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DUI/Driver’s License Checkpoint Planned this Saturday 
 

San Diego – The San Diego Police Department Traffic Division will be conducting a DUI/Driver’s 
License Checkpoint on Saturday, September 22, 2021 at an undisclosed location within the City 
limits between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 3:00 a.m.    

In recent years, California has seen a disturbing increase in drug-impaired driving crashes.  San 
Diego supports the new effort from the Office of Traffic Safety that aims to educate all drivers 
that “DUI Doesn’t Just Mean Booze.”  If you take prescription drugs, particularly those with a 
driving or operating machinery warning on the label, you might be impaired enough to get a 
DUI.  Marijuana can also be impairing, especially in combination with alcohol or other drugs, and 
can result in a DUI. 

The deterrent effect of High Visibility Enforcement using both DUI checkpoints and DUI 
Saturation Patrols has proven to lower the number of persons killed and injured in alcohol or 
drug impaired crashes.  Research shows that crashes involving an impaired driver can be reduced 
by up to 20 percent when well-publicized proactive DUI operations are conducted routinely.  

DUI Checkpoints like this one are placed in locations based on collision statistics and frequency of 
DUI arrests, affording the greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving 
deterrence.  Locations are chosen with safety considerations for the officers and the public.    

In California, alcohol involved collisions led to 1,069 deaths in 2018 and 18,568 injury collisions 
in 2017, because someone failed to designate a sober driver. 

Officers will be looking for signs of alcohol and/or drug impairment, with officers checking 
drivers for proper licensing, delaying motorists only momentarily.  When possible, specially 
trained officers will be available to evaluate those suspected of drug-impaired driving, which now 
accounts for a growing number of impaired driving crashes.   

Studies of California drivers have shown that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or 
more drugs in their systems.  A study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that 
may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent).  Of the drugs, marijuana was 
most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol. Everyone should be mindful that if 
you’re taking medication whether prescription or over-the-counter, drinking even small 
amounts of alcohol can greatly intensify the impairment affects.   

mailto:aobregon@pd.sandiego.gov


 

 

Drivers are encouraged to download the Designated Driver VIP, or “DDVIP,” free mobile app for 
Android or iPhone.  The DDVIP app helps find nearby bars and restaurants that feature free 
incentives for the designated sober driver, from free non-alcoholic drinks to free appetizers and 
more.  The feature packed app even has social media tie-ins and even a tab for the non-DD to call 
Uber, Lyft or Curb. 

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines, 
fees, DUI classes, license suspensions and other expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention 
the embarrassment when friends and family find out. 

Funding for this checkpoint is provided to the San Diego Police Department by a grant from the 
California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 
reminding everyone to ‘Report Drunk Driver – Call 9-1-1’.  
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