La Jolla Community Planning Association

Regular Meetings: 1st Thursday of the Month | La Jolla Recreation Center, 615 Prospect Street

Contact Us: Mail: PO Box 889, La Jolla, CA 92038 Web: www.lajollacpa.org Voicemail: 858.456.7900 email: info@lajollacpa.org President: Bob Steck Vice President: Helen Boyden 2nd Vice President: Brian Will Secretary:

MINUTES

Special Meeting | Thursday, 28 March 2019, 5:30 pm | *La Jolla Recreation Center, 615 Prospect Street*

1.0 Welcome and Call to Order: Bob Steck, President *Please turn off or silence mobile devices Meeting is being recorded* Meeting called to order at 5:35 PM

2.0 Verify Quorum (Need Quorum of 2018-2019 Trustees –at least 9 trustees must attend)

Present: Steck, Boyden, Kane, Gordon, Courtney, Ahern, Weissman, Brady, Little, Costello Absent: Will, Rasmussen, Mangano, Weiss, Merten, Shannon

3.0 Adopt the Agenda

Motion: (Gordon/Courtney) In Favor: Boyden, Kane, Gordon, Courtney, Ahern, Weissman, Brady, Little, Costello Opposed: none Abstain: Steck Motion Carries: 9-0-1

4.0 City of San Diego CommunityPlanner: MarlonPangilinan, mpangilinan@sandiego.gov

Last meeting after election we did not provide the results; we needed city attorney's direction to proceed. During election we discovered 2 questionable votes were included. LJCPA President, VP, election subcommittee members in consultation with planning dept staff determined that the election should be allowed to continue. However should election results result in tie votes, the City Attorney's office would be informed and consulted prior to announcement of election results. The City Attorney was consulted and the response stated that the questionable votes may or may not have been a factor in the tie votes. The City Attorney's options provided were:

- 1. Use tie breaker procedure in bylaws: LJCPA bylaws do have provision for breaking ties which was not identified at March meeting, Article V, Sec. 5E, which states in the event of a tie vote a coin toss will determine winner with candidates having the opportunity to be present.
- 2. Redo election.

Based on advice received tie breaker procedure will be followed.

5.0 Announce the results of the March 7, 2019 Trustee Election and execute the tie breakers.

Challenges to the results may be directed to the Election Committee Chair Patrick Ahern at <u>aherngroup@gmail.com</u> They may also be delivered to him in person or presented prior to 5:30PM April 4, 2019 at the regular meeting of the LJCPA.

First tie between Tony Crisafi and Jim Fitzgerald, 40 votes each. One will get 2 year term, one will get 1 year term. Crisafi, heads, Fitzgerald, tails. Toss by Ahern (coin verified) was tails so Fitzgerald gets 2 year term, Crisafi, 1 year term.

Second tie: John Fremding, Eamon Callahan, Greg Jackson, 39 votes each, 2 will have 1 year term, one will *sit on bench*. The coin toss gave Fremding and Jackson a 1 year term, Callahan not seated.

Election Results: 10 Trustees elected:

| Glen Rasmussen Dave Ish | 3 year term 3 year term |
|----------------------------|----------------------------|
| Mike Costello | 3 year term |
| Nancy Manno | 3 year term |
| Kathleen Neil | 3 year term |
| Dan Courtney | 3 year term |
| Jim Fitzgerald | 2 year term |
| Tony Crisafi | 1 year term |
| John Fremding | 1 year term |
| Greg Jackson | 1 year term |

Boyden: The 10 people elected will be seated at the next meeting, April 4, 6 pm. Officers will be elected at the next meeting. Anyone who hasn't been a trustee before, in order to be indemnified by city needs to take the Community Orientation Workshop (COW) within 60 days of election.

Schedules for the Workshops and E-COW workshops can be found at SanDiego.gov under the Planning Department.

6.0 Non-Agenda Public Comment: Issues not on the agenda and within CPA jurisdiction, two (2) minutes or less.

James LaMattery: Real estate broker and part time community activist.

He is working with Bay Park to protect our 30 ft. height limit. He distributed a handout showing bills in question, a map showing transit priority areas and how to get more information. SB 330 now moving through the senate will remove all Coastal Act and prop D restrictions and take power away from local planning groups. They want to build density. Sandag has already designated Transit Priority Areas -- yellow areas on handout – where parking and height limits will be affected. The smart growth map was for a plan that was to go to 2050. This bill is named the Housing Crisis Act of 2019. It would suspend height limits under Prop D, originally from the 70's, immediately until 2030. Organized opposition to the bill has formed. He will be holding meetings in LJ and up the coast to get many homeowners involved. See <u>www.raisetheballoon.org</u> for information.

Boyden: Are they abolishing planning groups?

- SB 50 and 330 will limit control of height limits and density
- SB 50 sponsored by Senator Weiner, SB 330 by Senator Skinner.
- 7.0 Adjourn meeting. 5:50 pm