TRAINING BULLETIN

A PUBLICATION OF THE SAN DIEGO POLICE DEPARTMENT

DAVID NISLEIT CHIEF OF POLICE

TB 23-19

DECEMBER 31, 2023

NEW LAWS FOR 2024

I. PURPOSE

This training bulletin is provided to provide personnel with upcoming law changes starting January 1, 2024.

II. <u>SCOPE</u>

This Training Bulletin applies to all Department personnel.

V. <u>PROCEDURES</u>

- A. Several changes have been signed into law and will go into effect on January 1, 2024. Department Orders 23-26 and 23-27 were issued on December 29, 2023, to provide direction on two very important legal updates regarding Excited Delirium and Traffic Stops. The following laws are further changes brought forth by the California Legislature and are provided for personnel to become familiar with before any enforcement.
- B. Department personnel shall read and understand these laws before conducting enforcement. The various laws are synopsized and the link to the California Legislature's updates are listed below:
 - 1. **Registration Verification Before Impound**

Effective January 1, 2024, California Vehicle Code 22651 will require a peace officer or a regularly employed and salaried employee who is engaged in directing traffic or enforcing parking laws and regulations to verify, using available Department of Motor Vehicles records, that no current registration exists for a vehicle before removing the vehicle. The bill prohibits a vehicle from being removed if it has a current registration on file with the department or if the officer or employee does not have immediate access to the department's records.

AB-925 Vehicle removal: expired registration. (ca.gov)

2. Parking Violation Enforcement for Clearer Intersections

Effective January 1, 2024, California Vehicle Code 22500 will be amended to prohibit the stopping, standing, or parking of a vehicle within 20 feet of the vehicle approach side of any unmarked or marked crosswalk or 15 feet of any crosswalk where a curb extension is present, as specified. The bill would, prior to January 1, 2025, authorize jurisdictions to only issue a warning for a violation, and would prohibit them from issuing a citation for a violation, unless the violation occurs in an area marked using paint or a sign. **Until January 1, 2025, only warnings shall be issued.**

AB-413 Vehicles: stopping, standing, and parking. (ca.gov)

3. Repealing of Cruising Vehicle Code Violations

Effective January 1, 2024, California Vehicle Code 21100 will repeal the sections that make it unlawful to operate a passenger vehicle, or commercial vehicle under 6,000 pounds, that has been modified from its original design so that any portion of the vehicle, other than the wheels, has less clearance from the surface of a level roadway than the clearance between the roadway and the lowermost portion of any rim of any wheel in contact with the roadway.

AB-436 Vehicles. (ca.gov)

4. **Bicycle Protections**

Effective January 1, 2024, a bicyclist facing a solid red traffic control signal may enter the intersection if directed to do so by a pedestrian control signal displaying "WALK" or an approved "walking person" symbol, unless otherwise directed by a bicycle control signal (21456 CVC).

Additionally, the law which requires the driver of a motor vehicle that is passing or overtaking a bicycle to do so in a safe manner, as specified, and in no case at a distance of less than 3 feet, would additionally require a vehicle that is passing or overtaking a vehicle to move over to an adjacent lane of traffic if one is available, before passing or overtaking the bicycle (21760 CVC). A prohibition from a jurisdiction requiring any bicycle operated within its jurisdiction to be licensed will also be enacted on January 1, 2024 (39002 CVC).

AB-1909 Vehicles: bicycle omnibus bill. (ca.gov)