Kearny Mesa Planning Group

Virtual Meeting

Minutes for Meeting of March 19, 2025

Planning Group Members in Attendance:

□Tom Nickel	⊠Erik Flores	⊠Robyn Badilla	
⊠Lori Lents	⊠Dana Hooper	□Derick Applbaum	
□Meridith Marquis	⊠John Mulvihill	□Tim Nguyen	⊠Wesley Quach
⊠Karen Ruggels	⊠Jeff Sallen	⊠lan Kerch	□ Paul Yung

Community Members in Attendance: Chris Jackson and Jeff Mielke

- 1. Call to Order: The Meeting was brought to order at 11:40 AM by Jeff Sallen, Chair of the Kearny Mesa Planning Group at the Kearny Mesa Public Library (9005 Aero Drive, San Diego, CA 92123).
- 2. Meeting Minutes: The Meeting Minutes from February 2025 were shared with all participants. A vote was held and approved 9 0 1. One spelling error was corrected.
- **3.** Non-Agenda Public Comments: Director of Community Engagement, Michaela Valk is now on Maternity Leave through July 2025. In her place, Lucero Maganda will be our Groups contact with the mayor's office. Lucero for the second month in a row did not attend.
- 4. Officers Update: Unfortunately, Officer Salvador Laurel-Torres was unable to attend the meeting.

Annual Elections:

Jeff announced those members with expiring terms and then announced existing members seeking reelection along with new community members also present and seeking election to the Planning Group.

A silent vote was held and tallied afterwards. The following members listed below will hold seats on the Planning Group for a two-year term:

Karren Ruggels (Representing H.G. Fenton Co.), Robyn Badilla (Resident), Dana Hooper (Resident), John Mulvihill (Property Owner), Ian Kerch (Property Owner), Chris Jackson (Local Employee), and Jeff Mielke (Local Employee).

Jeff concluded the meeting at 12:015 p.m.