San Diego

Accessibility Tools

  • Check if your spelling is correct, or try removing filters.
  • Remove quotes around phrases to match each word individually: "blue drop" will match less than blue drop.
  • You can require or exclude terms using + and -: big +blue drop will require a match on blue while big blue -drop will exclude results that contain drop.

La Jolla Shores Planned District Advisory Board


Review all applications for permits referred to it including applications for Planned Residential Developments (PRD's) within La Jolla Shores Planned District and to submit its recommendations or comments on these matters in writing within 30 days to Planning Director. Also recommend to Planning Commission any changes to regulations, provided such changes are necessary for proper execution of adopted plan, and to adopt rules of procedure to supplement those contained within this Division. Board shall utilize architectural criteria and design standards adopted by Council in evaluating appropriateness of any development for which a permit is applied under this Division. The Board may adopt rules of procedure to supplement those within the Municipal Code. Four members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business and majority vote; and not less than four affirmative votes shall be necessary to make any Board decision. The Planning Director or his designated representative shall serve as Secretary of the Board and as an ex officio member and maintain records of all official actions of the Review Board. The Secretary shall not be entitled to vote. The Board shall report annually on March 31, or on request, to the Mayor.


Appointed by Mayor and confirmed by Council.


Two year staggered terms and until a successor is appointed and qualified. The expiration date of all terms shall be April 1, however, not more than four terms shall expire in any year. During April of each year, the Mayor may designate one member as Chairperson; however, in the absence of such designation, the Board shall, on or after May 15, select a Chairperson from among its members. Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired term.

Members shall be limited to a maximum of eight (8) consecutive years in office and an interval of four (4) years must pass before such persons can be reappointed.


Seven (7) members. Five (5) members shall be resident property owners of the La Jolla Shores Planned District. One (1) member shall be resident of District but need not own property. One (1) member shall own property in District but need not be a resident. Members shall be residents of the City of San Diego and shall be specifically qualified by reason of interest, training or experience in art, architecture, land development, landscape architecture, planning, urban design, or other relevant business or profession. At least one member of such Board shall be a registered architect in the State of California. Each member is prohibited from engaging in any activity which could result in a conflict of interest and must make an annual statement of financial disclosure.

Governed By

San Diego Municipal Code, PDF icon Chapter 15, Article 10, Section 5, Ordinance PDF icon O-11852, NS. Section PDF icon 42 of City Charter - Membership Selection - added 11-6-1973, effective 12-7-1973. Council Policy PDF icon 000-13 - latest amendment. Resolution PDF icon R-220555, 3-28-1978.

Return to List of Boards & Commissions