San Diego

Accessibility Tools

  • Check if your spelling is correct, or try removing filters.
  • Remove quotes around phrases to match each word individually: "blue drop" will match less than blue drop.
  • You can require or exclude terms using + and -: big +blue drop will require a match on blue while big blue -drop will exclude results that contain drop.

Old Town San Diego Planned District Design Review Board


Advise the Planning Director on architectural design for development projects in compliance with the Planned District regulations and procedures; recommend to the Planning Commission any changes to the development regulations, provided such changes are necessary for the proper execution of the adopted plan; recommend that the Planning Director approve, modify, or disapprove any application for a permit based upon its condition of compliance or noncompliance with the adopted regulations and approved standards and criteria. Board members shall view the site before rendering a decision.

The Board shall submit a report annually on December 1 to the Mayor. The Board may adopt rules of procedure to supplement those set forth in the Ordinance. Four members shall constitute a quorum for transaction of business and a majority vote, and not less than four affirmative votes shall be necessary to make any Board decision. The Planning Director or his designated representative shall serve as Secretary to the Board as an ex officio member, but shall not be entitled to a vote.


Appointed by Mayor, and confirmed by Council.


Four-year staggered terms and until a successor is appointed and qualified. The expiration date of all terms shall be March 1; however, not more than four terms shall expire in any year. During March of each year the Mayor may designate one member as Chairperson; however, in the absence of such designation, the Board shall, on or after April 15, select from among its members a Chairperson. Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired term. A Board member shall be replaced if the member has three unexcused consecutive absences.

Members shall be limited to a maximum of eight (8) consecutive years in office and an interval of four (4) years must pass before such persons can be reappointed.


Seven (7) members. All members shall be electors of San Diego County at time of appointment and during incumbency. They shall be persons specifically qualified by reason of training or experience in history, art, architecture, land development, landscape architecture, tourism, planning or other relevant business or profession to judge the aesthetic effects of a proposed development. Three members shall be property owners in the Old Town San Diego Community Planning area. At least one member shall be a registered architect in the State of California; two members shall be members of the Old Town Community Planning Committee; one member shall be a business licensee, and one member shall be a resident within the Old Town San Diego Community Planning area. Each member is prohibited from engaging in any activity which could result in a conflict of interest and must make an annual statement of financial disclosure.

Governed By

San Diego Municipal Code, Chapter X, Art. 3, Div. 2, Sec. 103.0202.1 - adopted 6-30-1971, (formerly Architectural Control Board - Old San Diego Area. Sec. 101.1003, adopted 9-27-1966, amended 4-21-1970), amended 8-29-1974 by Ordinance PDF icon O-11381; amended 6-15-77 by Ordinance PDF icon O-12088; amended and retitled 7-20-87 by Ordinance PDF icon O-16906(formerly titled OLD SAN DIEGO PLANNED DISTRICT REVIEW BOARD); Section PDF icon 42 of City Charter - Membership Selection - added 11-6-1973, effective 12-7-1973. Council Policy PDF icon 000-13. Resolution PDF icon R-220556, 3-28-1978.


Return to List of Boards & Commissions


You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.