Community Planners Committee

Planning Department ◆ City of San Diego 1010 Second Ave., Suite 1200, East Tower ◆ San Diego, CA 92101 SDPlanninggroups@sandiego.gov ◆ (619) 235-5200

CPC FINAL MINUTES FOR MEETING OF MARCH 22, 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Farinsky, Carmel Valley
Russ Connelly, City Heights
Jose Reynoso, College Area
Pat Stark, Downtown
Laura Riebau, Eastern
Kenneth Malbrough, Encanto
Cheryl Brierton, Greater Golden Hill
David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge
Joe La Cava, La Jolla
Noli Zosa, Linda Vista
Cathy Kenton, Midway (North Bay)
John Horst, Mira Mesa

Lorayne Burley, Miramar Ranch North Debbie Watkins, Mission Beach Daniel Smith, Navajo Jim Baross, Normal Heights Mel Ingalls, Otay Mesa Jon Becker, Rancho Peñasquitos Wallace Wulfeck, Scripps Ranch Bob Crider, Serra Mesa John Mooney, Skyline/Paradise Hills Robert Leif, Southeastern Deanna Spehn, Tierrasanta Janay Kruger, University

VOTING INELIGIBILITY/RECUSALS: None.

Guests: Guy Preuss, Sandy Wetzel-Smith, David Swarens and others.

<u>City Staff/Representatives</u>: Nancy Bragado, Almis Udrys, Maksim Pecherskiy and Maria Nieves.

<u>NOTE</u>: The sign-in sheets provided at the entrance to the meeting are used to list CPC Representatives, guest speakers, and staff present at the meeting.

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chair Joe La Cava called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and proceeded with roll call.

2. <u>NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT</u>:

Robert Leif – "During the Projects Committee of the Southeastern San Diego Planning Group deliberation on the upgrade to our bylaws, we realize 1.) In order to evaluate establishments that either sell bottled alcohol or alcohol containing drinks, we need to know the crime incidence within a circle with a half mile radius of the establishment. 2.) We also believe that all new buildings should have onsite parking."

3. MODIFICATIONS AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

David Moty, Kensington/Talmadge moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Jose Reynoso, College Area. Motion passed unanimously.

4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 23, 2016:

Robert Leif, Southeastern moved to approve minutes as corrected. Seconded by Wallace

Wulfeck, Scripps Miramar Ranch. Motion passed 19-0-4. 4 Abstentions: Tierrasanta, Downtown, Navajo and La Jolla.

5. FIRE STATION MEASURE- Information Item

This item will be rescheduled.

6. OPEN DATA- Information Item

Almis Udrys, Director, and Maksim Pecherskiy, Chief Data Officer, Department of Performance & Analytics, provided an open data overview as well as the initial inventory.

7. REPORTS TO CPC:

- Staff Report: Nancy Bragado thanked Joe LaCava on behalf of staff for all his service to CPC for the past 4 years. David Moty added comments thanking Joe LaCava as well.
- Subcommittee Reports: None
- Chairperson's Report:
 - The 10th Code update was approved at City Council incorporating the 6 changes that were recommended by CPC.
 - o Council Member David Alvarez has formed a Climate Action Plan working group.
 - Email sent out regarding roundabouts with proposal to build 15 in the next four years.
 - o David Moty will run April CPC meeting.
 - o Officer elections will be held in May.
- CPC Member Comments: None

9. ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING, April 26, 2016

The meeting was adjourned by Chair Joe La Cava at 8:07 pm