PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF OCTOBER 8, 2020

VIRTUAL HEARING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 12:42 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman – present/teleconference Vice-Chairperson James Whalen – present/teleconference Commissioner Douglas Austin – present/teleconference Commissioner Vicki Granowitz – present/teleconference Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – present/teleconference Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – present/teleconference Commissioner Kelly Moden – present/teleconference

City Staff

Corrine Neuffer, City Attorney – present/teleconference
Brian Schoenfisch, Planning Department – present/teleconference
Elyse Lowe, Development Services Department- present/COB
PJ FitzGerald, Development Services Department – present/COB
Tony Khalil, Development Services Department – present/teleconference
Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present/COB
Sabrina Custer, Recorder- present/COB

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None

CONSENT AGENDA

MOTION BY VICE-CHAIRMAN WHALEN TO MOVE ITEM # 1 PHR UNIT 22B AMENDMENT TO THE CONSENT CALENDAR. Second by Commissioner Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Boomhower, Otsuji, Moden and Whalen voting yea.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Approved

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Elyse Lowe, Director of Development Services wanted to thank all Development Service staff and IT staff for all there hard working in providing the virtual hearings for the Planning Commission. They have done just an outstanding job.

She also announced Greg Hopkins will be retiring from the City of San Diego after 26 years.

COMMISSION COMMENT

Commissioner Austin - regarding the 2020 Code Update; when is going to City Council and when will it be implemented.

Commissioner Boomhower congratulated Greg Hopkins on his retirement. What is the time for naming an interim for Greg's position, and the timing of naming a permanent for his position?

Commissioner Granowitz wanted to let everyone know that while the meeting is progress I get up and walk around. She stated, "you may not see me on camera, but I'm still listening". She also wanted to thank Sabrina and staff for creating a spreadsheet with all the public comment for today. She stated she just wanted to acknowledge you all and thank you.

Chairman Hofmen wanted to echo Elyse's comments on thanking staff. He stated "we have come along way since March with our virtual meetings. This is the first meeting from home, and it is working out great so far". Thank you again to PJ and Sabrina.

CONSENT AGENDA

ITEM-1: * PHR UNIT 22B AMENDMENT - PROJECT NO. 655758

City Council District: 1 Plan Area: Pacific Highlands Ranch

Staff: Jeffrey Peterson

No speaker in favor or opposition to the project.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER AUSTIN RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL ADOPT MASTER ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT FINDINGS TO MASTER ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT 96-7918/SCH NO. 97111077, AND ADOPT THE MITIGATION MONITORING AND REPORTING PROGRAM; RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE PLANNED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2383727; RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE SITE DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2383728; AND RECOMMEND THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE VESTING TENTATIVE MAP NO. 2383726 AND EASEMENT VACATION NO. 2386907. Seconded by Vice-Chairman Whalen. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Boomhower, Otsuji. Moden and Whalen voting yea.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-2: AN AMENDMENT TO THE CITY'S MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM TO IMPOSE A LICENSE REQUIREMENT AND OPERATING REGULATIONS FOR SHORT TERM RESIDENTIAL OCCUPANCY INCLUDING HOSTING PLATFORMS AND REPEAL REGULATIONS FOR BED AND BREAKFAST AND BOARDER LODGING

City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Venus Molina

Speaker slips in favor of the project were submitted by: Violet Macias, Keegan Smith, Vikant Gulati, John Decker, Vipul Dayal, Ellen Yee, Paul Lotman, James Waterbury, Alejandro Franco, John Kuehn, Gary Hyvonen, Thomas Coat, Michael Anderson, Christine DiSimone, Michael O'Brien, Mancy Kramer, Blaine Smith, Vanessa Pisciotti, Christopher Hall, Kent Hall, Jean Johnson, Chad Goldberg, Amanda Pedigo, Kris Warren, Eva Brown, Sarah Simon, DD Yang, Pansy Yip, Amber Schiffert, Mable Huang, Brionne Briem, Evan Mendelsohn, Tania Corez, Boahan, Wu, Kristen Huntley, Tom Coat, Benjamin Slotnick, Tina Etue, Patricia Levy, Rich Levy,

Speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted by: Amanda Pedigo, Mercella Teran, James Baird, Adam Huntington, Lee Miller, Patty Davidson, Kathy Los, Martha Welch, Cory Serna, Joshua Dahl, Christa Kay, Toral Patel, Arlyn Redmond, Gabriela, Jennifer Johnson, John Anderson, Cameron Havlik, Larissa Brecht, Denise Friedman, Tatyana Sharpee, Gale Kavanaugh, Mandy Havlik, Georgeann Morris, Ricardo da Rosa, Maureen Dunfee, Ron Oliver, Marc Abouaf, Don Thompson, Peter Morris, Robert White, Mike Staplesd, Don Wagner, Kevin Hastings, Pat Sexton, Michael Sharma, Ricardo Lavin, Joel Price, D. L., Louis Rodolico, Denise Friedman, Carla Gerstein, Ken Hall, James St. Leger, Marianne Wilkey, Chad Goldberg, John, Stull, Gary Wonacott, William Vail, George Lefevre, Heather Harris, Jorge Moraleda, Shari Cohen, Margaret McKeon, Jennifer Dunaway, Dan Gallagher, Helen Dail, Nicki Zimmerman, Andrea May, Greg Doud, Mark & Shannon Wedeking, Ms. Nelson, Carolyn Marsden, Terrell Catania, Claire Maund, Corecraft Pilates, David Rearwin, Barb Franklin, Laura Spycia, Dean Libs, Pamela Sloan, Richard Morrissey, Peggy Davis, Judy Nugent, Kathy Evans, Gary Wonacott, Dan Gallagher, Lawerence Douglas,

Stacie Wissler, Donna Shske, Rachelle Hayward, Diane Fons, Vincent Travaglione, Susan McGonigle, Ped Ro Tavares, Gabe Baldauf, Kathi Smith, Anthony Ciulla, Edward Miller, Judy Moore, Glenn Yarwood, Bill Orabone, Luis Rodolico, Jenne Hill, Robert Keck, Jenny Ridenour, Pansy Yip, Carol Richter, Nicole Rawson, John Thickstun, John Leuck, Kay Spafford, Stephen Richter, John Anderson, Jean Froning, Elliot Jones, John Stull, Cathy Chicheste, K Campbell, Brook Empey, Virginia Wilson, Nanci, Kelly, Julie Billon, Tina Etue, Steven Dowdy, John Choi, Fletcher Miller Candance Szalay, Rachel Green Nate Miller, Gloria, Henson,, Lawrence Davidson, Mary Willmont, Steve Stangland, Scott Rosecrans, Pegy Steevens, Patricia McClure, Joel Price, Wallace Wulfeck, Guillermo Gonzalez, Craig Klein, Linda Lloyd, Robert Supple, Greg Ruckman, Carolyn Lyons, Cindy Kinkade, Linda McAndrew, Kathy Hailey, Gordon Dunfee, JD Stull, James Fox, Teresa Ogot, Sunny Day, Roy McMakin, Dave and Kim Latham, Matt Edwards, Patty Ducey-Brooks, Melanie Menders, Andrea Schlageter, Ann Thompson, Julie Pautz, Jim Hench, Don Wagner, Shelly Schreiber, Joshua Kuss, Anne Beste, Larry Gustafson, Jerry Kubik, Karyn Loimer,

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER REQUEST CITY STAFF RETURN WITH MORE CLARIFYING INFORMATION ON POLICY AND ADMINISTRATION ISSUES:

- CLARIFICATION OF LEGALITY OF ACCESSORY DWELLING UNITS AND GUEST QUARTERS USE FOR STRO
- ADMINISTRATION OF THE PROPOSED LOTTERY FRAMEWORK FOR ISSUING A LIMITED NUMBER OF STRO LICENSES
- QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW THE CAP OR LIMIT ON THE NUMBER OF LICENSES WAS DETERMINED
- MANAGING COMPLAINTS FROM NEIGHBORS/POSTED LOCAL CONTACT
- HOW TO ENFORCE LICENSED, IMPROPERLY LICENSED AND UNLICENSED PROPERTIES
- CONCERNS FOR POTENTIAL ABUSE OF THE LICENSE LIMIT OF ONE PER HOST ITEM WILL BE CONTINUED TO A DATE CERTAIN OF DECEMBER 3, 2020. Seconded by Commissioner Otsuji. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Boomhower, Otsuji. Moden and Whalen voting yea.