CITY OF SAN DIEGO HISTORICAL RESOURCES BOARD ***POLICY SUBCOMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING AGENDA***

Monday, May 5, 2025, 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM HYBRID HEARING

5th Floor Large Conference Room City Planning Department - City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Until further notice, Policy Subcommittee meetings will be conducted pursuant to the provisions of California Government Code section 54953(a), as amended by Assembly Bill 2249. Effective February 10, 2023, the Policy Subcommittee will be participating in-person and the meeting will be open for in-person testimony.

In lieu of in-person attendance, members of the public may participate virtually:

THE LINK TO JOIN THE WEBINAR BY COMPUTER, TABLET, OR SMARTPHONE IS:

https://sandiego.zoomgov.com/j/1619935153?pwd=cA1Zabc1tS49bdqqGja86gB7phu1Bv.1

Meeting ID: 161 993 5153 Passcode: NNr6Lg

To join by using Telephone: Dial 1-669-254-5252 or (Toll Free) 1-833-568-8864. When prompted, input Webinar ID: 161 993 5153

The public is encouraged to <u>subscribe</u> to receive meeting agendas.

The Policy Subcommittee is a subcommittee of the City of San Diego's Historical Resources Board. It is primarily composed of Historical Resources Board members who are interested in policy matters. In general, the Subcommittee is not a voting entity, but rather a forum for discussing issues and policy matters related to historic resources and their preservation. Comments at the meeting do not predispose future positions on any matter by the Historical Resources Board.

Members of the public will be allowed an opportunity to speak, for up to one minute each, at the end of the Subcommittee's discussion on an agenda item. Each member of the public is required to state their name and the organization (if any) that they represent prior to their one-minute presentation.

MEETING AGENDA

- 1. Introductions
- 2. Non- Agenda Public Comment (on matters not on the agenda)
- 3. Subcommittee Comment (on matters not on the agenda)
- 4. <u>Subcommittee Appointments:</u> The Board's adopted procedures state that "Membership on the standing subcommittees shall strive to match expertise and interests to the extent possible, but shall also strive to allow maximum participation by Board members. The minimum number of Board members appointed to any standing subcommittee shall be three, and the maximum shall be five... Appointments to the standing subcommittees, including chair appointments, shall be made... by the Policy Subcommittee, and ratified by a majority vote of the Board at the next available Board meeting." Staff is requesting that the Policy Subcommittee provide a recommendation to the HRB on appointments to the vacant positions, based on the interest and availability of the Boardmembers.

- 5. Preservation Awards: Continued discussion from the March 10, 2025 Policy Subcommittee meeting. The Historical Resources Board and City of San Diego wish to recognize preservation projects, activities, and people with an outstanding commitment to historic preservation. The winners will be announced in May to commemorate National Historic Preservation Month and will be celebrated at the May Historical Resources Board meeting. Projects completed between January and December 2024 are eligible for nomination. The Policy Subcommittee will make determinations on this year's recipients in the categories of Preservation Projects, Preservation Activities and People in Preservation.
- 6. Adjourn

Next Policy Subcommittee Meeting will be on Monday, May 12, 2025 at 3:00 PM.

For more information, please contact Suzanne Segur by phone at (619) 236-6139 or email at ssegur@sandiego.gov

HISTORICAL RESOURCES BOARD SUBCOMMITTEE ROSTERS

April 29, 2025

POLICY SUBCOMMITTEE
Meets 2 nd Mon. of the month at 3:00pm
Kristi Byers, Chair
Rammy Cortez
Carla Farley
Vacant
Vacant

DESIGN ASSISTANCE SUBCOMMITTEE
Meets 1 st Wed. of the month at 4:00pm
Vacant, Chair
Kristi Byers
Rammy Cortez
David McCullough
Vacant

ARCHAEOLOGICAL AND TRIBAL CULTURAL RESOURCES SUBCOMMITTEE
Meets Quarterly 2 nd Mon. of August, November, February, and May at 4:00pm
Michael Taylor, Chair
Carla Farley
Joy Miller
Vacant
Vacant