bill Baber, Commission Vice Chair Caridad Sanchez, and Commissioners Paul Cooper, Tom Hebrank, Jimmie Slack, and Sid Voorakkara

<u>Staff</u> – Executive Director Sharon Spivak, General Counsel Christina Cameron, Education Program Manager Ryan O'Connor, and Investigative Program Manager Kristina Gagné

# Item 3: Proclaiming Continued Need for Virtual Monthly Meetings of the Ethics Commission During COVID-19 Emergency.

Motion: The Ethics Commission will continue to meet virtually as allowed under California Assembly Bill 361, adopting the findings contained in Resolution No. R-314139 and R-314135 adopted by the San Diego City Council on May 24, 2022 and May 31, 2022.

Moved/Seconded: Voorakkara/Cooper Roll Call Vote: Carried Unanimously

# Item 4: Approval of Commission Minutes of May 12, 2022

Motion: Approve Minutes
Moved/Seconded: Cooper/Hebrank
Roll Call Vote: Carried Unanimously

# Item 5: Non-Agenda Public Comment

None

### Item 6: Commissioner Comment

None

## Item 7: Executive Director Comment

The Executive Director thanked Education Program Manager Ryan O'Connor and Investigative Program Manager Kristina Gagné for their work on advice and investigations matters in the busy season leading up to the June 2022 primary election. She noted that a new Legislative Program Manager has been hired and will be joining the staff later this year.

#### Item 8: General Counsel Comment

None

#### Item 9: Election of Ethics Commission Chair and Vice Chair

The Ad Hoc Committee, made up of Commissioner Voorakkara and Commissioner Cooper, met to consider and recommend nominees to serve as the Commission's next Chair and Vice Chair, with a term beginning July 1, 2022. Commissioner Voorakkara announced that the Ad Hoc committee made the following nominations:

Chair: Caridad Sanchez Vice Chair: Paul Cooper

No other candidates were nominated by the Commission.

In introducing the slate, Commissioner Voorakkara, who headed the Ad Hoc Committee and previously served as a Commission Chair, commended Chair Baber for his service and leadership in the past year. He noted that the Commission is an incredibly talented group. He said the proposed officers had the right combination of experience to help guide the organization into the busy November election season.

Motion: Approve Ad Hoc Committee Recommendations

Moved/Seconded: Voorakkara/Baber

Vote: Carried 5-0 Abstained: Hebrank

# Item 10: Adjourn to Closed Session

Commission Chair Baber adjourned the meeting to closed session at approximately 5:10 p.m.

# Reporting Results of Closed Session Meeting of June 9, 2022

The results of the closed session meeting of June 9, 2022 are as follows:

## **Item-1:** Conference with Legal Counsel (1 potential matter)

## Case No. 2022-10 - Disclosure of Economic Interests/Conflict of Interest

Motion: Authorize Investigation

Moved/Seconded: Baber/Hebrank

Vote: Carried Unanimously

# **Item-2:** Conference with Legal Counsel (1 matter)

## Case No. 2022-01 - Disclosure of Economic Interests/Conflict of Interest

Motion: Dismiss

Moved/Seconded: Cooper/Slack

Vote: 5-0 Recused: Baber

# **Item-3:** Conference with Legal Counsel (1 matter)

# Case No. 2022-02 – Lobbying Ordinance

Motion: Dismiss

Moved/Seconded: Slack/Cooper

Vote: 5-0 Recused: Hebrank

# **Item-4:** Conference with Legal Counsel (Anticipated Litigation)

The Commission conferred with legal counsel.

# Adjournment

The meeting concluded at approximately 7:03 p.m.

[REDACTED] [REDACTED]

Bill Baber, Chair Sharon Spivak, Executive Director

Ethics Commission Ethics Commission

THIS INFORMATION WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE IN ALTERNATIVE FORMATS UPON REQUEST.

###