



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 14, 2023

CONTACT: Chris Chan <u>chancn@sandiego.gov</u>

Update on Commission on Police Practices

SAN DIEGO – The Office of Council President Sean Elo-Rivera is providing an update on the formation of the Commission on Police Practices.

After a thorough review, the following appointees meet the member qualifications in the San Diego Municipal Code to serve on the Commission on Police practices:

For the At-Large Category:

- Cheryl Canson
- Christina Griffin-Jones
- Clovis Honore
- Gloria Tran
- Laila Aziz
- Maria Guadalupe Lozano-Diaz
- Yvania Rubio

For the Council District 1 seat:

• Darlanne Mulmat

For the Council District 2 seat:

• Alec Beyer

For the Council District 3 seat:

• Brandon Hilpert

For the Council District 4 seat:

• Dwayne Harvey

For the Council District 5 seat:

• Octavio Aguilar

For the Council District 6 seat:

• Cheryl Ann Geyerman

For the Council District 7 seat:

• Dr. Dennis Brown

For the Council District 8 seat:

• James Justus

For the Council District 9 seat:

• Ramon Montano-Marquez

For the Low-to-Moderate Income Category:

- Bonnie Benitez
- Dennis Larken
- Douglas Case
- Mark Maddox
- Nicole Murray Ramirez

For the Youth Category:

- Dalia Sherlyn Villa De La Cruz
- Jaylene Vazquez

Appointed commissioners will be sworn in on August 29th. (???)

There will be two vacancies remaining upon the seating of the aforementioned appointees. Nominations for those two seats will be accepted for consideration in the fall. The Council will also invite nominations of volunteers to join a pool of candidates to be available in the event that appointees are no longer able to serve for any reason.

"These appointees launch an unprecedented commission with the great responsibility of carrying out the will of the voters of San Diego by holding police accountable in their interacations with San Diego residents," said Council President Sean Elo-Rivera. "I am deeply grateful to this group of volunteers who have answered the call to serve their city."

Once the appointed commissioners are sworn in, the interim commission will dissolve. Investigators will remain on staff to continue investigative work on pending cases (???). The new commission will have the ability to begin analyzing cases once training is complete and policies and procedures are established. The new Commission on Police Practices will stand as an independent group separate from the City Council, only requiring the City Council's assistance for appointments and reappointments.

--- Expiration of cases during transition???

Due to challenges with maintaining the interim commission and length of time needed to establish the Commission on Police Practices, some cases under review may extend beyond the (time limit for review).

"While we are unable to revisit those cases, I hope those affected will find comfort in the fact that our cith has established a commission which has unprecedented ability to investigate cases and hold police accountable for wrongdoing in the future," said Council President Elo-Rivera.

Council President Elo-Rivera represents San Diego's Ninth Council District including communities of City Heights, College Area, El Cerrito, Kensington, Mission Valley East, Mountain View, Mt. Hope, Normal Heights, Rolando Village, Rolando Park, Stockton and Talmadge. He is the Chair of the Rules Committee and serving his second term as San Diego City Council President.

###