

COUNCILMEMBER STEPHEN WHITBURN THIRD COUNCIL DISTRICT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: November 18, 2022

TO: Jorge Riveros, Transportation Director

FROM: Councilmember Stephen Whitburn

SUBJECT: Safe Streets for San Diego

In October 2015, the City of San Diego joined a growing list of cities around the United States and the world to become a Vision Zero City. San Diego recognized that solutions exist to prevent serious injury crashes and fatalities. Preventing death and severe injuries requires a commitment to rethink priorities and redesign safety in the transportation system.

Style Whithen

Slowing cars down saves lives. The faster a vehicle goes, the chances of survival in a car crash decrease tremendously, especially for vulnerable road users such as pedestrians, bicyclists, seniors, and children. According to The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, a person struck by a vehicle going 20 miles per hour (mph) has a 5 percent chance of dying. That number goes up to 40% for vehicles going 30 mph, and 80% for vehicles going 40 mph.

In October 2021, Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB 43 (Friedman) into law. This bill allows cities to consider the safety of vulnerable road users and its Vision Zero goals when setting speed limits on streets with a history of collisions, with special attention to places where people are more likely to walk and bike.

I respectfully request the City of San Diego Transportation Department to use AB 43 to develop a list of streets recommended for speed limit reduction with priority given to streets with a history of fatal and severe injury collisions.

I also ask that the San Diego Transportation Department conduct an outreach effort to hear directly from community members regarding suggestions for speed limit reductions. Community members often know their streets better than anyone because they experience those streets daily.

Thank you. I appreciate your work to improve safety on our streets.

cc: Honorable Mayor Todd Gloria Honorable City Attorney Mara Elliott Honorable Council President Sean Elo-Rivera Honorable Council President Pro Tem Monica Montgomery-Steppe Honorable Councilmember Joe Lacava Honorable Councilmember Jen Campbell Honorable Councilmember Marni Von Wilpert Honorable Councilmember Chris Cate Honorable Councilmember Raul Campillo Honorable Councilmember Vivian Moreno