2023 Galifornia and Federal Employee Notices

101611

State of California

Department of Industrial Relations
Cal/OSHA Publications

P.O. Box 420603

San Francisco, CA 94142-0603

POST WHERE EMPLOYEES CAN EASILY READ

PLEASE POST NEXT TO YOUR IWC INDUSTRY OR OCCUPATION ORDER

Amends General

EMERGENCY

AMBULANCE: 911

FIRE — RESCUE: _911

HOSPITAL: 911

PHYSICIAN: Sharp or Concentra

ALTERNATE: Sharp or Concentra

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS
P O L I C E = 9 1 1 CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work in non-farm TAKE NOTICE that on April. 4, 2016, the Governor Qnglifornia signed legislgtion passeq by the Cz.ili'fornia Legislature, raising thg minimum wage for all industries. (SB 3, Beg| nn | ng Ja nua ry ’I , 2025' em p | OyeeS WhO perform at |eaSt tWO (2) hOU rs Of Work in one
- jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours gtats 3%222;6, egﬁnﬁltrﬁg sec;nor}l'ltlSZ.lzl. of th(esgasllzf;)rréltatLalzjggf()s(g:,%;gd,sintZOZZ(i’:z,ialseg ;}g ;I;l;llt;ltuttn \;/g%z)pagable bi/tcer_ttam l-;;;st i;()d (EilestliiugantcerrcllplOyetts (/\11?8122%2’ work week within the seosraphic boundaries of the Citv of San Diego must be paid wages
. : . - : . : i . ats. and Healthcare Facility employers , Stats. ; , Stats. ; an , Stats. . Pursuant to its authority under Labor Code section 13,
In various n,()n_ma_nUfaCturlng’ non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with certain work hours restrictions. Different the Department of Industrial Relations amends and republishes Sections 2, 3, and 5 of the General Minimum Wage Order, MW-2025. Section 1, Applicability, and Section g g p y g p g
C A L/ 0 S H A : 6 1 9 _7 67 _22 8 0 rules apply in agricultural employment. 4, Sepgrability, have not bee.n changed. Consistent with these enactments, amendments are madeto the minimum wage, and the meals and lodging credits sections of all of the Of not |eSS tha n $1 725 per hou r for a ” ho urs Worked W|th | n the C|ty's ge Og ra ph|c
IWC's industry and occupation orders. b d .
. . . i . . . . TIP CREDIT Employers of “tipped employees” who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit based on This summary must be made availab_le to employees in accordance Yvith the IWC's wage orders. Copies _of t'he full text of the amended wage orders may be obtained by ounaaries.
Postlng is requ"'ed by Title 8 Section 1512 (e), California Code of Regulatlons tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage of at least $2.13 per downloading online at https:/www.dir.ca.gov/iwe/WageOrderIndustries.htm or by contacting your local Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office.
hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee’s tips combined with the #heiffg;;igfs?:}::{Order shall not apply to outside salespersons and individuals who are the parent, spouse, or children of the employer previously contained in this Order i ! d i k d iNni d i i I d
emEoner’ti CZSQ wage of at least $2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must and the IWC's industry and occupation orders. Exceptions and modifications provided by statute or i’n Secti(’)n 1, Applicability, and in other sections of the IWC's industry Sa n Dlego S Ea rne SIC Leave an M inimum Wage Or Inance, Sa n Dlego M unici pa CO €
make up the dirrerence. and occupation orders may be used where such provisions are enforceable and applicable to the employer. Cha pter 3 Al’tIC|e 9 DIVISIOFI 1 a pply to ad u It AN Dm | nor em ployees WhO WO rk two (2) or
I I I
State of California 2. MINIMUM WAGES . - . . . .
Department of Industrial Relations PUMP AT WORK The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing employee to express breast milk Every el'nploye'r shall pay to each employee wa.ges not less than those stated above, on each effective d_atf:,'perhour for all hours worked, exce;pt th; following who sha}l pay no less than more hou rsin a ny Work Week W|th N the C|ty’s geogra ph|c bOU nda ries. N Ote: t| ps do not
S . . . —— . . the specified minimum wage to each employee: Fast Food Restaurant employers under Part 4.5.5, of Division 2 of the Labor Code (commencing with Labor Code section 1474), L.
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement for their nursing child .fOI‘ one year after the child’s birth each t!me t.he employee. needs to express.breas.t milk. effective April 1, 2024; and Healthcare Facility employers under Labor Code section 1182.14, effective October 16, 2024. Note: Supplements to this order containing minimum wage count towards payment Of the minimum Wage.
Employers must provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from rates applicable for Fast Food Restaurant and Healthcare Facility employees, respectively, are available online at the website address in the Summary of Actions above.
coworkers and the public, which may be used by the employee to express breast milk. 3. MEALS AND LODGING CREDITS - TABLE
When credit for meal}s or lodging is used to meet part of the employer's minimum wage obligation, the amounts so credited pursuant to a voluntary written agreement may not be E m p I Oye rs m ay not reta I | ate aga | nst em p | oyees fO r asse rt| ng a ny rlghtS p rOVi d ed by th | S
PAYDAY NOTIC E ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages in instances more than the following: . . . . . . . .
of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate and/or recommend criminal EFFECTIVE: JANUARY 1, 2022 JANUARY 1, 2023 JANUARY 1, 2024 JANUARY 1, 2025 Ordinance. Employees may file a civil lawsuit agalnst their employers for any violation of
prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the For an employer who employs: 260r More | 25or Fewer | AllEmployersregardlessof | All Employers regardless of | All Employers regardless of ; ; ; ; ; ; ; ! H
City of San Diego minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations LODGING Employees Employees number of Employees number of Employees number of Employees this Ordinance or may file a Complamt with the Clty of San Dlego s Minimum Wage
REGULAR PAYDAYS FOR EMPLOYEES OF of the FLSA'’s child labor provisions. Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor A 37053 365.83 $72.08 $75.23 577,58 Enforcement Office. The City may take any reasonable steps necessary to investigate
violation that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be Room occupied alone /week /week /week /week /week . . . L . . .
SHALL BE AS FOLLOWS: doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or Room shared $/58.2§ 3;54.3& $/60'1ﬁ $62.10 $64.04 pOSSIb|e alleged violations. The Clty is entitled to all Iegal and eqU|tabIe relief to remedy any
discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA. wee wee wee [week [week i i i i i il i
Biweekly with payday being on a Friday ging P particip yp 9 e s (G5 §847 13 §590.67 §875 33 $303.60 §931.88 violation of the Ordinance, including the ability to award penalties of up to $1,000 per
ordinary rental vajue, and mno even /month /month /month /month /month : : : : : [N : ;
ADDITIONAL « Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime pay provisions. Qir:r;h:'z;mple e boE eyl by i SO RS S §T36453 USSR S5 violation, back wages, |IC|UIdatEd da mages, reinstatement and other Injunctive relief.
THIS IS IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTIONS 204. 204A. 204B. 205. AND 205.5 INFORMATION » Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, ?éilil?yii Lw:ntg1;312223)025;};Z$?}:;2ry /month /month /month /month /month
’ ’ ’ ’ ' and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. ! hd : . o, . . . .
OF THE CALIFORNIA LABOR CODE . Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both. Braktas $5:42 $5.06 $5.60 $578 .96 If you have questions, need additional information, or believe your employer has violated any
: . « » uncl $7. 50. b/, b/, $3. .. . .. . . .
_ _ Some employers |chrrectly classify workers as independent contractors” when they are actually employees i 10707 o3 10735 10768 1101 provision of this Iaw, p|ease contact your em pone r, visit the Clty of San DIego Minimum Wage
BY C|ty of San Diego under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two because employees (unless exempt) Motls orTodai - - — - - -
. ’ . . . o ging may not be credited against the minimum wage without a voluntary written agreement between the employer and the employee. When credit for meals or . . . . . .
P ” M are entitled to the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime pay protectlons and correctly classified 'ndependent lodging is used to meet part of the employer's minimum wage obligation, the amounts so credited may not be more than the amounts stated in the table above. Enfo rce ment Ofﬂ ce we bS|te at httDS//Wwwsa nd |egO-EOV/CO m DI Ia nce/m Inimum-wa Ee or
TITLE ayro anager contractors are not. 4. SEPARABILITY . . ) - . .
+ Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than If the application of any provision of this Order, or any section, subsection, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase, word or portion of this Order should be held invalid, contact the Clty of San Dlego s Minimum Wage Program at (61 9) 235-5912 or via email at
the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor. unconstitutional, unauthorized, or prohibited by statute, the remaining provisions thereof shall not be affected thereby, but shall continue to be given full force and effect as if i i
the part so held invalid or unconstitutional had not been included herein. S D M I nwage@sa n d |eg0 .80V.
5. AMENDED PROVISIONS
This Order amends the minimum wage and meals and lodging credits in MW-2024, as well as in the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. (See Orders 1-15, Secs. 4 and 10;
WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 1-866-487-9243 and Order 16, Secs. 4 and 9.) This Order makes no other changes to the IWC’s industry and occupation orders.
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR www.dol.gov/agencies/whd These Amendments to the Wage Orders shall be in effect as of January 1, 2025. October 2024
P L E A S E P O S T WH1088 REV 0423 Questions about enforcement should be directed to the Labor Commissioner's Office. For the address and telephone number of the office nearest you, information can be found The CitY Of
DLSE 8 (REV. 06-02) on the internet at www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/dlse.html or under a search for “California Labor Commissioner's Office” on the internet or any other directory. The Labor Commissioner
GOVDOCSC has offices in the following cities: Bakersfield, El Centro, Fresno, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Oakland, Redding, Sacramento, Salinas, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco,
LFDO1 Print Date: 6/23 San Jose, Santa Ana, Santa Barbara, Santa Rosa, Stockton, and Van Nuys.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT
FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE

BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

OVERTIME PAY Atleast 1 % times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

OFFICIAL NOTICE

Minimum Wage
Order and IWC
Industry and
Occupation Orders

MW-2025

California Minimum Wage

Every employer, regardless of the number of employees, shall pay to each employee wages not less than the following:

Effective January 1, 2025, Minimum Wage: $16.50 per hour "See Sec. 2 below

Effective January 1, 2024, Minimum Wage: $16.00 per hour

Effective January 1, 2023, Minimum Wage: $15.50 per hour

PREVIOUS YEARS

EFFECTIVE DATE Employers with 25 or Fewer Employees*

Employers with 26 or More Employees *

$14.00

January 1, 2022

$15.00

*Employees treated as employed by a single qualified taxpayer pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 23626 are treated as employees of that single taxpayer. To
employers and representatives of persons working in industries and occupations in the State of California:

VIOLATORS ARE SUBJECT TO PENALTIES

OFFICIAL NOTICE
SAN DIEGO MINIMUM WAGE

$1 7.25 PER HOUR

Rate Effective Date: January 1, 2025

THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO

MEMORANDUM

101614

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION ACT

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act prohibits most private
employers from using lie detector tests either for pre-employment

101622

YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA

THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT
AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

101696
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

Labor Commissioner’s Office

THIS POSTER MUST BE DISPLAYED WHERE EMPLOYEES CAN EASILY READ IT

(Poster may be printed on 8 5" x 11” letter size paper)

HEALTHY WORKPLACES/HEALTHY FAMILIES ACT:
CALIFORNIA PAID SICK LEAVE

(as amended effective 1/1/2024)

Entitlement:

DATE: January 1, 2025 screening or during the course of employment.
USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake military service * An employee WhO, on or after July 1 , 2015, works in California for 30 or more
TO: Whomever It Concerns or cterta(ijn types tof ser\gce inft?he Nat.ifonal 3isastgr Medi%al Sylgtemt. LtJStIiRRA‘?ISO pdrohibiFs employers from discriminating against days within a year from the beginning of employment is entitled to paid sick
PROHIBITIONS  Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting any employee or job Eas ottt i e ek el e e e leave
FROM: Risk Management Department/Workers’ Compensation Division ' ' ' ' isciplini iscriminati )
g p / p app!lcalnt to takcl—:- a lie detector tefst, and flrom dlfscha:cgln'g, dtlscilpkllmngt;, otr dlicrlmlnat!n.g REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION
ECT: 1f I f he Cj f : ) Kkers’ . P agalns. an employee or prospective employee for retusing 1o take a test or for exercising You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave  If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the » Paid sick leave accrues at the rate of one hour per every 30 hours worked,
SUBJECT: Self Insurance for the City of San Diego’s Workers’ Compensation Program other rights under the Act. et i it T Batii " ot ledt b i isti | bssad Raalth o . , . .
akjou e peroriy sepnee In'the Lntofimed seiviee And: ggver:gee o ;oiogn'gL;igfggsgfdg‘gt:?;fSﬁg2?:‘13;0”5; dietd paid at the employee’s regular wage rate. Accrual shall begin on the first day of
» you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal ) i i i i
hotice of your service: the military. employment or July 1, ?015, whichever is later. Accrued paid sick leave shall
EXEMPTIONS Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, the law does not T —— Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military carry over to the following year of employment and may be capped at 80 hours or
The City of San Diego is a State of California approved self-insured and self-administered apply to tests given by the Federal Government to certain private individuals engaged in services whils with that particular smplogsr: Eer\iiﬁe,lyou hhave the right to belreinztated in 3|/Iour err]'nployer’s 10 days.
) : : i TN iviti o ealth plan when you are reemployed, generally without any
agenCy fO]f a].]. Workers Compensatlon ClalmS. natlonal Securlty related aCtIVItIeS * you return tO.WOrk or apply for reemployment Ina tlmely manner Wamng periods or exclusions (e_g_’ pre_existing condition ) . . )
The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered in the private after conclusion of service; and exclusions) except for service-connected illnesses or injuries. * An employer can also provide 5 days or 40 hours, whichever is greater, of paid
. Employment sector, subject to restrictions, to certain prospective employees of security service firms * you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying sick leave “up-front” at the beginning of a 12-month period. No accrual or carry
EDD 3:cionen: (armored car, alarm, and guard), and of pharmaceutical manufacturers, distributors and diEEiarge Grander olieTiian Norerable Tondicns: ENFORCEMENT over is required.
State of California dispensers. If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job + The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training
. ] . o . and benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints . . ) .
NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain employees of to military service or, in some cases, a comparable job. of USERRA violations. « Other accrual plans that meet specified conditions, including PTO plans, may
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS private firms who are reasonably suspected of involvement in a workplace incident (theft, +  For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other also satisfy the requirements.
embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in economic loss to the employer. RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION | information on USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL
'l;his Tmploy?rDis re?tister?déjggert;h? Caligor.nia Unemplloyt/n:jept Insurtantt):e Codde and |bs rgp?rtir:Jg wag? credit? Ito the Empgoymfint The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any collective bar- If you: t t N ) | Z??r?ti?asc\t,;lfebsolrlei:; fggéé/gmadv?égfzggggC:?esvcgzts;[ Usage:
. .. . . .y . . ® r r pr ntmem n m y
evelopment Department ( ) that are being accumulated for you to be used as a basis for Unemployment Insurance benefits gaining agreement which is more restrictive with respect to lie detector tests. are a pas.o present me .er.o eu .1 orme serche, itns: fweshapps.dol gevialawslveislusars;
You may be eligible to receive Unemployment Insurance benefits if you are: . have;pplltefz ftor memt?ertsr]hlp In_fthe uzlforméd Bervice;;or . !I you file a complatir;:] V\;ith VETS artn)d VEfTS ij ;m?hble Dto rerstolvet * An employee may use paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment.
+ are obligated to serve in the uniformed service; it, you may request that your case be referred to the Departmen
* Unemployed or working less than full-time. EXAMINEE Where i i i of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for
polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict standards con- then an employer may not deny you: P , as app , : i :
and . : s : * An employer shall provide paid sick days upon the oral or written request of an
« Out of work due to no fault of your own and physically able to work, ready to accept work, and looking for work. RIGHTS cerning the conduct and length of the test. Examinees have a number of specific rights, « initial employment; representation. | g yf h : | g famil ’ bp for the di i A
‘ , . . ) . . : : : : + You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action employee for themselves or a family member for the diagnosis, care or treatment
Employass of Educational Instiiitions: including the right to a written notice before testing, the right to refuse or discontinue a - reemployment; against an employer for violations of USERRA f isting health diti f ified f
Unemployment Insurance benefits based on wages earned while employed by a public or nonprofit educational institution ma test, and the right not to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons. * retention in employment; . o an exIsing 'ea 'Co'n Hon of pre'ver'] Ve care, of Specliic purpose's oran
ployment Insu 'ts basec on wag while employed by & publl profit educational Insitution may . ’ employee who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.
not be paid during a school recess period if the employee has reasonable assurance of returning to work at the end of the « promotion; or
recess period (California Unemployment Insurance Code section 1253.3). Benefits based on other covered employment may . . L . L. benefit of | ¢
be payable during recess periods if the unemployed individual is in all other respects eligible, and the wages earned in other ENFORCEMENT  The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and assess civil * anybenehit of employment. * An employer may limit the use of paid sick days to 40 hours or five days,

covered employment are sufficient to establish an Unemployment Insurance claim after excluding wages earned from a public or

nonprofit educational institution(s).

Note: Some employees may be exempt from Unemployment and Disability Insurance coverage.

The fastest way to file for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) is with Ul Online at www.edd.ca.gov/Ul_Online.

You may also file for Unemployment Insurance by calling toll-free from anywhere in the U.S. at:

penalties against violators. Employees or job applicants may also bring their own court
actions.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES AND
JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT.

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting

in the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making

a statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even
that person has no service connection.

if

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this
address: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/poster. Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and

whichever is greater, in each year of employment.

Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests paid sick days or

uses paid sick days or both is prohibited.

An employee can file a complaint with the

Labor Commissioner against an employer who retaliates or discriminates against the

English 1-800-300-5616 Mandarin 1-866-303-0706 employers may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place notices for employees. em ponee.
Spanish 1-800-326-8937 Vietnamese 1-800-547-2058 T AT R ST T
Cantonese 1-800-547-3506 TTY 1-800-815-9387 UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AT e For additional information you may contact your employer or the local office of the Labor Commissioner. Locate

Note: Waiting to file a claim could delay benefits.
EDD representatives are available Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 12 noon (Pacific Time).

WH1462 REV 02/22

U.S. Department of Justice

Office of Special Counsel

b
o
*i

EMPLOYER SUPPORT OF
THE GUARD AND RESERVE

the office by looking at the list of offices on our website http://www.dir.ca.gov/dIse/DistrictOffices.htm using the
alphabetical listing of cities, locations, and communities. Staff is available in person and by telephone.

DE 1857D Rev. 19 (7-18) (INTERNET) cu U.S. Department of Labor 1-800-336-4590 . .
Page 1 of 1 1-:66-487-2365 DLSE Paid Sick Leave Postlng 11/2023
GovDocs Publication Date—May 2022 GovDocs )
GovDocs LFDO5 S E——— LFD22 Print Date: 11122 GovDocs
LCA34 Print Date: 7/18 LCA91 Print Date: 12/23

Know Your Rights:

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you from

discrimination in employment. If you believe you’ve been discriminated against at work or in applying for

a job, the EEOC may be able to help.

Who is Protected?

e Employees (current and
former), including managers
and temporary employees

e Union members and
applicants for membership
in a union

* Job applicants

What Types of Employment Discrimination
are lllegal?

Under the EEOC’s laws, an employer may not discriminate against

What Organizations are Covered?

 Most private employers

e State and local governments
(as employers)

What Employment Practices can be Challenged
as Discriminatory?

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment
discrimination by Federal contractors based on race, color,
religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or national
origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality of
opportunity in all aspects of employment.

e Educational institutions
(as employers)

e Unions

o Staffing agencies

Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and
employees of Federal contractors from discrimination based on
inquiring about, disclosing, or discussing their compensation or
the compensation of other applicants or employees.

All aspects of employment, including:

EMPLOYERS HOLDING FEDERAL CONTRACTS OR SUBCONTRACTS

The Department of Labor’s Office of Federal Contract

Compliance Programs (OFCCP) enforces the nondiscrimination
and affirmative action commitments of companies doing business
with the Federal Government. If you are applying for a job with,
or are an employee of, a company with a Federal contract or
subcontract, you are protected under Federal law from
discrimination on the following bases:

Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation,
Gender Identity, National Origin

Asking About, Disclosing, or Discussing Pay

Protected Veteran Status

The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974,
as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits employment discrimination
against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and
advance in employment, disabled veterans, recently separated
veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or release from

Who is protected?

WHISTLEBLOWERS ARE PROTECTED

It is the public policy of the State of California to encourage employees to notify an appropriate
government or law enforcement agency, person with authority over the employee, or another
employee with authority to investigate, discover, or correct the violation or noncompliance, and
to provide information to and testify before a public body conducting an investigation, hearing or
inquiry, when they have reason to believe their employer is violating a state or federal statute, or
violating or not complying with a local, state or federal rule or regulation.

Pursuant to California Labor Code Section 1102.5, employees are the protected class of individuals.

SAFETY AND HEALTH PROTECTION ON THE JOB

State of California
Department of Industrial Relations

.................

AL DEHﬂ

DEPARTUENT OF REUSTRRLRELATO"

101668

active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans,
or Armed Forces service medal veterans.

Retaliation

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint
of discrimination, participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or
otherwise opposes discrimination by Federal contractors
under these Federal laws.

Section 1106]

What is a whistleblower?

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its
nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations under
OFCCP’s authorities should contact immediately:

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)
U.S. Department of Labor

200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20210

N —

“Employee” means any person employed by an employer, private or public, including, but not limited
to, individuals employed by the state or any subdivision thereof, any county, city, city and county,
including any charter city or county, and any school district, community college district, municipal

or public corporation, political subdivision, or the University of California. [California Labor Code

A “whistleblower” is an employee who discloses information to a government or law enforcement
agency, person with authority over the employee, or to another employee with authority to
investigate, discover, or correct the violation or noncompliance, or who provides information to or
testifies before a public body conducting an investigation, hearing or inquiry, where the employee has
reasonable cause to believe that the information discloses:

A violation of a state or federal statute,

WHAT AN EMPLOYER MUST DO:
All employers must provide work and workplaces that are safe and healthful. In other words, as
an employer, you must follow state laws governing job safety and health. Failure to do so can
result in a threat to the life or health of workers, and substantial monetary penalties.

You must display this poster in a conspicuous place where notices to employees are
customarily posted so everyone on the job can be aware of basic rights and responsibilities.

You must have a written and effective Injury and lliness Prevention Program (IIPP) meeting
the requirements of California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 3203 (www.dir.ca.gov/
title8/3203.html) and provide access to employees and their designated representatives.

employee or other employees.

You must be aware of hazards your employees face on the job and keep records showing that
each employee has been trained in the hazards unique to each job assignment.

You must correct any hazardous condition that you know may result in injury to employees.
Failure to do so could result in criminal charges, monetary penalties, and even incarceration.

You must notify a local Cal/lOSHA district office of any serious injury or illness, or death,
occurring on the job. Be sure to do this immediately after calling for emergency help to assist the
injured employee. Failure to report a serious injury or iliness, or death, within 8 hours can result

in a minimum civil penalty of $5,000.

WHAT AN EMPLOYER MUST NEVER DO:
Never permit an employee to do work that violates Cal/lOSHA workplace safety and health
regulations.

Never permit an employee to be exposed to harmful substances without providing adequate
protection.

Never allow an untrained employee to perform hazardous work.

EMPLOYEES HAVE CERTAIN WORKPLACE SAFETY & HEALTH RIGHTS:
As an employee, you (or someone acting for you) have the right to file a confidential complaint
and request an inspection of your workplace if you believe conditions there are unsafe or
unhealthful. This is done by contacting the local Cal/OSHA district office (see below). Your
name is not revealed by Cal/OSHA, unless you request otherwise.

You also have the right to bring unsafe or unhealthful conditions to the attention of the Cal/
OSHA investigator inspecting your workplace.

You and your designated representative have the right to access the employer’s [IPP. Any
employee has the right to refuse to perform work that would violate an occupational safety or
health standard or order where such violation would create a real and apparent hazard to the

SUBSTANCES:

Employers who use any substance that is listed as a hazardous substance in California Code
of Regulations, title 8, section 339 (www.dir.ca.gov/title8/339.html), or is covered by the Hazard
Communication standard (www.dir.ca.gov/title8/5194.html) must provide employees information
on the hazardous chemicals in their work areas, access to safety data sheets, and training on
how to use hazardous chemicals safely.

Employers shall make available on a timely and reasonable basis a safety data sheet on each
hazardous substance in the workplace upon request of an employee, an employee’s collective
bargaining representative, or an employee’s physician.

Employees have the right to see and copy their medical records and records of exposure to

Callifornia law provides workplace safety and health protections for workers through regulations enforced by the Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA). This poster explains
some basic requirements and procedures to comply with the state’s workplace safety and health standards and orders. The law requires that this poster be displayed. Failure to do so could
result in a substantial penalty. Cal/lOSHA standards can be found at www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/query.htm.

SPECIAL RULES APPLY FOR WORK AROUND HAZARDOUS

potentially toxic materials or harmful physical agents.

Employers must allow access by employees or their representatives to accurate records
of employee exposures to potentially toxic materials or harmful physical agents, and notify
employees of any exposures in concentration or levels exceeding the exposure limits allowed by

Cal/OSHA standards.

Any employee or their representative has the right to observe monitoring or measuring of
employee exposure to hazards conducted to comply with Cal/OSHA regulations.

WHEN CAL/OSHA COMES TO THE WORKPLACE:
A trained Cal/OSHA safety engineer or industrial hygienist may visit the workplace to make sure
your company is obeying workplace safety and health laws.

Inspections are also conducted when an employee files a valid complaint with Cal/OSHA.
Cal/OSHA also goes on-site to the workplace to investigate a serious injury or illness, or fatality.
When an inspection begins, the Cal/lOSHA investigator will show official identification.

The employer, or someone the employer chooses, will be given an opportunity to accompany
the investigator during the inspection. An authorized representative of the employees will

be given the same opportunity. Where there is no authorized employee representative, the
investigator will talk to a reasonable number of employees about safety and health conditions at

the workplace.

VIOLATIONS, CITATIONS AND PENALTIES:

If the investigation shows that the employer has violated a safety and health standard or order,
Cal/OSHA may issue a citation. Each citation carries a monetary penalty and specifies a date by
which the violation must be abated. A notice, which carries no monetary penalty, may be issued

in lieu of a citation for certain non-serious violations.
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are available to you.

Disability Insurance

Notice to
Employees

Your employer is registered with and reporting wages to the Employment Development
Department (EDD) as required by law. Wages are used for the following benefit programs, which

Unemployment Insurance

o . Employment

ED Development

Department
Stafe of California

Funded entirely by employer’s taxes

Provides partial wage replacement when you are unemployed or your hours are reduced due to
no fault of your own. You must meet all eligibility requirements to receive unemployment benefits.

Visit File for Unemployment (edd.ca.gov/unemployment) to learn how to apply for benefits.

Funded entirely by employees’
contributions

Provides partial wage replacement when you are unable to work because of a non-work-related

you, regardless of your immigration status, on the bases of: « Discharge, firing, or lay-off « Obtaining or disclosing Disability 1-800-397-6251 (toll-free) . A violation or noncompliance with a 1ocal, state or federal rule or regu]ation, or You may not be fired or punished in any way for filing a complaint about unsafe or unhealthful Penalty amounts depend in part on the classification of the violation as regulatory, general, . o . . - ) i

* Race disclosure of genetic tests, * Harassment (including genetic information of Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 3. With reference to employee safety or health, unsafe working conditions or work practices in the Yo 156 et you hove boon o o punhec o x6reng your T, you may i & complin 1 sare resardous candio. Bess penally smourts, ponaly scusimentectors and iliness, injury, pregnancy, or disability. You must meet all eligibility requirements to receive
« Color gene.tic sgrvices, or family unwelcome verbal or employees protects qualified individuals with disa bilities' from discrim'ination 7-1-1to acce;s telecommunic’ations relay services. OFCCF'> may also employee’s employment or place of employment. 2? %JZ::;ygeegtE)I:gnSl\::::)?]no?{:ggtrag;?dm: ?zer‘mrfiignfﬂg?110(:_:&?2'2:2;5:2:?: o Zl?lf?ﬁ?a%"mxﬂ”cl’SﬁCZﬁﬁiEE&’STﬁﬁﬁea‘Jﬁ.?Zn'”f vavl:lfl?Jln L?og?gi?;;igﬂzggzseat{geof dlsablhty benefits.

* Religion mediel hstory) physical conduct) " Reduesting or disclosing medical in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, ringe benefits, job be contacted by submitting a question online to OFCCP's Help Desk R miisraton. (Emplreas o te o e Goveertagireos iy o 1o hoss. 153350000 o e O o 0 ae e b, e 1 1h empepe 5 coportion

Retaliation for filing a
charge, reasonably
opposing discrimination,

or participating in a
discrimination lawsuit,
investigation, or proceeding

¢ National origin

® Sex (including pregnancy,
childbirth, and related medical
conditions, sexual orientation,
or gender identity)

e Age (40 and older)

e Disability

* Genetic information
(including employer requests
for, or purchase, use, or

Interference, coercion, or
threats related to exercising
rights regarding disability
discrimination or pregnancy
accommodation

* Benefits

e Hiring or promotion
e Assignment

e Pay (unequal wages or
compensation)

e Failure to provide
reasonable accommodation
for a disability; pregnancy,
childbirth, or related medical
condition; or a sincerely-held
religious belief, observance
or practice

information of employees

e Conduct that might reasonably
discourage someone from
opposing discrimination, filing
a charge, or participating in an
investigation or proceeding

Conduct that coerces,
intimidates, threatens, or
interferes with someone
exercising their rights, or
someone assisting or
encouraging someone else
to exercise rights, regarding

training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment
by Federal contractors. Disability discrimination includes not
making reasonable accommodation to the known physical or
mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a
disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue
hardship to the employer. Section 503 also requires that

Federal contractors take affirmative action to employ and
advance in employment qualified individuals with disabilities 1.
at all levels of employment, including the executive level.

at https://ofccohelpdesk.dol.gov/s/, or by calling an OFCCP regional
or district office, listed in most telephone directories under U.S.
Government, Department of Labor and on OFCCP’s “Contact Us”
webpage at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact.

whistleblower.

An employee is also considered a whistleblower and protected when the employer believes the
employee engaged in or will exercise protected activity. A whistleblower can also be an employee
who refuses to participate in an activity that would result in a violation of a state or federal statute, or
a violation of or noncompliance with a local, state or federal rule or regulation.

What protections are afforded to whistleblowers?
An employer may not make, adopt, or enforce any rule, regulation, or policy preventing an

employee from being a whistleblower.
2. An employer may not retaliate against an employee who is a whistleblower or is perceived to be a

PROGRAMS OR ACTIVITIES RECEIVING FEDERAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE ;

An employer may not retaliate against an employee for refusing to participate in an activity that

HELP IS AVAILABLE:
To learn more about workplace safety rules, you may contact Cal/lOSHA Consultation Services for free information, required forms, and publications. You can also contact a local district office
of Cal/OSHA. If you prefer, you may retain a competent private consultant, or ask your workers’ compensation insurance carrier for guidance in obtaining information.

complaints with the California Labor Commissioner’s Office.) Consult your local telephone
directory for the office nearest you.

EMPLOYEES ALSO HAVE RESPONSIBILITIES:
To keep the workplace and your coworkers safe, you should tell your employer about any
hazard that could result in an injury or illness to an employee.

While working, you must always obey state workplace safety and health laws.

limited liability company, the fine may be up to $1.5 million.

The law provides that employers may appeal citations within 15 working days of receipt to the
Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board.

An employer who receives a citation, Order to Take Special Action, or Special Order must
post it or a copy, including the enclosed multi-language employee notification, prominently at
or near the place of the violation or unsafe condition for three working days, or until the unsafe
condition is corrected, whichever is longer, to warn employees of danger that may exist there.
Any employee may protest the time allowed for correction of the violation to the Division of
Occupational Safety and Health or the Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board.

benefits.

Paid Family Leave

Call the FREE Worker Information Helpline — (833) 579-0927

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (CAL/OSHA)
HEADQUARTERS: 1515 Clay Street, Ste. 1901, Oakland, CA 94612 — Telephone (510) 286-7000

Bond with a new child.

Visit Disability Insurance (edd.ca.gov/Disability/Disability_Insurance.htm) to learn how to apply for

Provides partial wage replacement when you need to take time off work to:

« Care for a seriously ill family member.

Funded entirely by employees’
contributions

Cal/OSHA Consultation Services
Field/Area Offices

« Fresno/Central Valley

District Offices

American Canyon 3419 Broadway St., Ste. H8, American Canyon 94503
Bakersfield 7718 Meany Avenue, Bakersfield 93308

Foster City 1065 East Hillsdale BI., Ste. 110, Foster City 94404
Fremont 39141 Civic Center Dr., Ste. 310, Fremont 94538
Fresno 2550 Mariposa St., Rm. 4000, Fresno 93721

Long Beach 1500 Hughes Way, Suite C-201, Long Beach 90810

e Job training disability discrimination
(including accommodation)

or pregnancy accommodation

would result in a violation of a state or federal statute, or a violation or noncompliance with a
state or federal rule or regulation.

An employer may not retaliate against an employee for having exercised their rights as a
whistleblower in any former employment.

(707) 649-3700
(661) 588-6400
(650) 573-3812
(510) 794-2521 + La Palma/Los Angeles/Orange
(559) 445-5302 County

(424) 450-2630 « Oakland/Bay Area

Participate in a qualifying event because of a family member’s military deployment to a foreign
country.

Individuals with Disabilities

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, 4.
prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of disability

e Classification Race, CO|0I’, National Orlgln' Sex 2550 Mariposa Mall, Rm. 2005

Fresno 93721

1 Centerpointe Dr., Ste. 150
La Palma 90623

1515 Clay St. Suite 1103

(559) 445-6800
e Referral In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as

(714) 562-5525

(510) 622-2891

What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination has Occurred? amen(.jed, pI’O.h.IbI.tS discrimination o.n.t.he baS|s. qf race, color in any program or actll\n'.cy whlch receives Federal financial ass.lstance. Los Angeles 320 West Fourth St Rm. 620, Los Angeles 90013 g;g; 767451 Samamentoorter CA ?;géa:'gj:trvze o a0 o16)265.070¢ Visit California Paid Family Leave (edd.ca.gov/PaldFamHyLeave) to learn how to apply for
or national origin in programs or activities receiving Federal Discrimination is prohibited in all aspects of employment against . . . . . . . Mo 800 Royal Onke D, Sie. 105, Monrovia 1016 (626259.0369 Sacramento 95825 ' benefits
Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not delay, because there are strict time limits for filing a charge of financial assistance. Employment discrimination is covered by persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable Under California Labor Code Section 1102.5, if an employer retaliates against a whistleblower, the Oakland 1515 Clay St., Ste. 1303, Box 41, Oakland 94612 (510)622-2916  * San Bemardino 464 West Fourth St Suite 339 (909) 383-4567 )
. . . . . . . . . . i i - an Bernardino
discrimination (180 or 300 days, depending on where you live/work). You can reach the EEOC in any of the following ways: Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job. employer may be required to reinstate the employee’s employment and work benefits, pay lost wages §§Sf’;ggenm_ ?3;0“53”;‘:;{&';12"3'3"3 o ento 95625 §§?2§ Soaan00 + San Diego/imperial County ggisaneztgog;iba; Dr. Suite 204 (619) 767-2060 Note: Some employees may be exempt from coverage by the above insurance programs. It is illegal to make a false statement or to
Submit an inquiry through the EEOC’s public portal: Visit  an EEOC field office (information at provision of employment, or where employment discrimination and civil monetary penalties, and take other steps necessary to comply with the law. B Moo B Sio 207 oan o oo ) vvaoay  ~San Femando Valley 6150 Van Nuys Blvd. Suite 307 (818) 901.5754 withhold facts to claim benefits. For additional information, visit the EDD (edd.ca.gov).
htt blicoortal ortal/Lodi ' eld-office) causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program San Francisco 455 Golden Gate Ave., Rm. 9516, San Francisco 94102 (415) 557-0100 Van Nuys 91401
s://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx www.eeoc.gov/field-office ) ) ) ; ; ; ) ) Santa A 2 MacArthur Place, Ste. 720, Santa Ana 92707 714) 5584451 ; ; . ; ’ : Lo -
such programs. Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 of any institution which receives Federal financial assistance, H ‘i V::tzu;: ool ;Ly:glevd_fesm_ 40;\'}‘; Nove 91401 2818; e Consultation Region Office _T_he EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabil
o s . . A . L ow to report improper acts N ) ities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call
call 1-800-669-4000 (toll free) E-Mail info@eeoc.qov prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of sex in you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing If h - - & ble violati ¢ federal I lati Regional Offices -~ 2550 Marioss Vil Ren 3014 (656 4456300 the California Relay Service at 711
- : s i : H - Fre ri , Rm. X .
1-800-669-6820 (TTY) educational programs or activities which receive Federal such assistance. you a,VG mn Ormatl,on regar lng pO,SSI cvio atlons, o Stat.e O'I' ¢ ?ra. S'tatutes’ u eS, O_r regu atlons’ San Francisco 455 Golden Gate Ave., Rm 9516, San Francisco 94102 (415) 557-0300 Fresno 93?21 y
1-844-234-5122 (ASL video phone) Additional information about the EEOC, financial assistance. or violations Qf fiduciary responsibility by a corpor.atlon.or limited liability company to 1ts. Secmments 1750 Hows Aus. Sl 40, Secrameo 2525 e 26230 DE 1857A Rev, 45 (1-22) (Internet)
including information about filing a charge of (Revised 6/27/2023) shareholders, investors, or employees, call the California State Attorney General’s Whistleblower Monrovia 800 Royal Oaks Dr., Ste. 105, Monrovia 91016 (626) 471-9122
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discrimination, is available at www.eeoc.gov.

Hotline at 1-800-952-5225.

Enforcement of Cal/lOSHA workplace safety and health standards is carried out by the Division of Occupational Safety and Health, under the California Department of Industrial Relations, which has primary

. . . . responsibility for administering the Cal/OSHA program. Safety and health standards are promulgated by the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board. Anyone desiring to register a complaint alleging LCAO1 Print Date: 4/24
inad in the administration of the California Occupational Safety and Health P do so by contacting the San Francisco Regional Office of the Occupational Safety and Health Administrati

The Attorney General will refer your call to the appropriate government authority for review and (OSHA), U'S. Department of Labor Tl: (415) 6252547 OSHA monitors the operaton of stato plans (o assure that continued approvalis merted + oo o November 2023

possible investigation. Effective 1/1/2025 s GovDocs
STATE OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS ESTADO DE CALIFORNIA - DEPARTAMENTO DE RELACIONES INDUSTRIALES 101677 101670
Division of Workers' Compensation Division de Compensacion de Trabajadores WTS DEp, . . .

Y WS DEp . . ; QO e, C
Notice to Employees--Injuries Caused By Work Aviso a los Empleados—Lesiones Causadas por el Trabajo T H E RI G H Ts O F E M P Lo E Es WH o \3’?2"“””:;3@ C IVI I R | ghtS CALIFORNIA LAW PROHIBITS N4 ﬂi’?‘% VI | R I ghts
— 7 ™ o
Es posible que usted tenga derecho a beneficios de compensacion de trabajadores si usted se lesiona o se enferma a causa de su ARE T RAN SG E N D E R O R G E N D E R Sg‘? ‘%’;E WO RKPLACE DISCRI MI NATION & . % }j?:‘ D e p a rtm e nt
- by . p . . . . . v . 3 &

You may be entitled to workers' compensation benefits if you are injured or become ill because of your job. Workers' compensation trabajo. ,Ija compensacién de trabajadores cubre la mayoria de las lesiones y enfermeda@es fisicas o mentales relac101?adas conel traba]o. ‘,}\‘Qpﬁ é}’ & D e p a rt m e nt H ARAs SM ENT u;«\?,?f; ‘‘‘‘ AL{;?\V
covers most work-related physical or mental injuries and illnesses. An injury or illness can be caused by one event (such as hurting your Una lesién o enfermedad puede ser causada por un evento (como por ejemplo lastimarse la espalda en una caida) o por acciones T A OF gAL® STATE OF CALIFORNIA

NONCONFORMING ok S

The use of single stall restrooms and other facilities should always be
a matter of choice. Employees should never be forced to use one, as
a matter of policy or due to harassment.

. . . ~ . L STATE OF CALIFORNIA
back in a fall) or by repeated exposures (such as hurting your wrist from doing the same motion over and over). repetidas (como por ejemplo lastimarse la mufieca por hacer el mismo movimiento una y otra vez).

The California Civil Rights Department (CRD) enforces laws that protect
you from illegal discrimination and harassment in employment based on
your actual or perceived:

ADDITIONAL PROTECTIONS

California law offers additional protections to those who work for employers
with five or more employees. Some exceptions may apply. These additional

Beneficios. Los beneficios de compensacion de trabajadores incluyen:
* Atencion Médica: Consultas médicas, servicios de hospital, terapia fisica, analisis de laboratorio, radiografias,
medicinas, equipo médico y costos de viajar que son razonablemente necesarias para tratar su lesion. Usted nunca debera ver un
cobro. Hay limites para visitas quiropracticas, de terapia fisica y de terapia ocupacional.

Benefits. Workers' compensation benefits include:
e Medical Care: Doctor visits, hospital services, physical therapy, lab tests, x-rays, medicines, medical equipment and travel costs that
are reasonably necessary to treat your injury. You should never see a bill. There are limits on chiropractic, physical therapy and

CALIFORNIA LAW PROTECTS
TRANSGENDER AND GENDER

occupational therapy visits. * Beneficios por Incapacidad Temporal (TD): Pagos si usted pierde sueldo mientras se recupera. Para la mayoria de las lesiones, NONCON FORMING PEOPLE FROM * ANCESTRY protections include:
e Temporary Disability (TD) Benefits: Payments if you lose wages while recovering. For most injuries, TD benefits may not be beneficios de TD no se pagaran por mas de 104 semanas dentro de cinco afios después de la fecha de la lesion. 5. Does an employee have the right to be addressed by the name * AGE (40 and above) . . . . o
. e e . . . . ., L ) ) - 1. Specific protections and hiring procedures for people with criminal
paid for more than 104 weeks within five years from the date of injury. * Beneficios ([imr Ifncagac;dgld Permz;nente (P]%).: Pago; si u(s;ed no se recupera completamente y sisu lesion le causa una pérdida DISC RIMlNATION, HARASSMENT, and pronouns that correspond to their gender identity or gender « COLOR histories who are looking for employment
e Permanent Disability (PD) Benefits: Payments if you do not recover completely and your injury causes a permanent loss of physical or permanente de su funcion fisicao mental que un medico puede medir. expression, even if different from their legal name and gender? . ; iatri . . L .
mental function thattgd(octgr can measurgm Y PIEEy ane your Iy P Py = Beneficio Suplementario por Desplazamiento de Trabajo: Un vale no-transferible si su lesion surge en o después del 1/1/04, y su AND RETALIATION AT WORK. THESE P ) 9 9 RII SQB”‘ITY (physical, developmental, mental health/psychiatric, HIV and 2. Erote?tlons against discrimination based on an employee or job
i . . o o lesion le ocasiona una incapacidad permanente, y su empleador no le ofrece a usted un trabajo regular, modificado, o alternativo. PROTECTIONS ARE EN FORCED BY THE Yes. Employees have the right tq use gnd be adt;lressgd by the name ) applicant’s use of cannabis off the job and away from the workplace
* Supplemental Job Displacement Benefit: A nontransferable voucher, if you are injured on or after 1/1/2004, your injury causes + Beneficios por Muerte: Pagados a sus dependientes si usted muere a causa de una lesion o enfermedad relacionada con el and pronouns that correspond with their gender identity or gender + GENETIC INFORMATION 3. Up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave to eligible employees to care for
permanent disability, and your employer does not offer you regular, modified, or alternative work. trabajo. CIVIL RIGHTS DEPARTMENT (CRD) expression. These are sometimes known as “chosen” or “preferred” . GENDER EXPRESSION themselves, a family member (child of any age, spouse, domestic partner,

e Death Benefits: Paid to your dependents if you die from a work-related injury or illness. parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling) or a designated
person (with blood or family-like relationship to employee); to bond with a

new child; or for certain military exigencies

4. Up to five days of job-protected bereavement leave within three months
of the death of a family member (child, spouse, parent, sibling, grandparent,
grandchild, domestic partner, or parent-in-law)

5. Up to four months of job-protected leave to employees disabled because

names and pronouns. For example, an employee does not need

to have legally changed their name or birth certificate, nor have

undergone any type of gender transition (such as surgery), to use a

name and/or pronouns that correspond with their gender identity or .
. . history of cancer)

gender expression. An employer may be legally obligated to use an

employee’s legal name in specific employment records, but when * MILITARY OR VETERAN STATUS

no legal obligation compels the use of a legal name, employers » NATIONAL ORIGIN (includes language restrictions and possession of a

Designacion de su Propio Médico Antes de una Lesion o Enfermedad (Designacién previa). Es posible que usted pueda elegir al
médico que le atendera en una lesion o enfermedad relacionada con el trabajo. Si elegible, usted debe informarle al empleador, por escrito,
el nombre y la direccion de su médico personal o grupo médico, antes de que usted se lesione. Usted debe de ponerse de acuerdo con su
médico para que atienda la lesion causada por el trabajo. Para instrucciones, vea la informacion escrita sobre la compensacion de
trabajadores que se le exige a su empleador darle a los empleados nuevos.

Si Usted se Lastima:

1. Obtenga Atencion Médica. Si usted necesita atencion de emergencia, llame al 911 para ayuda inmediata de un hospital, una
ambulancia, el departamento de bomberos o departamento de policia. Si usted necesita primeros auxilios, comuniquese con su

+ GENDER IDENTITY
* MARITAL STATUS
» MEDICAL CONDITION (genetic characteristics, cancer or a record or

Naming Your Own Physician Before Injury or Illness (Predesignation). You may be able to choose the doctor who will treat you for a
job injury or illness. If eligible, you must tell your employer, in writing, the name and address of your personal physician or medical group
before you are injured. You must obtain their agreement to treat you for your work injury. For instructions, see the written information
about workers' compensation that your employer is required to give to new employees.

If You Get Hurt:
1. Get Medical Care. If you need emergency care, call 911 for help immediately from the hospital, ambulance, fire department or

THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW

1. Does California law protect transgender and gender
nonconforming employees from employment discrimination?

Yes. All employees, job applicants, unpaid interns, volunteers, and

police department. If you need first aid, contact your employer. lead contractors are protected from discrimination at work when based and co-workers must respect an employee’s chosen name and driver’s license issued to undocumented immigrants) of pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition, as well as the right
empleador. y o ' ) on a protected characteristic, such as their gender identity, gender . . fit f « RACE (includes hair texture and hairstvi to reasonable accommodations, on the advice of their health care provider,
2 Report Your Injury. Report the injury immediately to your supervisor or to an employer representative. Don't delay. There are 2. Reporte su Lesién. Reporte la lesion inmediatamente a su supervisor(a) 0 a un representante del empleador. No se demore. Hay expression, sexual orientation, race, or national origin. This means pronouns. For example, some businesses utilize software for payroll (includes hair texture and hairstyles) related to their pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition
time limits. If you wait too long, you may lose your right to benefits. Your employer is required to provide you with a claim form limites de tiempo. Si usted espera demasiado, es posible que usted pierda su derecho a beneficios. Su empleador esta obligado th . ' e ’ ) and other administrative purposes, such as creating work schedules + RELIGION (includes religious dress and grooming practices) ) . ) .

L . . . o : . . . . . e . . at private employers with five or more employees may not, for . . . e . 6. Up to five days of job-protected leave following a reproductive loss event
within one working day after learning about your injury. Within one working day after you file a claim form, your employer or a proporcionarle un formulario de reclamo dentro de un dia laboral después de saber de su lesion. Dentro de un dia después de que | " hi b hev identif or generating virtual profiles. While it may be appropriate for the - SEX/GENDER (includes pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding and/or (failed adoption, failed surrogacy, miscarriage, stillbirth. or unsuccessful
claims administrator must authorize the provision of all treatment, up to ten thousand dollars, consistent with the applicable usted presente un formulario de reclamo, el empleador o administrador de reclamos debe autorizar todo tratamiento example, refuse ’[.0 ire or pro.mote someone because t eyl entify business to use a transgender employee’s legal name for payroll related medical conditions) ’ ’ assisted rep rodhction) gacy, ge, )
treatment guidelines, for your alleged injury until the claim is accepted or rejected. médico, hasta diez mil dolares, de acuerdo con las pautas de tratamiento aplicables a su presunta lesion, hasta que el reclamo as — or are perceived to identify as — transgender or non-binary, or purposes when legally required, refusing or failing to use that person’s ‘p . o .

sea aceptado o rechazado. because they express their gender in non-stereotypical ways. ; + SEXUAL ORIENTATION 7. Protections against retaliation when a person opposes, reports, or assists

chosen name and pronouns, if different from their legal name, on
a shift schedule, nametag, instant messaging account, or work 1D
card could be harassing or discriminatory. CRD recommends that
employers take care to ensure that each employee’s chosen name
and pronouns are respected to the greatest extent allowed by law.

3. See Your Primary Treating Physician (PTP). This is the doctor with overall responsibility for treating your injury or illness. 3
e Ifyou predesignated your personal physician or a medical group, you may see your personal physician or the medical group
after you are injured.

another person to oppose unlawful discrimination, including filing an internal
complaint or a complaint with CRD

REMEDIES/FILING A COMPLAINT

1. The law provides remedies for individuals who experience prohibited
discrimination, harassment, or retaliation in the workplace. These remedies
can include hiring, front pay, back pay, promotion, reinstatement, cease-and-
desist orders, expert witness fees, reasonable attorney’s fees and costs,
punitive damages, and emotional distress damages.

2. If you believe you have experienced discrimination, harassment, or
retaliation, you may file a complaint with CRD. Independent contractors and
volunteers: If you believe you have been harassed, you may file a complaint
with CRD.

3. Complaints must be filed within three years of the last act of
discrimination/harassment/retaliation. For those who are under the age of 18,
complaints must be filed within three years after the last act of discrimination/
harassment/retaliation or one year after their eighteenth birthday, whichever

Consulte al Médico que le esta Atendiendo (PTP). Este es el médico con la responsabilidad total de tratar su lesion o
enfermedad.

e  Si usted designo previamente a su médico personal o grupo médico, usted puede consultar a su médico personal o grupo

médico después de lesionarse.

Si su empleador esta utilizando una Red de Proveedores Médicos (MPN) o una Organizaciéon de Cuidado Médico (HCO),
en la mayoria de los casos usted sera tratado dentro de la MPN o la HCO a menos que usted designd previamente un
médico personal o grupo médico. Una MPN es un grupo de médicos y proveedores de atencion médica que proporcionan
tratamiento a trabajadores lesionados en el trabajo. Usted debe recibir informacion de su empleador si esta cubierto por una
HCO o una MPN. Hable con su empleador para mas informacion.

e Si su empleador no esta utilizando una MPN o HCO, en la mayoria de los casos el administrador de reclamos puede
escoger el médico que lo atiende primero, cuando usted se lesiona, a menos que usted designd previamente a un médico
personal o grupo médico.

Puede consultar a un abogado con licencia para que le asesore sobre sus derechos bajo las leyes de compensacion para trabajadores. En la
mayoria de los casos, los honorarios del abogado se pagaran a partir de su recuperacion.

5. Red de Proveedores Médicos (MPN): Es posible que su empleador use una MPN, lo cual es un grupo de proveedores de
asistencia médica designados para dar tratamiento a los trabajadores lesionados en el trabajo. Si usted ha hecho una designacion
previa de un médico personal antes de lesionarse en el trabajo, entonces usted puede recibir tratamiento de su médico
previamente designado. Si usted esta recibiendo tratamiento de parte de un médico que no pertenece a la MPN para una lesion

THE CALIFORNIA FAIR EMPLOYMENT AND HOUSING ACT
AND ITS IMPLEMENTING REGULATIONS PROTECT CIVIL
RIGHTS AT WORK.

HARASSMENT

1. The law prohibits harassment of employees, applicants, unpaid interns,
volunteers, and independent contractors by any person. This includes a
prohibition against harassment based on any characteristic listed above,
such as sexual harassment, gender harassment, and harassment based on
pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding, and/or related medical conditions.

2. All employers are required to take reasonable steps to prevent all forms
of harassment, as well as provide information to each of their employees on
the nature, illegality, and legal remedies that apply to sexual harassment.

3. Employers with five or more employees and public employers must train
their employees regarding the prevention of sexual harassment, including
harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual

Employment discrimination can occur at any time during the hiring

or employment process. In addition to refusing to hire or promote
someone, unlawful discrimination includes discharging an employee,
subjecting them to worse working conditions, or unfairly modifying the
terms of their employment because of their gender identity or gender
expression.

e If your employer is using a medical provider network (MPN) or a health care organization (HCO), in most cases you will be
treated within the MPN or HCO unless you predesignated a personal physician or medical group. An MPN is a group of .
physicians and health care providers who provide treatment to workers injured on the job. You should receive information
from your employer if you are covered by an HCO or a MPN. Contact your employer for more information.

6. Does an employee have the right to dress in a way that
corresponds with their gender identity and gender expression?
Yes. An employer who imposes a dress code must enforce it in a
non-discriminatory manner. This means that each employee must

be allowed to dress in accordance with their gender identity and
expression. While an employer may establish a dress code or
grooming policy in accord with business necessity, all employees
must be held to the same standard, regardless of their gender identity
or expression.

e If your employer is not using an MPN or HCO, in most cases the claims administrator can choose the doctor who first treats

you when you are injured, unless you predesignated a personal physician or medical group. 2. Does California law protect transgender and gender

nonconforming employees from harassment at work?

Yes. All employers are prohibited from harassing any employee,
intern, volunteer, or contractor because of their gender identity

or gender expression. For example, an employer can be liable if
co-workers create a hostile work environment — whether in person
or virtual — for an employee who is undergoing a gender transition.
Similarly, an employer can be liable when customers or other third
parties harass an employee because of their gender identity or

4. You may consult a licensed attorney to advise you of your rights under workers’ compensation laws. In most instances,
attorney’s fees will be paid from your recovery.

5. Medical Provider Networks. Your employer may be using an MPN, which is a group of health care providers designated to 4.
provide treatment to workers injured on the job. If you have predesignated a personal physician or medical group prior to your
work injury, then you may go there to receive treatment from your predesignated doctor. If you are treating with a non-MPN
doctor for an existing injury, you may be required to change to a doctor within the MPN. For more information, see the MPN
contact information below:

www.sandiego.gov/riskmanagement/services/workerscomp/mpn 7. Can an employer ask an applicant about their sex assigned at

MPN website: i i i adi As 1 i6 ioui . . . . . . . P . . . :
N \];v:f 51:3 - March 16, 2005 PN Identificati ber: 0439 z&flsien;e;é;;luziec;z%::tr;r(siz 12116 ;;Itéd se cambie a un médico dentro de la MPN. Para mas informacion, vea la siguiente expression, such as intentionally referring to a gender-nonconforming birth or gender identity in an interview? orientation. is later.
M ective Date: M entification number: m : M - i employee by the wrong pronouns or name. m m -discrimi i SONABLE
" dhelo locati MPN ohvsici 1 MPN tant ot 1-844-499-2659 or 1-844-688-3678 Pagina web de la MPN: Www.sandiego.gov/riskmanagement/services/workerscomp/mpn ploy y gp i’:O.UiErin p|;)g§LSt ana)all ailfcgﬁgsd:mbma;rtyh?:tz?“%r;sé:kﬁh faosr DISCRIMINATION/REA L
ou need help locating an sician, call your access assistant at: . . . I m . e e
you p g phy > you Fecha de vigencia de la MPN: March 16, 2005 Namero de identificacién de la MPN: 0439 3. Does California law protect employees who complain about q 9 PP ploy y 9 ACCOMMODATIONS If you have been subjected to discrimination, harassment, or retaliation

professional references. But an interviewer should not ask questions
designed to detect a person’s gender identity or gender transition
history such as asking about why the person changed their name.
Employers should also not ask questions about a person’s body or
whether they plan to have surgery.

619-236-6395 at work, file a complaint with the Civil Rights Department (CRD).

1. California law prohibits employers with five or more employees and public TO FILE A COMPLAINT
employers from discriminating based on any protected characteristic listed
above when making decisions about hiring, promotion, pay, benefits, terms of
employment, layoffs, and other aspects of employment.

2. Employers cannot limit or prohibit the use of any language in any

If you have questions about the MPN or want to file a complaint against the MPN, call the MPN Contact Person at:

discrimination or harassment in the workplace?

Yes. Employers are prohibited from retaliating against any employee
who asserts their right under the law to be free from discrimination or
harassment. For example, an employer commits unlawful retaliation
when it responds to an employee making a discrimination complaint
— to their supervisor, human resources staff, or CRD — by cutting their

Si usted necesita ayuda en localizar un médico de una MPN, llame a su asistente de acceso de la MPN al; 1-844-499-2659 or 1-844-688-3678
Si usted tiene preguntas sobre la MPN o quiere presentar una queja en contra de la MPN, llame a la Persona de Contacto de
la MPN al: 619-236-6395

Discriminacién. Es ilegal que su empleador le castigue o despida por sufrir una lesion o enfermedad en el trabajo, por presentar un reclamo o
por testificar en el caso de compensacion de trabajadores de otra persona. De ser probado, usted puede recibir pagos por pérdida de sueldos,
reposicion del trabajo, aumento de beneficios y gastos hasta los limites establecidos por el estado.

Discrimination. It is illegal for your employer to punish or fire you for having a work injury or illness, for filing a claim, or testifying
in another person's workers' compensation case. If proven, you may receive lost wages, job reinstatement, increased benefits, and
costs and expenses up to limits set by the state.

Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320

Questions? Learn more about workers' compensation by reading the information that your employer is required to give you at time of . ) .
California Relay Service (711)

hire. If you have questions, see your employer or the claims administrator (who handles workers' compensation claims for your Want to learn more?

employer): Preguntas? Ap.renda mé§ sobre la compensacion de trabajadores leyendo 'la. informacion que se requiere que su empleador le dé cuando hift Visit: https://bit.lv/3hTG1EO workplace unless justified by bUS.in.eSS necessity. The employer mL.ISt notify Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation?
snirts.

) o City of San Diego (866) 371-0806 es contratado. Si usted tiene preguntas, vea a su empleador o al administrador de reclamos (que se encarga de los reclamos de employees of the language restriction and consequences for violation. CRD can assist you with your complaint

S Phone compensacién de trabajadores de su empleador): 3. Employers cannot discriminate against an applicant or employee because

4. If bathrooms, showers, and locker rooms are sex-segregated,
can employees choose the one that is most appropriate for
them?

Yes. All employees have a right to safe and appropriate restroom

and locker room facilities. This includes the right to use a restroom

or locker room that corresponds to the employee’s gender identity,
regardless of the employee’s sex assigned at birth. In addition, where
possible, an employer should provide an easily accessible, gender-
neutral (or “all-gender”), single user facility for use by any employee.

The Fair Employment and Housing Act is codified at Government Code sections
12900 - 12999. The regulations implementing the Act are at Code of Regulations, title
2, division 4.1

Government Code section 12950 and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section
11023, require all employers to post this document. It must be conspicuously posted
in hiring offices, on employee bulletin boards, in employment agency waiting rooms,
union halls, and other places employees gather. Any employer whose workforce

at any facility or establishment consists of more than 10% of non-English speaking
persons must also post this notice in the appropriate language or languages.

Self Insured Teléfono (866) 371-0806 they possess a California driver’s license or ID issued to an undocumented

person.

4. Employers must reasonably accommodate the religious beliefs and
practices of an employee, unpaid intern, or job applicant, including the
wearing or carrying of religious clothing, jewelry or artifacts, and hairstyles,
facial hair, or body hair, which are part of an individual’'s observance of their
religious beliefs.

5. Employers must reasonably accommodate an employee or job applicant
with a disability to enable them to perform the essential functions of a job.

Workers’ compensation insurer (Enter “self-insured” if appropriate) Administrador de Reclamos _City of San Diego

TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess

Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320

California Relay Service (711)

Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation?
CRD can assist you with your complaint.

You can also get free information from a State Division of Workers' Compensation Information (DWC) & Assistance Officer. The nearest Asegurador del Seguro de Compensacion de trabajador Self Insured
Information & Assistance Officer can be found at location: 7575 Metropolitan Drive, Suite 202, San Diego, CA 92108-4424 or
by calling toll-free (800) 736-7401. Learn more information about workers’ compensation online: www.dwc.ca.gov and access a useful

booklet “Workers” Compensation in California: A Guidebook for Injured Workers.”

(Anote “autoasegurado” si es apropiado)

Usted también puede obtener informacion gratuita de un Oficial de Informacion y Asistencia de la Division Estatal de Compensacion de
Trabajadores. El Oficial de Informacion y Asistencia mas cercano se localiza en: 7575 Metropolitan Drive, Suite 202, San Diego, CA 92108-4424
o llamando al nimero gratuito (800) 736-7401. Usted puede obtener mas informacion sobre la compensacion del trabajador en el Internet en:
www.dwe.ca.gov y acceder a una guia util “Compensacion del Trabajador de California Una Guia para Trabajadores Lesionados.”

False claims and false denials. Any person who makes or causes to be made any knowingly false or fraudulent material statement or
material representation for the purpose of obtaining or denying workers' compensation benefits or payments is guilty of a felony and may
be fined and imprisoned.

Los reclamos falsos y rechazos falsos del reclamo. Cualquier persona que haga o que ocasione que se haga una declaraciéon o una
representacion material intencionalmente falsa o fraudulenta, con el fin de obtener o negar beneficios o pagos de compensacion de trabajadores,
es culpable de un delito grave y puede ser multado y encarcelado.

Your emplo'ye‘r may npt be liable for the paymfint ofwor.kers compen.satlor‘l b‘eneﬁts for any injury that arises from your yoluntary Es posible que su empleador no sea responsable por el pago de beneficios de compensacién de trabajadores para ninguna lesion que proviene de su For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required CRD-E04P-ENG / December 2023 For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required CRD-EQ7P-ENG / January 2024C
participation in any off-duty, recreational, social, or athletic activity that is not part of your work-related duties. S . . .. . X . o R GovDocs
participacion voluntaria en cualquier actividad fuera del trabajo, recreativa, social, o atlética que no sea parte de sus deberes laborales. GovDocs LCAOA e,
—————— rint Date:
DWC 7 (10/2024) DWC 7 (10/2024) 1 CA220 Print Date: 6/24
POST WHERE EMPLOYEES CAN EASILY READ 3. Develop a harassment, discrimination, and retaliation » Posting the current version of the policy on a company

Civil Rights
Department

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

prevention policy in accordance with 2 CCR 11023. intranet with a tracking system to ensure all employees

have read and acknowledged receipt of the policy.

» Discussing policies upon hire and/or during a new hire
orientation.

» Using any other method that ensures employees
received and understand the policy.

ACCESS TO MEDICAL
AND EXPOSURE RECORDS

VIOLATORS ARE SUBJECT TO PENALTIES

OFFICIAL NOTICE

The policy must:
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HARASS M E N I € o S B.e in writing.
» List all protected groups under the FEHA.

THE FACTS * Indicate that the law prohibits coworkers and third

www.dir.ca.qov

BY CAL/OSHA REGULATION
- GENERAL INDUSTRY SAFETY ORDER 3204 -
YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO SEE AND COPY:

. Your medical records and records of exposure to toxic
substances or harmful physical agents.

. Records of exposure to toxic substances or harmful
physical agents of other employees with work
conditions similar to yours.

. Safety Data Sheets (SDS) or other information that
exists for chemicals or substances used in the
workplace, or which employees may be exposed.

THESE RECORDS ARE AVAILABLE AT: ' City of San Diego

Medical Provider Network-Sharp or Concentra

(Location)

SAN DIEGO EARNED SICK LEAVE

Effective Date: July 11,2016

Beginning July 11, 2016, all employers must provide paid earned sick leave to each employee
(including temporary and part-time employees) who performs at least two (2) hours of work within

the geographical boundaries of the City of San Diego.

The earned sick leave requirements set forth in San Diego’s Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage
Ordinance, San Diego Municipal Code Chapter 3, Article 9, Division 1, applies to adult AND minor
employees who work two (2) or more hours in one workweek within the City's geographic
boundaries. Employers must either provide employees no less than 40 hours of earned sick leave
at the beginning of each benefit year or one (1) hour of earned sick leave for every thirty (30) hours

worked by the employee within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego. Employers

cap employee’s total accrual of earned sick leave at 80 hours. Existing employees begin to accrue
earned sick leave on July 11, 2016. Employees hired after July 11, 2016 begin to accrue sick leave on
their employment start date. Employees are entitled to use accrued earned sick leave beginning
July 11, 2016 or after the ninetieth (90) day of employment, whichever is later. Employees may use
earned sick leave for all the reasons described in Section 39.0106(a) of the Ordinance, which
includes, but is not limited to, time for their own medical care or for the medical care of a family

member.

may

Sexual harassment is a form of discrimination based on
sex/gender (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related
medical conditions), gender identity, gender expression,
or sexual orientation. Individuals of any gender can

be the target of sexual harassment. Unlawful sexual
harassment does not have to be motivated by sexual
desire. Sexual harassment may involve harassment by a
person of the same gender, regardless of either person’s
sexual orientation or gender identity.

There are two types of sexual harassment

1. “Quid pro quo” (Latin for “this for that”) sexual
harassment is when someone conditions a job, promotion,
or other work benefit on your submission to sexual
advances or other conduct based on sex.

2. “Hostile work environment” sexual harassment occurs
when unwelcome comments or conduct based on sex
unreasonably interferes with your work performance

or creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work
environment. You may experience sexual harassment
even if the offensive conduct was not aimed directly at you.

The harassment must be severe or pervasive to be
unlawful. A single act of harassment may be sufficiently
severe to be unlawful.

Behaviors that may be sexual harassment

If CRD finds sufficient evidence to establish that
discrimination occurred and settlement efforts fail, the
Department may file a civil complaint in state or federal
court to address the causes of the discrimination and
on behalf of the complaining party. CRD may seek court
orders changing the employer’s policies and practices,
punitive damages, and attorney’s fees and costs if it
prevails in litigation. Employees can also pursue the
matter through a private lawsuit in civil court after a
complaint has been filed with CRD and a Right-to-Sue
Notice has been issued.

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITY & LIABILITY

All employers, regardless of the number of employees,
are covered by the harassment provisions of California
law. Employers are liable for harassment by their

supervisor or agents. Employees accused of harassment,

including both supervisory and non-supervisory
personnel, may be held personally liable for harassment
or for aiding and abetting harassment. The law

requires employers to take reasonable steps to prevent
harassment. If an employer fails to take such steps,

that employer can be held liable for the harassment. In
addition, an employer may be liable for the harassment
by a non-employee (for example, a client or customer)
of an employee, applicant, or person providing services
for the employer. An employer will only be liable for this

parties, as well as supervisors and managers with
whom the employee comes into contact, from engaging
in prohibited harassment.

Create a complaint process that ensures confidentiality
to the extent possible; a timely response; an impartial
and timely investigation by qualified personnel,
documentation and tracking for reasonable progress;
appropriate options for remedial actions and
resolutions; and timely closures.

Provide a complaint mechanism that does not require
an employee to complain directly to their immediate
supervisor.

That complaint mechanism must include, but is not
limited to including: provisions for direct communication,
either orally or in writing, with a designated company
representative; and / or a complaint hotline; and/ or
access to an ombudsperson; and/or identification

of CRD and the United States Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission as additional avenues for
employees to lodge complaints.

Instruct supervisors to report any complaints of
misconduct to a designated company representative,
such as a human resources manager, so that the
company can try to resolve the claim internally.
Employers with 50 or more employees are required to
include this as a topic in mandated sexual harassment

5. If the employer’s workforce at any facility or
establishment contains ten percent or more of persons
who speak a language other than English as their spoken
language, that employer shall translate the harassment,
discrimination, and retaliation policy into every language
spoken by at least ten percent of the workforce.

6. In addition, employers who do business in California
and employ 5 or more part-time or full-time employees
must provide at least one hour of training regarding the
prevention of sexual harassment, including harassment
based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual
orientation, to each non-supervisory employee; and two
hours of such training to each supervisory employee.

All employees must be trained by January 1, 2023. New
supervisory employees must be trained within six months
of assuming their supervisory position, and new non-
supervisory employees must be trained within six months
of hire. Employees must be retrained once every two years.
Please see Gov. Code 12950.1 and 2 CCR 11024 for
further information.

CIVIL REMEDIES

1. Damages for emotional distress from each employer or
person in violation of the law

2. Hiring or reinstatement

1. Unwanted sexual advances prevention training (see 2 CCR 11024).

Indicate that when the employer receives allegations of

form of harassment if it knew or should have known of the
harassment, and failed to take immediate and appropriate

3. Back pay or promotion

FROM: Contact Risk Management @ 619-236-6395

2. Offering employment benefits in exchange for sexual

(Person Responsible)

A COPY OF THE GENERAL INDUSTRY SAFETY ORDER 3204
IS AVAILABLE FROM: Risk Management 619-236-6395 or go to

www.dir.ca.gov/title8/3204/html

The above information satisfies the requirements of GISO 3204 (g), which may be fulfilled
by posting this placard in the workplace, or by any similar method the employer chooses.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

D) S
SPARTMENT oF iNDUSTRIAL RELATIOM

www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/dosh1.html

January 2015

State of California

Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Occupational Safety and Health
1515 Clay Street, Suite 1901

Oakland, CA 94612

Phone: (510) 286-7000

Fax: (510) 286-7037

An employer may not retaliate against an employee for asserting any rights provided in this
Ordinance. Employees may file a civil lawsuit against their employers for any violation of the
Ordinance or may file a complaint with the City of San Diego’s Minimum Wage Enforcement Office.
The City may take any reasonable steps necessary to investigate alleged violations. The City is
entitled to all legal and equitable relief to remedy any violation of the Ordinance, including the ability
to award penalties of up to $1,000 per violation, back wages, liquidated damages, reinstatement
and other injunctive relief.

If you have questions, need additional information, or believe your employer has violated any
provision of this law, please contact your employer, visit the City of San Diego Minimum Wage
Enforcement Office website at https://www.sandiego.gov/compliance/minimum-wage or contact
the City of San Diego’s Minimum Wage Program at (619) 235-5912 or email at
SDMinWage@sandiego.gov.

The City of

SAN DIEGO)

December 2024

favors

3. Leering; gestures; or displaying sexually suggestive
objects, pictures, cartoons, or posters

4. Derogatory comments, epithets, slurs, or jokes

5. Graphic comments, sexually degrading words, or
suggestive or obscene messages or invitations

6. Physical touching or assault, as well as impeding or
blocking movements

Actual or threatened retaliation for rejecting advances or
complaining about harassment is also unlawful.

Employees or job applicants who believe that they have
been sexually harassed or retaliated against may file a

complaint of discrimination with CRD within three years
of the last act of harassment or retaliation. CRD serves

as a neutral fact-finder and attempts to help the parties

voluntarily resolve disputes.

corrective action.

Employers have an affirmative duty to take reasonable

steps to prevent and promptly correct discriminatory and

harassing conduct, and to create a workplace free of

harassment.

A program to eliminate sexual harassment from the

workplace is not only required by law, but it is the most
practical way for an employer to avoid or limit liability if
harassment occurs.

ALL EMPLOYERS MUST TAKE THE FOLLOWING

ACTIONS TO PREVENT HARASSMENT AND
CORRECT IT WHEN IT OCCURS:

1. Distribute copies of this document or an alternative
writing that complies with Government Code 12950. This
document may be duplicated in any quantity.

2. Post a copy of the CRD employment poster “California
Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination and Harassment.”

misconduct, it will conduct a fair, timely, and thorough
investigation that provides all parties appropriate due
process and reaches reasonable conclusions based on
the evidence collected.

Make clear that employees shall not be retaliated
against as a result of making a complaint or
participating in an investigation.

4. Distribute its harassment, discrimination, and retaliation
prevention policy by doing one or more of the following:

Printing the policy and providing a copy to employees
with an acknowledgment form for employees to sign
and return.

Sending the policy via email with an acknowledgment
return form.

For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required

4. Changes in the policies or practices of the employer

To schedule an appointment, contact the Communication
Center below.

If you have a disability that requires a reasonable
accommodation, the CRD can assist you by scribing your
intake by phone or, for individuals who are Deaf or Hard of
Hearing or have speech disabilities, through the California
Relay Service (711), or you can contact us below.

TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess

Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320

California Relay Service (711)

Have a disability that requires a reasonable
accommodation? CRD can assist you with your complaint.

CRD-185P-ENG / January 2023
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Your Employee Rights Under the Family
and Medical Leave Act

What is FMLA leave?

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that
provides eligible employees with job-protected leave for qualifying
family and medical reasons. The U.S. Department of Labor’'s Wage
and Hour Division (WHD) enforces the FMLA for most employees.

Eligible employees can take up to 12 workweeks of FMLA leave in

a 12-month period for:

» The birth, adoption or foster placement of a child with you,

* Your serious mental or physical health condition that makes you
unable to work,

+ To care for your spouse, child or parent with a serious mental or
physical health condition, and

+ Certain qualifying reasons related to the foreign deployment of
your spouse, child or parent who is a military servicemember.

An eligible employee who is the spouse, child, parent or next of kin
of a covered servicemember with a serious injury or illness may take
up to 26 workweeks of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to
care for the servicemember.

You have the right to use FMLA leave in one block of time. When it
is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, you may take FMLA
leave intermittently in separate blocks of time, or on a reduced
schedule by working less hours each day or week. Read Fact Sheet
#28M(c) for more information.

FMLA leave is not paid leave, but you may choose, or be required
by your employer, to use any employer-provided paid leave if your
employer’s paid leave policy covers the reason for which you need
FMLA leave.

Am | eligible to take FMLA leave?

You are an eligible employee if all of the following apply:

* You work for a covered employer,

* You have worked for your employer at least 12 months,

* You have at least 1,250 hours of service for your employer during
the 12 months before your leave, and

* Your employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of your
work location.

Airline flight crew employees have different “hours of service”
requirements.

You work for a covered employer if one of the following applies:

* You work for a private employer that had at least 50 employees
during at least 20 workweeks in the current or previous calendar
year,

* You work for an elementary or public or private secondary school,
or

» You work for a public agency, such as a local, state or federal
government agency. Most federal employees are covered by
Title 11 of the FMLA, administered by the Office of Personnel
Management.

How do | request FMLA leave?

Generally, to request FMLA leave you must:

* Follow your employer’s normal policies for requesting leave,

+ Give notice at least 30 days before your need for FMLA leave, or
« If advance notice is not possible, give notice as soon as possible.

LFDO6

You do not have to share a medical diagnosis but must provide
enough information to your employer so they can determine whether
the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. You must also inform your
employer if FMLA leave was previously taken or approved for the
same reason when requesting additional leave.

Your employer may request certification from a health care
provider to verify medical leave and may request certification of a
qualifying exigency.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting
discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective
bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave
rights.

State employees may be subject to certain limitations in pursuit

of direct lawsuits regarding leave for their own serious health
conditions. Most federal and certain congressional employees are
also covered by the law but are subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S.
Office of Personnel Management or Congress.

What does my employer need to do?

If you are eligible for FMLA leave, your employer must:

» Allow you to take job-protected time off work for a qualifying
reason,

« Continue your group health plan coverage while you are on leave
on the same basis as if you had not taken leave, and

+ Allow you to return to the same job, or a virtually identical job with
the same pay, benefits and other working conditions, including
shift and location, at the end of your leave.

Your employer cannot interfere with your FMLA rights or threaten
or punish you for exercising your rights under the law. For example,
your employer cannot retaliate against you for requesting FMLA
leave or cooperating with a WHD investigation.

After becoming aware that your need for leave is for a reason that

may qualify under the FMLA, your employer must confirm whether

you are eligible or not eligible for FMLA leave. If your employer

determines that you are eligible, your employer must notify you in

writing:

< About your FMLA rights and responsibilities, and

* How much of your requested leave, if any, will be FMLA-protected
leave.

Where can | find more information?
Call 1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov/fmla to learn more.

If you believe your rights under the FMLA have been violated, you
may file a complaint with WHD or file a private lawsuit against your
employer in court. Scan the QR code to learn about our WHD
complaint process.
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DISABILITY LEAVE

Pregnancy Disability Leave. Even if an employee is not
eligible for CFRA leave, if disabled by pregnancy, childbirth
or a related medical condition, the employee is entitled

to take a pregnancy disability leave of up to four months,
depending on their period(s) of actual disability. If the
employee is CFRA-eligible, they have certain rights to take
both a pregnancy disability leave and a CFRA leave for
reason of the birth of their child.

Reinstatement. Both CFRA leave and pregnancy disability
leave contain a guarantee of reinstatement — for pregnancy
disability it is to the same position and for CFRA it is to the
same or a comparable position at the end of the leave,
subject to any defense allowed under the law.

Under California law, an employee may have the
right to take job-protected leave to care for their
own serious health condition or a family member
with a serious health condition, or to bond with

a new child (via birth, adoption, or foster care).
California law also requires employers to provide
job-protected leave and accommodations to
employees who are disabled by pregnancy,
childbirth, or a related medical condition.

Under the California Family Rights Act of 1993 (CFRA),
many employees have the right to take job-protected leave,
which is leave that will allow them to return to their job or a
similar job after their leave ends. This leave may be up to
12 work weeks in a 12-month period for:

Notice. For foreseeable events (such as the expected birth
of a child or a planned medical treatment for the employee
or of a family member), the employee must provide,

if possible, at least 30 days’ advance notice to their
employer that they will be taking leave. For events that are
unforeseeable, employees should notify their employers,
at least verbally, as soon as they learn of the need for the
leave. Failure to comply with these notice rules is grounds
for, and may result in, deferral of the requested leave until
the employee complies with this notice policy.

« the employee’s own serious health condition;

» the serious health condition of a child, spouse,
domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or someone else
with a blood or family-like relationship with the
employment (“designated person”); or

Certification. Employers may require certification from

an employee’s health care provider before allowing leave

for pregnancy disability or for the employee’s own serious

health condition. Employers may also require certification
from the health care provider of the employee’s family
member, including a designated person, who has a serious
health condition, before granting leave to take care of that
family member.

+ the birth, adoption, or foster care placement of a
child.

If an employee takes leave for their own or a family
member’s serious health condition, leave may be taken on
an intermittent or reduced work schedule when medically
necessary, among other circumstances.

Eligibility. To be eligible for CFRA leave, an employee
must have more than 12 months of service with their
employer, have worked at least 1,250 hours in the
12-month period before the date they want to begin
their leave, and their employer must have five or more
employees.

Want to learn more?
Visit: calcivilrights.ca.gov/family-medical-pregnancy-leave/

If you have been subjected to discrimination,
harassment, or retaliation at work, file a complaint with
the Civil Rights Department (CRD).

TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess

Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320
California Relay Service (711)

Pay and Benefits During Leave. While the law provides
only unpaid leave, some employers pay their employees
during CFRA leave. In addition, employees may choose
(or employers may require) use of accrued paid leave
while taking CFRA leave under certain circumstances.
Employees on CFRA leave may also be eligible for
benefits administered by the Employment Development
Department.

Taking CFRA leave may impact certain employee benefits
and seniority date. If employees want more information
regarding eligibility for a leave and/or the impact of the
leave on seniority and benefits, they should contact their

Have a disability that requires a reasonable
accommodation?
CRD can assist you with your complaint.

employer.
For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required CRD-100-21ENG / January 2023
GovDocs
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YOUR RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS .
AS A PREGNANT EMPLOYEE

coverage would have been provided if you had continued in employment
continuously for the duration of your leave.

IF YOU ARE PREGNANT, HAVE A PREGNANCY-
RELATED MEDICAL CONDITION, OR ARE
RECOVERING FROM CHILDBIRTH, PLEASE READ THIS
NOTICE.

YOUR EMPLOYER* HAS AN OBLIGATION TO
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» Taking PDL may impact certain of your benefits and your seniority date;
please contact your employer for details.

NOTICE OBLIGATIONS AS AN EMPLOYEE

» Reasonably accommodate your medical needs related to pregnancy,
childbirth or related conditions (such as temporarily modifying your work
duties, providing you with a stool or chair, or allowing more frequent
breaks);

* Transfer you to a less strenuous or hazardous position (if one is available)
or duties if medically needed because of your pregnancy;

* Provide you with pregnancy disability leave (PDL) of up to four months
(the working days you normally would work in one-third of a year or 17 1/3
weeks) and return you to your same job when you are no longer disabled
by your pregnancy or, in certain instances, to a comparable job. Taking
PDL, however, does not protect you from non-leave related employment
actions, such as a layoff.

* Provide a reasonable amount of break time and use of a room or other
location in close proximity to the employee’s work area to express breast
milk in private as set forth in the Labor Code; and

* Never discriminate, harass, or retaliate on the basis of pregnancy.

FOR PREGNANCY DISABILITY LEAVE

* Give your employer reasonable notice. To receive reasonable

accommodation, obtain a transfer, or take PDL, you must give your
employer sufficient notice for your employer to make appropriate plans.
Sufficient notice means 30 days advance notice if the need for the
reasonable accommodation, transfer, or PDL is foreseeable, or as soon as
practicable if the need is an emergency or unforeseeable.

Provide a written medical certification from your health care provider.

Except in a medical emergency where there is no time to obtain it,

your employer may require you to supply a written medical certification
from your health care provider of the medical need for your reasonable
accommodation, transfer or PDL. If the need is an emergency or
unforeseeable, you must provide this certification within the time frame
your employer requests, unless it is not practicable for you to do so under
the circumstances despite your diligent, good faith efforts. Your employer
must provide at least 15 calendar days for you to submit the certification.
See if your employer has a copy of a medical certification form to give to

your health care provide

r to complete.

Please note that if you fail to give your employer reasonable advance

notice or, if your employer requires it, written medical certification of your
medical need, your employer may be justified in delaying your reasonable

accommodation, transfe

» PDL is not for an automatic period of time, but for the period of time that
you are disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condition.
Your health care provider determines how much time you will need.

» Once your employer has been informed that you need to take PDL, your
employer must guarantee in writing that you can return to work in your
same or a comparable position if you request a written guarantee. Your
employer may require you to submit written medical certification from your
health care provider substantiating the need for your leave.

« PDL may include, but is not limited to, additional or more frequent breaks,
time for prenatal or postnatal medical appointments, and doctor-ordered
bed rest, and covers conditions such as severe morning sickness,
gestational diabetes, pregnancy-induced hyper-tension, preeclampsia,
recovery from childbirth or loss or end of pregnancy, and/or post-partum
depression.

* PDL does not need to be taken all at once but can be taken on an
as-needed basis as required by your health care provider, including
intermittent leave or a reduced work schedule.

* Your leave will be paid or unpaid depending on your employer’s policy
for other medical leaves. You may also be eligible for state disability
insurance or Paid Family Leave (PFL), administered by the California
Employment Development Department.

* At your discretion, you can use any vacation or other paid time off during
your PDL.

* Your employer may require or you may choose to use any available sick
leave during your PDL.

* Your employer is required to continue your group health coverage
during your PDL at the same level and under the same conditions that

r, or PDL.

ADDITIONAL LEAVE UNDER THE CALIFORNIA FAMILY

RIGHTS ACT (CFRA)

Under the California Family Rights Act (CFRA), if you have more than

12 months of service with an employer, and have worked at least 1,250
hours in the 12-month period before the date you want to begin your leave,
you may have a right to a family care or medical leave (CFRA leave).

This leave may be up to 12 workweeks in a 12-month period for the birth,
adoption, or foster care placement of your child**, or for your own serious
health condition or that of your child, parent***, spouse, domestic partner,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or someone else related by blood or in
family-like relationship with the employee (“designated person”). Employers
may pay their employees while taking CFRA leave, but employers are not
required to do so, unless the employee is taking accrued paid time-off while
on CFRA leave. Employees taking CFRA leave may be eligible for benefits
administered by Employment Development Department.

TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/comp
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 /

laintprocess
TTY: 800.700.2320

California Relay Service (711)

Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation? CRD can
assist you with your complaint.

For translations of this guidance, visit:
www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required

*PDL, CFRA leave, and anti-discrimination protections apply to employers of 5 or more employees; anti-harassment protections apply to employers of 1 or more.

** “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of an employee or the employee’s domestic partner, or a person to whom the employee

stands in loco parentis.

*** “Parent” includes a biological, foster, or adoptive parent, a parent-in-law, a stepparent, a legal guardian, or other person who stood in loco parentis to the employee when the

employee was a child.
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TIME OFF
TO VOTE

POLLS ARE OPEN FROM 7:00 A.M.
TO 8:00 P.M. EACH ELECTION DAY

If you are scheduled to be at work

during that time and you do not have

sufficient time outside of working hours to vote at a statewide election,
California law allows you to take up to two hours off to vote, without los-

ing any pay.

You may take as much time as you need to vote, but only two hours of

that time will be paid.

Your time off for voting can be only at the beginning or end of your reg-
ular work shift, whichever allows the most free time for voting and the
least time off from your regular working shift, unless you make another

arrangement with your employer.

If three working days before the election you think you will need time off
to vote, you must notify your employer at least two working days prior

to the election.
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