2020 Redistricting Commission Appointing Authority

Honorable Louisa Porter – U.S. Magistrate Judge, Southern District, California Honorable Margaret Johnson - Santa Clara Superior Court Honorable Jan Goldsmith - San Diego Superior Court

Honorable Jack Komar (alternate) - Santa Clara Superior Court

Per San Diego Municipal Code Section 27.1402, Appointing Authority: The Appointing Authority for members of the Redistricting Commission shall be constituted as set forth in Charter Section 5.1*. The Clerk shall conduct a random drawing from the names of judicial applicants submitted through outreach efforts conducted by the City Attorney's Office.

*Charter Section 5.1: The Redistricting Commission shall be composed of nine members who shall be appointed by a panel of three retired judges who served in any of the following courts: the Superior Court of the State of California, an appellate court of the State of California, or a U.S. District Court located within California. Names of the retired judges willing to serve will be submitted to the City Clerk and drawn at random by the City Clerk, using procedures for judicial nominees and appointees as set forth in the San Diego Municipal Code. The City Clerk shall also draw at random the name of one additional retired judge to be designated as an alternate, who will be appointed to serve on the panel if another member is unable or unwilling to serve. The term "Appointing Authority," as used herein below, shall refer to the panel of retired judges acting to appoint the Redistricting Commission pursuant to the provisions of this paragraph.