Final

PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF December 7, 2023 Hybrid Meeting/In Council Chambers – 12th Floor City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 1:09 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair William Hofman – Present in Chambers Vice-Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers Commissioner Ken Malbrough – Present in Chambers Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present in Chambers Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers Commissioner Farah Mahzari – Present in Chambers (Left @ 11:45)

STAFF:

Corrine Neuffer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers Kelly Stanco, Deputy Director, Planning Department – Present in Chambers Renee Mezo, Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers Sabrina Custer, Legislative Recorder, Development Services Department - Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN N/A

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA N/A

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Renee Mezo, Development Services Department – None

Kelly Stanco, City Planning Department – Housing 2.0 will be going to the City Council on December 12th, and on December 13th, the Housing Report on Homes and the bi-annual Housing Element Report will be presented to the City Council as an informational item.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: DE ANZA AMENDMENT TO THE MISSION BAY PARK MASTER PLAN

Staff: Scott Sandel/Kelly Stanco **City Council District:** 2 **Plan Area:** Mission Bay Regional Park

Speakers in favor and opposition of the project:

Tommy Hough, Christie Dunning, Lisa Ross, Jeryl Cordell, Lesley Handa, Barry Homer, Chuck Dunning, Rebecca Schwartz Lesberg, Donald Wood, Isabelle Kay, Vi Nguyen, Phillip Musegaas, Ansermio Jake Estrada, Charles Rilli, Eric Lopez, Bob Turnier, Dallas Bullock, Jim McCoy, Jill McGrady, Patrick MacPherson, Amy McCoy, Also Maciel, Ian Adams, Glenn Gentile, Chris Wahl, Kevin Ramirez, Slater Schwab, Christina Viernes, Steele Young, Brian Niznik, John Tefft, Lefty Churchill, Steve Mutt, Marty Coyne, Ahmed Ait-Lahcen, Serena Rodriguez, Connie Jenson, Ronie Hern, Travis Ford, Sean Schwab, Thom Martin, Larry Bennett, Paula Goleta, Dina Vanguardia, Jackie Niznik, Jacob Gelfand, Shelby Stegall, Hunter pies, Kendra Walton, Noah Hoch, Sara Ochoa, Jeanne Dudley, Robert Dudley, Jesse Jenson, Tiffany Gamache, Jim Whalen, Al Toschi, Carly Chance, Greg Shaw, Julis D., James Larson, Marcela Terr, Scott Chipman, Barbara Williams, Sarah Chipman, Alex Chipman, Ellie Fellers, Peggy Walker, Kathy Lippitt, Kurt Carlson, Justin Daniel, Pamela Heatherington, John Heatherington, Lesly Gallegos, Karim Rhodes, Linda Pratt, Aaron Quesnell, Crystal Carraw, George Heatherington, David Walker, Karin Zirk, Sonia Diaz, Karina Ornelas, Christopher Tinoco, Deborah Knight, Jeff Johnson, Kim Miller, Rene Smith, Jo Rumble, Ashley, Jan Yerzik, Jim Peugh, Liz Barnes, Craig Kessler, Kevin Fitzgerald, Marcella Bothwell, Liz Garcia, Andrew Meyer, Edie Munk, Peter Ward, Erika Engle,

Virginia Howlett, Anita Eng, Carolyn Lieberman, Dan McKernan, Muriel Spooner, Frances Chaisson-Damon, Jill Morris.

A break was taken from 10:28 to 10:35 Lunch Break from 11:45 to 12:30

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MALBROUGH TO:

- RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL CERTIFICATION OF THE MISSION BAY PARK MASTER PLAN - DE ANZA NATURAL AMENDMENT PROGRAMMATIC ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT (SCH #2018061024) AND ADOPTION OF THE MITIGATION AND MONITORING REPORTING PROGRAM FOR THE DE ANZA NATURAL AMENDMENT TO THE MISSION BAY PARK MASTER PLAN.
- RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVAL OF THE DE ANZA NATURAL AMENDMENT TO THE MISSION BAY PARK MASTER PLAN.
- ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION TO HAVE STAFF AND THE CITY ATTORNEY LOOK AT SOME POLICY TO ADDRESS THE TENANTS

Second by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Boomhower, Malbrough, Miyahara, Hofman, Otsuji and Modén yea with Commissioner Mahzari absent.

ADJOURNED @ 1:09 PM