PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF

April 6, 2023

Hybrid Meeting/In Council Chambers - 12th Floor City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 2:05 PM.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Present in Chambers
Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ken Malbrough - Present in Chambers
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers
Vacant

STAFF:

Shannon Eckmeyer, Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers
Tait Galloway, Planning Department – Present in Chambers
Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers Stacie Maxwell, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Mark Wilcox, Katie Poponyak, Kathleen Lippitt, Terri-Ann Skelly, Scott Chipman, Judith Strang, on Public Comment

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Renee Mezo, Development Services Department – None. Tait Galloway, Planning Department – None.

COMMISSION COMMENT

Chair Hofman congratulated San Diego State University Men's Basketball team.

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: Appeal of the Hearing Officer decision of January 25, 2023

* 16375 BERNARDO CENTER DRIVE CANNABIS OUTLET- PROJECT NO. 625766

Staff: Travis Cleveland
City Council District: 5
Plan Area: Rancho Bernardo

Speakers in favor and opposition on the project:

Rob Brienza, Scott Chipman, Kathleen Lippitt, Lori Riordan, Teri-Ann Skelly, Diane Brundage, Doug Brundage, Benjamin Wier, Donald Bertsch, Gary Long, June Smith, Jennifer Rakers Nino, Nancy Turk, Diane Davis, Becky Rapp, Amy Davis, Peggy Walker, Phil Rath, Will Senn, Khoa Nguyen, Scott Bernet, Gina Austin, Brittany Biesterfield, Tamara Leatham-Rozmus, Ashley Molina, Charlie Copelan, Barbara Gordon, Domien Wrap, Kelly McCormick

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIR MODÉN TO:

 DENY THE APPEAL AND AFFIRM THE DECISION OF THE HEARING OFFICER TO APPROVE CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT NO. 2243740.

Second by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-1 with Commissioners Modén, Otsuji, Miyahara, Malbrough, Hofman Yea with Commissioner Boomhower recusing.

ITEM 2: HOUSING ACTION PACKAGE 2.0 - WORKSHOP

Staff: Jeffrey Ryan

City Council District: N/A

Plan Area: N/A

Speakers in favor and opposition:

Wesley Morgan, Paul Krueger, Geoffrey Hueter, Scott Chipman, Danna Givot, Madison Coleman, Sharon Gehl, Cathy Ives, Dante Golden, Sharon Kramer, Pat Sexton, Julie Hamilton, Bruce Coons, Kyle Stevens, Suzanne Baldwin

WORKSHOP WAS GIVEN: NO ACTION WILL BE TAKEN BY THE COMMISSION

Break was taken @ 10:50 AM to 11:00 AM Lunch was taken @ 11:30 AM to 12:00 PM

ADJOURNED @ 2:05 PM