

## CITY OF SAN DIEGO COMMISSION FOR ARTS AND CULTURE AGENDA

City Administration Building, 202 C Street, San Diego 92101 Council Committee Room- 12<sup>th</sup> Floor **May 24, 2024** 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

2:00 p.m.	I.	Call to Order & Statement of Purpose+Vision	Ann Bossler, Chair
2:02 p.m.	II.	Non-agenda Public Comment	Ann Bossler, Chair
2:10p.m.	III.	Chair's Reports  A. ACTION – April 26, 2024 Commission Meeting Minutes	Ann Bossler, Chair
2:20 p.m.	IV.	B. Other Reports  Presentation:  A. World Design Capital San Diego Tijuana 2024  Update   Joanna Salazar Harris & James White,  World Design Capital San Diego Tijuana 2024  B. Balboa Park Experience Plan Presentation    Peter Comiskey & Christine Martinez, Balboa  Park Cultural Partnership (BPCP)	Ann Bossler, Chair
3:00 p.m.	V.	Committee Reports A. Policy & Funding Committee B. Public Art Committee C. Advocacy & Outreach Committee D. Commissioner Engagement Ad Hoc Committee	Tyler Hewes, Committee Chair Keith Opstad, Committee Chair Becky Phillpott, Committee Chair Fritz Friedman, Ad
3:30 p.m.	VI.	Director's Report	Hoc Committee Chair Jonathon Glus, Director
3:50 p.m.	VII.	New Business for Future Agendas	Ann Bossler, Chair
3:55 p.m.	VIII.	Commissioner Visits – What arts, culture and creative experiences have you had this month	Ann Bossler, Chair
4:00 p.m.	IX.	Adjourn	Ann Bossler, Chair

VISION: Expanding our world by celebrating creativity in San Diego

PURPOSE: The City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture serves in an advisory capacity to the Mayor and City Council on promoting, encouraging and increasing support for the region's artistic and cultural assets, integrating arts and culture into community life and showcasing San Diego as an international tourist destination.

Meetings will be recorded. PUBLIC COMMENT: Any member of the public may address the Committee on any agenda item during agenda item public comment, or on any matter not presently pending or previously discussed at the Committee that is within the Committee's area of responsibility during non-agenda public comment. Each public comment speaker is limited to three (3) minutes. In addition to in-person attendance, members of the public may submit their comments via a public comment webform, or they may join the meeting as a "webinar attendee" at the link provided in the Commission or Committee meeting website. For members of the public wishing to address the Committee under Public Comment via the webform prior to the meeting, instructions for word limitations and deadlines will be noted on the webform. As required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), requests for agenda information to be made available in alternative formats, and any requests for disability-related modifications or accommodations required to facilitate meeting participation, including requests for alternatives to observing meetings and offering public comment as noted above, may be made by contacting the City Clerk at (619) 533-4000 or mailto:cityclerk@sandiego.gov. The City is committed to resolving accessibility requests swiftly in order to maximize accessibility.



City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture

## **MINUTES**

April 26, 2024

Hyperlink to view full meeting available here.

Commissioners Present
Ann Bossler, Chair
Tyler Hewes, Vice Chair
Kamaal Martin
Keith Opstad
Tracy Dezenzo
Udoka Nwanna
Imani Robinson
Fritz Friedman
Abe Hughes
Dajahn Blevins
Alessandra Moctezuma

Commissioners Absent Alberto Pulido Lee Ann Kim

Commissioners
Attending Virtually
Becky Phillpott
Lee Ann Kim

Staff Present
Jonathon Glus
Christine E. Jones
Charles Miller
Bell Reza
Dr. Lara Bullock
Gabrielle Romberger

I. <u>Call to Order & Statement of Purpose Vision | View Here</u> -Chair Ann Bossler called the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture online meeting to order at 2:04 p.m. Chair Bossler took roll call to confirm Commissioner attendance. Commissioner Friedman was called to read the Commissions statement of vision and purpose.

**Commissioner Virtual Attendance | View Here** 

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, a vote was conducted in accordance with the Brown Act to allow Commissioners Phillpott and Martin to attend the meeting virtually. The vote resulted in unanimous approval.

- II. Non-agenda Public Comment | View Here
- III. <u>Chair's Reports | View Here</u>
  - A. ACTION March 22, 2024 Commission Meeting Minutes Commissioner Abe Hughes made a motion to approve, Commissioner Keith Opstad seconded the motion. The motion passed.
  - B. Other Reports

- IV. Presentations | View Here
  - A. Horton Plaza Theatres Foundation Update | Sandra Simmons, Executive Director, Horton Plaza Theatres Foundation
  - B. Fiscal Year 2025 Budget and Workplan | Jonathon Glus, Director
- V. <u>Committee Reports | View Here</u>
  - A. Policy & Funding Committee | Tyler Hewes, Committee Chair **ACTION** Fiscal Year 2025 Organizational Support Program (OSP) and Creative Communities San Diego (CCSD) Ranks
    - 1. The Commission proceeded to vote on conflict-of-interest disclosures. Prior to the vote, Commissioners Martin, Moctezuma, and Robinson disclosed a conflict of interest and abstained from voting due to this conflict. The remaining Commissioners voted.

Commissioner Fritz Friedman made a motion to approve, Commissioner Abe Hughes seconded the motion. The motion passed.

- B. Public Art Committee | Keith Opstad, Committee Chair
- C. Advocacy and Outreach Committee | Becky Phillpott, Committee Chair
- D. Commissioner Engagement Ad Hoc Committee | Fritz Friedman, Ad Committee Chair
- VI. <u>Director's Report's | View Here</u>
- IX. <u>Adjourn</u> Meeting was adjourned at 3:57 p.m.