PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF

March 13, 2025

Hybrid Meeting/In Council Chambers – 12th Floor City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Kelly Modén called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. Chairperson Kelly Modén adjourned the meeting at 10:43 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers
Vice-Chair Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ken Malbrough – Present/Teleconference
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Farah Mahzari – Absent
Commissioner Jeana Renger – Present in Chambers

STAFF:

Shannon Eckmeyer, Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers
Seth Litchney, Program Manager, Planning Department – Present in Chambers
Coby Tomlins, Program Manager, Planning Department – Present in Chambers
Michael Prinz, Interim Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers

Eric Mosolgo, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers Legislative Staff, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Announcements:

None

Non-Agenda Public Comment:

None

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

February 27th, 2025

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER OTSUJI TO:

• APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 27th, 2025 AS PRESENTED.

Seconded by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed with a vote of 6-0-1.

Commissioners Modén, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough, Renger, and Otsuji voted yes with Commissioner Mahzari absent.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

None

COMMISSION COMMENT

None

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: COLLEGE AREA COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATE - WORKSHOP

Staff: Nathen Causman **City Council District:** 9 **Plan Area:** College Area

Speakers in favor and opposition of the project:

Julie Hamilton, Troy Murphree, Amanda Arriaga, Jennifer Bautista, Jan Hintzman, Alex Zukas, Lorna Zukas, Carolyn Satter, Bill Hintzman, Danna Givot, Geoff Heuter, Yvonne Jones, Newell Booth, Laura Riebau, Susan Baldwin, David Moty

WORKSHOP WAS GIVEN: NO ACTION WILL BE TAKEN BY THE COMMISSION

ADJOURNED @ 10:43 a.m. by Chairperson Modén