Residential Permit Parking
Residential Permit Parking
In a residential permit parking district, on-street parking is prohibited during certain hours, except for vehicles displaying valid permits, or valid disabled placards. Residential permit parking is authorized by Section 22507 of the California Vehicle Code and Sections 86.2001 through 86.2016 of the San Diego Municipal Code. All residential permit parking areas are enforced throughout the entire year except City observed holidays. Please see the table below for the enforcement details by area:
|Area A - Hillcrest||Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.|
|Area B - SDSU/College Area||Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.|
|Area D - Logan Heights||Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.|
|Area E - Mesa College||Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.|
|Area F - El Cortez/Downtown San Diego||Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.|
Residential permit parking removes non-residents from the competition for on-street parking. It is intended for residential areas that are severely impacted by all-day commuter parking generated by a nearby facility or institution. Areas that are impacted by heavy demand for on-street parking by residents are not candidates for residential permit parking. This program does not reserve specific on-street parking for individuals.
Vehicles not displaying a valid permit will be issued a parking citation.
- Permit Fees
- Required Documentation for Permits
- Non-resident Property Owners & Commercial Properties
- Number of Permits Allowed
- Residential Permit types
As of July 1, 2015, permit fees increased to $15 annually and $14 for permits purchased in the last six months of the permit year.
The annual cost of each permit is $15. For permits purchased in the last six months of the permit year the cost is $14. Temporary permits which are valid for two weeks are available to Residential Permit holders for $13 each. All fees are non-refundable. All delinquent parking citations must be paid before a permit is issued.
Required Documentation for Permits
Valid Driver's License
Required even if it does not show qualifying address. A driver's license is not necessary when applying for visitor placard only, unless it is being used as proof of residency showing qualifying address.
Recently Purchased Vehicles
Can be issued a decal by submitting a copy of the Purchase Agreement/Contract in place of the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) registration card. A permit will be issued to the last four digits of the vehicle identification number when the new license plate number is not yet available. The permit will not be replaced even after receiving the new license plates from DMV and will remain valid until the end of the permit year.
Proof of Residency, Tenancy or Property Ownership
Is necessary when your vehicle registration or driver's license does not reflect the qualifying address. You will be required to provide copies of two of the following documents showing applicants name, and qualifying address:
- A current utility bill (for example: gas and electric, phone, or water bill).
- A property deed or tax bill or closing escrow statement (for recently purchased property or when applicant is a non-resident property owner).
- A rental/lease agreement for qualifying address. Agreement must reflect qualifying address, tenants name(s) and signatures of both the landlord/agent and the tenant/applicant.
Note: Law requires all licensed drivers and all registered vehicle owners to notify DMV of change of address within 10 days of moving.
Non-resident Property Owners & Commercial Properties
With proof of property ownership, non-resident property owners are allowed a maximum of one permit per qualifying address. Permits issued to non-resident property owners are included in the count of maximum permits per address. For more details on the maximum number of permits allowed by address, please see below.
Business owners of commercial properties are allowed a maximum of one permit per qualifying address.
Number of Permits Allowed
A maximum of four (4) permits are allowed per qualifying address. This may consist of three decals and one visitor permit, or four decals. A maximum of one visitor permit per address is allowed for all areas excluding Area E. Per City Council resolution Area E residents may request up to three decals and two visitor permits, four decals and one visitor permit, or five decals and no visitor permit.
Residential Permit types
This permit is issued to a specific vehicle license plate and must be permanently affixed on the driver's side of the vehicle. The permit can be placed on the rear bumper, or outside rear window. The permit is not valid unless it matches your license plate number. Please report any errors by calling us at (619) 744-1710.
An optional placard that is displayed on the dashboard of a vehicle is also available and does not require applicant to have a driver's license. There is a limit to one per qualifying address (excluding Area E). This permit is valid only when displayed within the same block as the address noted on the placard excluding Area F.
Residents, non-resident property owners, and commercial property tenants may obtain two-week temporary permits throughout the year. Each permit is issued to the qualifying address at the cost of $13 each.
There is a $14 replacement fee for lost or stolen permits, those left on vehicles that have been sold, or residents that have purchased a new vehicle.