PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF

May 1, 2025

Hybrid Meeting/In Council Chambers – 12th Floor City Administration Building 202 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Kelly Modén called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m. Chairperson Kelly Modén adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chair Kelly Modén – Present in Chambers
Vice-Chair Matthew Boomhower – Present in Chambers (Left at 9:20 a.m.)
Commissioner Ted Miyahara – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Ken Malbrough – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – Present in Chambers
Commissioner Farah Mahzari – Absent
Commissioner Jeana Renger – Present in Chambers

STAFF:

Corrine Neuffer, Chief Deputy City Attorney – Present in Chambers
Heidi Vonblum, Planning Director, Planning Department – Present in Chambers
Michael Prinz, Interim Assistant Deputy Director, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers

Tony Khalil, Senior Civil Engineer, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers Legislative Staff, Development Services Department – Present in Chambers

ANNOUNCEMENTS/NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

Announcements:

None

Non-Agenda Public Comment:

• Dorene Dias Pesta, Kate Callen, Robert Campbell, Bill Li

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

REQUEST FOR ITEMS TO BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT AGENDA

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

April 17th, 2025

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

• APPROVE THE MINUTES OF APRIL 17th, 2025 AS PRESENTED.

Seconded by Commissioner Malbrough. The motion passed with a vote of 6-0-1.

Commissioners Modén, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough, Renger, and Otsuji voted yes with Commissioner Mahzari absent.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

None

COMMISSION COMMENT

Vice-Chair Boomhower announces his recusal on Item #1: Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) and Junior Accessory Dwelling Unit (JADU) Regulation Amendments to the San Diego Municipal Code and Local Coastal Program Amendment.

Chair Modén announces her early departure of 2pm and explains that in the event the hearing is still on-going upon her departure, and due to the recusal of Vice-Chair Boomhower, a temporary chair must be appointed.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO:

• APPOINT COMMISSIONER MALBROUGH AS TEMPORARY CHAIR

Seconded by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed with a vote of 6-0-1. Commissioners Modén, Miyahara, Boomhower, Malbrough, Renger, and Otsuji voted yes with Commissioner Mahzari absent.

AGENDA ITEMS

ITEM 1: ACCESSORY DWELLING UNIT (ADU) AND JUNIOR ACCESSORY DWELLING UNIT (JADU)
REGULATION AMENDMENTS TO THE SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL
PROGRAM AMENDMENT

Staff: Liz Saidkhanian

City Council District: Citywide

Plan Area: Citywide

Speakers in favor and opposition of the project:

Danna Givot, Ken Horsley, Marie Roch, Lupe Guerrero, Pamela Begeal, Susan Drury, Dave Nicolai, Jacqueline Harris, Candy Cumming, Robin Baker, Janet Klauber, Judy Becker, Rene Kaprielian, Maria L Kaprielian, Paul Krueger, Kate Callen, Kathleen Adams, Greg Adams, Kathy Griffee, David Swarens, Victoria Estrella, Michael Frattali, Eric Davison, Carin Howard, Rick Valanzuela, Josh Chatten-Brown, Ligia Martins, Augustine Amezola, Merv Thompson, Di Marcus, Michael Rickey, Katherine Hesseltine, Kenny Key, Clint Bruce, Neil Winner, James Melli, Maria Rasmussen, Susan Grant, Jan Hintzman, Lisa Becerra, Onetzali Becerra, Michael Hertel, Epiphany Becerra, Christina Buster, Marge Wurgel, Karen Ebner, Angela Guzy, Louise Ojeda, Kara Olvera, Jonathan Olvera, Jennifer Gold, Daniel Albsecha, Dorene Dias Pesta, Darlene Knotts, Sonia M Freeman, James Black, Kathy McClelland, Ralph Teyssier, Anne Donadey, Erik Becerra, Kenyah Becerra, Brandon Becerra, Roger Kaplan, Zephariah, Jason Lane, Susan Baldwin, David Moty, Jeanne Miscikowski, Leslie Bruce, Terry Hoskins, Brita Lindstrom, Cathy Boychuck, Ann Loveless, Jennifer Sprofera, Nola Blacksher, Susan Ward, Rosie Shands, Karen Gunn-Cicero, Tomas Marguez, Deborah Suissa, Andrea Schlageter, James Clark, Chris Nielsen, Felicity Senoski, Sky Feuer, Marina Sokolovsky, Rudolph Beaton, Sara Axford, Mike Philyaw, Yvonne Jones, Mandy Hawlik, Sharon Kramer, Jocyln Mahitiponge, Rebecca Batista, Bowie Batista, Thiago Batista, Larry Webb, Chris Wilcox, Catharine Douglas, Pablo Collin, Thomas Quaas, Gail Viamonte, Jeanie Camp, Marcella Bothwell, Barbara Williams, Scott Case, Saige Walding, Peter Walding, Mary McDermott, Augustine Amezula, Martha Abraham, Kathy Kitchenka, Lois Webster, Mary Otero, Terrell Catania, Mary Soriano, Claire Maund, Kyle Candee, Tony Butler, Susan Redelings, Mike Torre, Robert Glinn, Marcelino Desilva, Richard Brusch, Rosie Miranda, James Grettenberger, Nancy Barnes, Cesar Javier, Colin Parent, Wesley Morgan, Doug Austin, Sharon Gehl, George Ching, Rammy Cortez

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER MIYAHARA TO:

RECOMMEND TO THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVAL OF THE ADU AND JADU REGULATION
 AMENDMENTS TO THE SAN DIEGO MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM
 WITH THE COMMISSIONERS RECOMMENDATION OF A 2-STORY HEIGHT LIMIT AND
 REQUEST FOR STAFF TO PRESENT DIFFERENT OPTIONS TO THE CITY COUNCIL
 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT SCALE INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO A UNIT COUNT OR
 CAP, ALTERNATIVE FAR TO THE ZONE, OR A MINIMUM SIZE.

Seconded by Commissioner Modén. The motion passed with a vote of 5-0-1-1. Commissioners Malbrough, Renger, Otsuji, Miyahara, and Modén voted yes, with Commissioner Boomhower abstaining and Commissioner Mahzari absent.

ADJOURNED @ 1:35 p.m. by Chairperson Modén