

The City of San Diego

MEMORANDUM

DATE:	February 13, 2019
TO:	Distribution
FROM:	James Nagelvoort, City Engineer
SUBJECT:	Adoption of Engineering and Construction Standards

As of February 13, 2019, the City of San Diego will adopt updated editions of engineering and construction related standards. City standards apply to all work within City's Right-of-Way (ROW). California Department of Transportation (CALTRANS) Standard Specifications and Plans apply to all work within the jurisdiction of CALTRANS ROW. Within City ROW, City standards shall take precedence. Construction plans and references to the standards and publications in the City's Contract Documents shall conform to the following:

Item	Title	Edition	Document Number
1	CALTRANS Standard Specifications – http://www.dot.ca.gov/des/oe/construction-contract- standards.html	2018	PWPI030119-05
2	CALTRANS Standard Plans – http://www.dot.ca.gov/des/oe/construction-contract- standards.html	2018	PWPI030119-06
3	California Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices Revision 3 (CA MUTCD Rev 3) – http://www.dot.ca.gov/trafficops/camutcd/	2014	PWPI030119-07

Effective February 13, 2019, all Contract Documents must reflect the new standards. Please notify your Project Managers, designers, consultants, and maintenance and operation crews. If you need additional information, please contact Catherine Dungca at 619–533–3778 or cdungca@sandiego.gov.

James Nagelvoort, P.E. City Engineer Page 2 Distribution February 13, 2019

Kris Michell, Chief Operating Officer cc: Honorable Mara Elliott, City Attorney Stacey LoMedico, Assistant Chief Operating Officer Ron Villa, Assistant Chief Operating Officer Colin Stowell, Fire Chief, San Diego Fire & Rescue Department Johnnie Perkins, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, Infrastructure/Public Works Robert Vacchi, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, Neighborhood Services Erik Caldwell, Interim Deputy Chief Operating Officer, Smart and Sustainable Communities Mike Hansen, Director, Planning Department Bahija Humphrey, Director, Performance and Analytics Department Misty Jones, Director, Library Department Elyse Lowe, Director, Development Services Department Kris McFadden, Director, Transportation & Storm Water Department Lydia Moreno, Acting Director, Economic Development Department Herman Parker, Director, Parks & Recreation Department Mario X. Sierra, Director, Environmental Services Department Cybele Thompson, Director, Real Estate Assets Department Matt Vespi, Interim Director, Public Utilities Department Tom Tomlinson, Assistant Director, Planning Department Lydia Moreno, Acting Director, Economic Development Department Lee Friedman, Infrastructure Policy Manager, Office of the Mayor Myrna Dayton, Assistant Director & Chief Deputy City Engineer, Public Works Department Thyme Curtis, Executive Director, ADA Compliance & Accessibility Department Jonathan Glus, Executive Director, Commission for Arts & Culture **Deputy City Engineers** Daniel Kay, Principal Engineer, Civic San Diego