
SAN DIEGO POLICE DEPARTMENT 
PROCEDURE 

 
 
DATE: March 11, 2016 
 
NUMBER: 3.10 – INVESTIGATIONS 
 
SUBJECT: NOT “AT-RISK” MISSING/RUNAWAY JUVENILES  
 
RELATED POLICY: 3.17 
 
ORIGINATING DIVISION: JUVENILE ADMINISTRATION 
 
NEW PROCEDURE:  
PROCEDURAL CHANGE:  
SUPERCEDES: DP 3.10 - 08/31/2012 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
  

This Department procedure establishes guidelines for the response and responsibilities 
regarding missing juveniles who are considered NOT “At-risk.” 

 
 
II. SCOPE 
 

This procedure applies to all members of the Department. 
 
 
III. BACKGROUND 
 

A. The California Department of Justice (DOJ) requires that information on missing 
or runaway juveniles be entered into the California Law Enforcement 
Telecommunications Systems (CLETS) and the National Crime Information 
Center (NCIC) computer systems. 

 
B. The California DOJ has divided missing juveniles, including runaways, into three 

categories: 
 

1. Juveniles At-risk – (Refer to Department Procedure 3.09, At-Risk 
Missing/Runaway Juveniles.); 

 
2. Juveniles under 16 years of age and not at-risk; and, 
 
3. Juveniles 16 years of age and older not at-risk.  

http://sdpdshare/resourcelibrary/Resource%20Guide%20Document%20Library/Department%20Policies%20and%20Procedures/Department%20Policies/3.00%20-%20Investigations%20Policies.pdf
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IV. PROCEDURES FOR MISSING/RUNAWAY JUVENILES NOT AT-RISK 
 

A. Communications Division Responsibilities 
 

1. The telephone dispatcher will acquire the necessary information to format 
an active case for all missing juveniles.  Information should include: date 
last seen by the reporting party, the name, nickname, sex, race, height, 
weight, eye color, hair color, clothing description, disability, if applicable, 
other identifying marks and date of birth for each juvenile.  

 
2. The radio dispatcher will: 
 

a. Dispatch a patrol officer to contact the reporting party and evaluate 
the incident; 

 
b. Without delay, broadcast an “All Units” giving the description of 

the missing juvenile; 
 
c. Notify the area patrol sergeant; 

 
d. Ensure the assignment of additional field units, at the discretion of 

the patrol sergeant or field commander; and,  
 

e. Assign non-resident cases (the juvenile resides outside the City, 
but was last seen in the City) to the area command where the 
juvenile was last seen.  If the non-resident juvenile is thought to be 
in the City but at an unknown location, an “All Units” broadcast 
shall be conducted.  A field sergeant and the Juvenile 
Administration Unit may be contacted for further evaluation.   

 
3. The lead dispatcher will: 

 
a. Notify the Watch Commander of the circumstances; and,   

 
b. Evaluate whether a telephone or Teletype request to check on a 

missing juvenile within the City requires immediate dispatch.  If 
dispatched, Communications Division will send the Juvenile 
Service Team (JST) sergeant a copy of the incident history 
number. 

 
B. Patrol Officer Responsibilities 

 
1. The assigned patrol unit will be responsible for contacting the reporting 

party, evaluating the circumstances, providing reasonable assistance in 
helping parents locate the missing juvenile, and completing the 
preliminary investigation.   
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2. The officer will: 

 
a. Take the report from a parent, legal guardian, social worker, or 

person who has temporary custody of the juvenile; 
 

b. Complete a Missing Persons Report form (PD-242) for each 
missing juvenile and obtain a case number within four hours of the 
time the reporting party calls Communications Division.  Obtain a 
separate case number for each juvenile, even when two or more 
juveniles are missing together; 

 
c. Obtain a detailed description of the missing juvenile, including 

clothing, scars, dental irregularities, and tattoo information; 
 
d. Obtain telephone numbers and time of availability of a parent or 

guardian.  If there is no phone at the residence, seek an alternate 
number (e.g., a work number, a neighbor’s number, or a relative’s 
number); 

 
e. Obtain a recent photograph; 
 
f. Have the Authorization to Release Dental/X-ray Information form 

(BCIA- 4048) signed by the parent or legal guardian; 
  

g. Inform the parent or guardian that they: 
 

(1) Are responsible for checking with friends, hospitals, and 
known locations frequented by the juvenile; and, 

 
(2)  Must notify the area JST detective of additional        

information as it becomes available or when the juvenile is 
found.  The appropriate JST telephone number should be 
given to the parent or guardian, if possible; 

 
h. Send original and two copies of the Missing Person’s Report (if 

hand written), the authorization form, and photograph to the area 
JST sergeant; 

   
i. If the officer is without access to the Computer Aided Dispatch 

(CAD) system: 
 

(1) Obtain a case number from Records Division; and, 
 
(2) Immediately fax a copy of the Missing Person’s Report to 

Teletype.   
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j. Apply all these same procedures for cases where the juvenile 

resides outside the City, but was last seen or is thought to be in 
their area command, and for courtesy reports. 

 
3. When the missing/runaway juvenile is found, located, or apprehended 
 

a. Prior to, or during, the investigation, the officer will notify the 
dispatcher and forward the completed Missing Person’s Report to 
Records Division.  Do not void the case number.   

 
b. When the parent or guardian cannot be located: 

 
(1) The officer will place the juvenile in an approved youth 

shelter or Polinsky Center.   
 

(a) The Storefront Youth Emergency Shelter is located 
at 3427 4th Ave in San Diego.  Call the shelter at 
(619) 325-3527 prior to placement.  This shelter 
generally accepts juveniles between 12-17 years of 
age. 

 
(b) Polinsky Center will accept juveniles under 18 

years of age.  Call Polinsky Center at 1-(888) 242-
5722 prior to placement. 

 
(2) If the juvenile is from outside of San Diego County, the 

officer will notify Teletype to send a “locate notification” 
to the hometown agency 

   
c. If the officer has personal contact with the juvenile, the officer will 

complete a Juvenile Contact Report (JCR) form (ARJIS-8) and 
immediately forward it to the JST detective for case cancellation. 
The JCR must include the case number, where the juvenile had 
been staying, and the disposition of the juvenile. 

  
C. Patrol Sergeant Responsibilities 

 
1. The patrol sergeant will ensure that within four hours of the time the 

reporting party calls Communications Division:  
 

a. A case number is assigned; 
 

b. A recent photograph of the missing juvenile is obtained; and, 
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c. The Authorization to Release Dental/X-ray Information form (BCIA- 
4048) is signed by the parent or legal guardian. 

 
D. Juvenile Services Team Responsibilities 

 
1. The JST sergeant will: 

 
a. Assign the case to the person staffing the Runaway Desk or to a 

JST detective within 24 hours; 
 

b. Monitor the investigation to ensure quality and diligence; 
 
c. Ensure all documents are completed before signing the Case 

Cancellation form (PD-1101); 
 
d. When the missing person turns 18, ensure everything on the 

Missing Juvenile Check-off List has been completed; 
 

(1) If the person is located and/or chooses not to return, the 
person staffing the Runaway Desk should cancel the case 
and provide a detailed written reason for canceling the case. 
“Turning 18” is not sufficient reason. 

 
(2) If the case cannot be cancelled, the JST sergeant must 

approve and sign the case before it is forwarded to the 
Adult Missing Persons Unit.  Ensure the detective has 
complied with contact guidelines outlined previously in this 
procedure before signing off the case.  See Department 
Procedure 3.17, Missing Adults, for missing adult criteria. 

 
e. Monitor the monthly Department of Justice validation list;  

 
f. Ensure that all information in the Missing Juvenile Log in the 

Department’s LAN system is entered and updated;  
 

g. Ensure Runaway Desk staff or a JST detective provides written 
notice and a photo of the missing juvenile to the child’s school 
within ten days of the juvenile’s disappearance; and, 

 
h. If the juvenile has not returned, the sergeant shall ensure that 

reasonable contact with the parents during the absence of the 
juvenile is being made.   

 
2. Runaway Desk staff or a JST detective will do the following within 24 

hours of receipt of a case: 
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a. Contact the reporting party via phone or in person; 
 
b. Note the updated information, the date and time of contact, the 

investigator’s information and to whom the investigator spoke in 
the investigative follow-up; and in the JST Missing Juvenile 
Database. 

 
c. Advise the reporting party to immediately call when the juvenile is 

found or when additional information becomes available.   
 

d. Check ARJIS to locate any possible: 
 
(1) Active cases not yet assigned to the area command: 

(CCS501); and, 
 
(2) Field contacts on missing juveniles (MOI11); 

 
e. Continue reasonable contact with the parents during the absence of 

the juvenile. The guideline for these contacts follows: 
 
 Number of Weeks Missing Number of Contacts 

    One week   Daily 
    Two-three weeks  Bi-weekly 
    Four weeks   Monthly until the child is located; 

 
f. Follow up on information supplied by the parents when the parents 

are unable to do so, or when risk to the parents is likely. 
 
g. Once a non-resident juvenile has been located, the Runaway Desk 

staff or JST detective will notify Teletype to send a “locate 
notification” to the hometown agency.  If no parent or guardian is 
available, the officer will place the juvenile in an approved youth 
shelter or Polinsky Center.  The staff   will be responsible for 
locating the parents and coordinating the juvenile’s return home. 

 
h. For juveniles under 16 years of age and not at-risk at the end of 14 

days from the time the juvenile was last seen, the area JST 
detective will: 

 
(1) Check with the Medical Examiner’s Office; and, 
 

(2) Send Authorization to Release Dental/X-ray Information 
form (BCIA-4048), dental records, X-rays, and a photo of 
the juvenile to the DOJ at:   
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 Department of Justice 

Bureau of Criminal Identification & Analysis 
Missing Persons Unit 
P.O. Box 903387 
Sacramento, CA 94203-3870; 
 

i. For juveniles 16 years of age or older and not at-risk at the end of 
45 days from the time the juvenile was last seen, the area JST 
detective will: 

 
(1) Check with the Medical Examiner’s Office; and, 
 

(2) Send Authorization to Release Dental/X-ray Information 
form (BCIA-4048), dental records, X-rays and a photo of 
the juvenile to the DOJ;    

 
j. Cancel the case through CRMS and the JST Missing Juvenile 

Database. ensuring that a detailed reason for the cancellation is 
included.  Parent or guardian call-in cancellations do not require a 
JCR.  Check NCIC and ARJIS the following day to confirm: 

  
(1) The juvenile has returned home; 
 
(2) The juvenile has been arrested for a criminal offense and is 

placed in Juvenile Hall; or, 
 
(3) An outside agency has entered the juvenile into 

CLETS/NCIC (i.e., non-resident cases where the juvenile 
resides outside the City but was last seen, or thought to be, 
in the City, courtesy reports, or child abduction cases).  

 
k. When the missing juvenile turns 18, ensure that everything on the 

Missing Juvenile Check-off List has been completed.  
 

(1) If the person is located and/or chooses not to return, the 
detective should cancel the case and provide a detailed 
written reason for canceling the case.  “Turning 18” is not 
sufficient reason; 

 
(2) If the case cannot be cancelled, transfer it and all 

documentation to the Adult Missing Persons Unit.  Ensure 
compliance with contact guidelines outlined previously in 
this procedure.  The JST sergeant must approve and sign 
the case before it is forwarded.  See Department Procedure 
3.17, Missing Adults, for missing adult criteria; 
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(3) Use the Resiliency form (optional) to determine if a referral 

to a community-based organization is appropriate for 
juveniles and their parents; and, 

 
(4) Forward courtesy reports to the hometown law enforcement 

agency and maintain a copy at the area command for one 
year.  Once that agency has entered the juvenile into 
CLETS/NCIC, complete a Case Cancellation form, 
including the agency’s NCIC number.   

 
(a) Immediately fax and then forward the hard copy to 

Teletype; 
 

(b) Check NCIC the following day to ensure the case 
has been canceled; and, 

 
(c) The hometown law enforcement agency will be 

responsible for forwarding dental charts and X-rays 
to DOJ. 

   
E. Teletype/Records Division Responsibility 

 
1. Upon receiving the initial report of a missing juvenile via the Computer 

Aided Dispatch (CAD) system, the Teletype operator will immediately 
enter the information into NCIC/CLETS.  This must be done within four 
hours of the reporting party’s call.  The I.D. Section will enter information 
into the ARJIS system.  

 
2. When the Missing Juvenile Report (PD-242) is received from the area 

command, the Teletype operator will attach the original entry information. 
Teletype will then update the information in CLETS/ NCIC. ARJIS is 
updated by Data Entry. 

 
3. Upon receiving the Case Cancellation form, the Teletype operator will 

immediately remove SDPD’s missing juvenile information from 
CLETS/NCIC and ARJIS.   

 
4. For non-resident cases (the juvenile lives outside the City, but was last 

seen, or is thought to be, in the City), courtesy reports will also be 
assigned a case number within four hours.  The Runaway Desk staff of 
JST detective will be responsible for notifying the hometown agency. 
Once that agency enters their case information into CLETS/NCIC, the 
Runaway Desk staff or JST detective will send a cancellation form to 
Teletype.  The form will include that agency’s NCIC number.  
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5. Once a non-resident juvenile has been located, the Runaway Desk staff or 
JST detective will notify Teletype to send a “locate notification” to the 
hometown agency.  If no parent or guardian is available, the officer will 
place the juvenile in Juvenile Hall.  Juvenile Hall will be responsible for 
locating the parents and coordinating the juvenile’s return home. 

 
6. Telephone requests from outside agencies that are checking on missing 

juveniles should be referred to the Communications Division supervisor to 
be evaluated as to whether the request needs immediate dispatch.  If 
dispatched, Communications Division will send the JST sergeant a copy 
of the Teletype printout with the incident history number included. 

 
 
V. FRONT COUNTERS, STOREFRONTS, AND OTHERS WITHOUT ACCESS TO 

THE CAD SYSTEM  
 

Officers will obtain a case number from Records Division and immediately fax a copy of 
the missing person’s report to the Teletype Unit. 
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