

#### MINUTES

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 Mission Valley Branch Library 2123 Fenton Parkway San Diego, CA 92101

#### Members Present:

Doug Case, Chair Joe Craver, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair Brandon Hilpert, 2nd Vice Chair Diana Dent Reinaldo Galindo Taura Gentry Sheila Holtrop Mary O'Tousa Maria Nieto-Senour Ernestine Smith Nancy Vaughn Pauline Theodore Martin Workman

# Members Absent:

Pieter O'Leary

<u>Prospective Members Present:</u> Darwin Fishman

# **Prospective Members Absent:**

Greg Daunoras Darwin Fishman Jonathan Colby (LOA)

# **Staff Present:**

Sharmaine Moseley, Executive Director, CRB Todd Jarvis, Executive Assistant Chief, San Diego Police Department Wes Morris, Captain, San Diego Police Department Adam Sharki, Lieutenant, San Diego Police Department Mark Bennett, Lieutenant, San Diego Police Department Jessie Holt, Detective, San Diego Police Department

- I. **CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME:** Chair Doug Case called the meeting to order at 4:11 p.m.
- II. **PURPOSE OF THE COMMUNITY REVIEW BOARD ON POLICE PRACTICES:** Chair Doug Case explained the purpose of the Community Review Board on Police Practices (CRB) to those in attendance.

# III. COMMITTEE REPORTS (DISCUSSION/ACTION)

A. Nomination Committee

(Sheila Holtrop)

- i. Overview of CRB officer job responsibilities
- ii. Presentation of Nominees for Fiscal Year 2019 CRB officers

**Chair:** The nominees were Taura Gentry & Joe Craver. Nominee Taura Gentry withdrew her nomination for Chair.

1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair: The nominees were Brandon Hilpert, Maria Nieto-Senour and Taura Gentry.

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair: The nominees were Taura Gentry & Chair Doug Case.

#### IV. Election of CRB Officers for Fiscal Year 2019 (July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019)

Chair: The nominees were Taura Gentry & Joe Craver.

Nominee Taura Gentry withdrew her nomination for Chair. Nominee Joe Craver informed the Board of his qualifications for the Chair position. **The vote was unanimous 12-0-1.** Chair Doug Case abstained from the vote. **Joe Craver was elected as the new Chair for the Community Review Board on Police Practices for FY 2019.** 

1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair: The nominees were Brandon Hilpert, Maria Nieto-Senour and Taura Gentry.

Nominees Brandon Hilpert, Maria Nieto-Senour, and Taura Gentry informed the Board of their qualifications for the 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair position.

The vote for Brandon Hilpert for the 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair position was 4–3–5. Chair Doug Case abstained. Brandon Hilpert, Shelia Holtrop, Marty Workman, and Diana Dent voted yes for Brandon Hilpert for a total of 4 votes. Maria Nieto–Senour, Nancy Vaughn, and Rey Galindo voted yes for Maria Nieto–Senour for a total of three votes. Taura Gentry, Joe Craver, Pauline Theodore, Ernestine Smith, and Mary O'Tousa voted yes for Taura Gentry for a total of five votes. According to the bylaws, there needs to be a majority vote, therefore, the Board voted on the 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair position. The nominees voted on were Mr. Hilpert and Ms. Gentry. **The vote was 7-5-1**. Chair Doug Case abstained. Brandon Hilpert, Shelia Holtrop, Marty Workman, Diana Dent, Nancy Vaughn, Rey Galindo, and Maria Nieto-Senour voted yes for Brandon Hilpert. Taura Gentry, Joe Craver, Pauline Theodore, Ernestine Smith, and Mary O'Tousa voted for Taura Gentry. **Brandon Hilpert was elected as the new 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair for the Community Review Board on Police Practices for FY 2019**.

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair:

The nominees were Taura Gentry & Chair Doug Case.

Taura Gentry and Chair Doug Case informed the Board of their qualifications for the 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair position. **The vote for the 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair position was 8-4.** Taura Gentry, Brandon Hilpert, Shelia Holtrop, Marty Workman, Pauline Theodore, Ernestine Smith, Mary O'Tousa, and Rey Galindo voted yes for Taura Gentry. Chair Doug Case, Diana Dent, Nancy Vaughn, and Maria Nieto-Senour voted for Chair Doug Case. **Taura Gentry was elected as the new 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair for the Community Review Board on Police Practices for FY 2019**.

The CRB selected the following officer positions for FY19:

- Chair Joe Craver
- 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair Brandon Hilpert
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair Taura Gentry

#### V. **ADJOURNMENT:** 5:15 p.m.