

# **Redistricting Commission**

Record of Action | Virtual Meeting (Zoom Webinar) Thursday, December 16, 2021 | 3:00 p.m.

This meeting aired live on the City's Zoom Webinar platform.

# **Commissioners Present**

Val Hoy
Fred Kosmo
Roy MacPhail
Kenneth Malbrough
Alan Nevin
Justine Nielsen
Monica Hernandez
Thomas Hebrank
Kristen Roberts

<u>City Staff Present</u>
Kathy Steinman, Deputy City Attorney
Lora Fleming, Redistricting Commission Chief of Staff

#### Commissioner Roll Call

- Redistricting Commission Chair Hebrank called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m. and the roll
  was called to confirm Commission member attendance.
  - Present: Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Justine Nielsen, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank, Kristen Roberts;
  - Not Present: Val Hoy (joined the meeting during non-agenda public comment)

#### Non-Agenda Public Comment

- Approximately 358 written comments were submitted since the last monthly meeting and were posted on the website and distributed to the Commissioners.
- Three speakers provided public comment during Non-Agenda Public Comment:

Name:	Organization:	District or Community:	Non Agenda or Agenda Item:	Comment Summary:
Julie Hamilton	Representing Mitz Lee		Non-Agenda	Spoke on behalf of former Redistricting Commissioner Mitz Lee. Requesting reforms that would require participants to state who they are representing and paid by. Reforms would also set up a formal complaint process against any commissioner.
Sherri Lightner			Non-Agenda	Before the 2030 Redistricting process, the City should act to implement reforms to ensure that the next redistricting is transparent and dedicated to the residents. It must not be influenced by unfettered development interests.
Janie Emerson		La Jolla	Non-Agenda	Thanked commissioners for their service. Echoed the comments of Sherri Lightner. Expressed frustration with mapping tool and consultant.

## Item 1- Chair's Report

- Discussed the 2020/2021 redistricting cycle and the challenges associated with the Covid pandemic. Lora Fleming introduced the Commission interns, Teannae Owens and Justin Wilson, who spoke about their experiences. Called on Commissioner MacPhail who acknowledged the City IT Department (specifically Deena Bowmen and Scott Daeschner) and HaystaqDNA (specifically Andrew Drechsler, Sivan Tratt and Brad Wieneke). Called on Vice Chair Malbrough who acknowledged the Appointing Authority, City Clerk, City Attorney's Office, and Interim Chief of Staff Angela Wells. Chair Hebrank recognized each commissioner for their time, dedication and expertise. Special recognition was given to Commissioner MacPhail, Vice Chair Malbrough, and Lora Fleming.
- One speaker provided public comment for Item 1:

			Non Agenda or Agenda	
Name:	Organization:	<b>District or Community:</b>	Item:	Comment Summary:
				Thanked Commission for their work.
				Thanked Commissioner Val Hoy for
				bringing up Old Town in the Dec. 15
Patty Ducey Brooks		Old Town	Item 1	special meeting.

### Item 2- Commissioner Comment

- Commissioner Hernandez thanked the commissioners and enjoyed working with everyone. Also thanked the public for their participation throughout the process.
- Commissioner Kosmo thanked the public for their involvement and input. Really enjoyed working with the commissioners and looks forward to eventually meeting everyone in person. Specifically acknowledged Chair Hebrank, Vice Chair Malbrough, Commissioner MacPhail, Commissioner Hoy and Lora Fleming.

- Commissioner MacPhail thanked Lora Fleming for her hard work and her support. Stated that
  it's important for the 2030 Commission to have another staff member to assist the chief of staff
  with the significant workload.
- Commissioner Nevin commented on the process and numbers which went together extremely well.
- Commissioner Hoy commented on the final map and importance of compromise in the process. Also thanked Lora Fleming for her efforts. Discussed incivility in this redistricting cycle.

#### Item 3- Chief of Staff Comment

- On December 15, 2021, the Commission voted 7-2 to accept a final map and plan which was forwarded to the City Clerk the following day.
- Ms. Fleming will begin drafting the Commissions' recommendations for the 2030 Redistricting Commission. Commissioners were encouraged to send her their recommendations to be included in the document.
- At the January 20, 2022 monthly meeting, the Commission will be voting on the 2030 recommendations, approving today's meeting minutes, and potentially voting to dissolve the Commission until the next federal census takes place.
- Ms. Fleming thanked interns Teannae Owens and Justin Wilson for their hard work and great attitudes. She also thanked the commissioners for the honor to serve as their chief of staff.

# Item 4- City Attorney's Office Comment

Deputy City Attorney Kathy Steinman thanked the Commission for their hard work and dedication throughout the redistricting process. Also thanked outside legal counsel Craig Steele, former Deputy City Attorney Jennifer Berry and Lora Fleming.

## Item 5- Approve Record of Action for November 18, 2021 Meeting

- ACTION: Vice Chair Malbrough made a motion to approve the Record of Action for November 18, 2021. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hernandez and approved 9-0 by the Commission members by a roll call vote.
  - Yea: Val Hoy, Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Justine Nielsen, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank, Kristen Roberts:
  - Nay: (None);
  - Recused: (None);
  - Not Present: (None).

Item 6- Approve Record of Action for the Special District Meetings of November 13, November 16, November 23, December 1, December 7 and December 9, 2021

ACTION: Commissioner Hoy made a motion to approve the Records of Action of November 13, November 16, November 23, December 1, December 7, and December 9, 2021. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nevin and approved 9-0 by the Commission members by a roll call vote.

- Yea: Val Hoy, Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Justine Nielsen, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank, Kristen Roberts;
- Nay: (None);
- Recused: (None);
- Not Present: (None).

Item 7- Discuss Assembly Bill 361 and Approve Extending Virtual Commission Meetings for 30 Days

ACTION: Commissioner Hernandez made a motion to adopt the findings that the state of emergency due to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to directly impact the ability of commissioners to meet safely in person and to continue meeting via teleconference pursuant to AB 361 based on the data and information presented which includes data from the County of San Diego regarding transmission rates, hospitalizations, and that many of the zones in the region are either areas of substantial or high transmission. The motion was seconded by Commissioner MacPhail and approved 9-0 by the Commission members by a roll call vote.

- Yea: Val Hoy, Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Justine Nielsen, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank, Kristen Roberts;
- Nay: (None);
- Recused: (None);
- Not Present: (None).

### Item 8- Adjournment

• Chair Hebrank adjourned the meeting at 3:49 p.m. until the final monthly meeting at 3:00 p.m. on January 20, 2021.