



July 24, 2023

MEMORANDUM FOR: City of San Diego Planning Department

From: Former Committee Chairman Russ Connelly
Subject: Annual Report for the 2022-23 Committee Year

At the beginning of the term, the committee was composed of the following: (Two vacancies; Youth and D1)

Francisco Garcia	Jim Varnadore	Patty Vaccariello	Marcellus Anderson	Rosa Calvario
Russ Connelly	Randy Tores-Van Vleck	Mick Rossler	Edwin Lohr	Maria Cortez
John Segovia	Asma Abdi	Keni Furukawa	Brian Green-Carson	Phoung Nguyen
Rahmo Abdi	Mazda Mehraz	David Nelson	Paula Ezcurra	Scott Anglim

At the April 2022 committee seating, Rosa Calvario, Russ Connelly, Mick Rossler and Patty Vaccariello left the committee. Incoming representatives Denisse Lopez, Brenden Sickler, Carolyn Tran, Evihn Vasily and Dan Castanon were seated for a committee of 21 members. At the May 2022 meeting, The following Executive Board was chosen: Brenden Sickler as Chair, Phoung Nguyen as First Vice-Chair, Denisse Lopez as Second Vice-Chair and Brian Green-Carson as Secretary.

Committee Changes: After the election, the At-Large/24 seat was vacant; to be filled by the Committee. In August, Scott Anglim (At-Large/23) resigned due to a move and was replaced by Julieta Ornelas-Morales in November. In October, Russ Connelly was appointed to fill the empty At-Large/24 position. Brenden Sickler (D3) resigned at the end of the October meeting due to a move out of the city. The committee selected Russ Connelly as Chair effective in November. Paula Escuura resigned her At-Large/23 seat in October and was replaced by Nick Rossi in November. John Segovia resigned his Youth seat in October and was replaced by Sussan Ornales in November. Also in October, Keni Furakawa (D3) was removed from the committee due to lack of attendance. In February 2023, Patty Vaccariello was selected to fill one of vacant district 3 seats.

Accomplishments of the term: Several presentations were made by community groups to share their involvement in City Heights and seek input on their tasks. The Chair represented the Committee for input on a new park being planned for the area. Input was given to the Streets Department regarding stop sign placement and revising parking along streets in City Heights. The committee had a successful transition back to in-person meetings in January with the help of the SDPD providing the use of a meeting room. City Staff approved revisions to the CHAPC bylaws to add clarity to the expanded definition of Youth seats, which are unique to the CHAPC. Meetings were not held in June or September 2022.

At the end of the term the following remained seated with one vacancy (D3) that was expected to be filled in the upcoming March 2023 election:

Asma Abdi	Rahmo Abdi	Marcellus Anderson	Dan Castanon	Russ Connelly		
Maria Cortez	Francisco Garcia	Brian Green-Carson	Edwin Lohr	Denisse Lopez		
Mazda Mehraz	David Nelson	Phoung Nguyen	Julieta Morales	Sussan Ornales		
Jim Varnadore	Nick Rossi	Carolyn Tran	Evihn Vasily	Patty Vaccariello		
Randy Torres-van Vleck						

The actions throughout the year were reported in meeting minutes. Copies of which are appended hereto and incorporated as the annual report for the City Heights Area Planning Committee for the year 2022-2023.